Alejandro Cesarco

06.04.2013-26.05.2013
Alejandro Cesarco
A Portrait, A Story, And An Ending
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

 

With the project «A Portrait, a Story, and an Ending» by Uruguay-born artist Alejandro Cesarco (born in Montevideo in 1975, lives and works in New York), the designated public library space in Kunsthalle Zürich doubles as an exhibition space. For his presentation Cesarco has assembled three very recent independent works that take up various literary modes and are further spatially linked by the suggestion of a common narrative. The exhibition marks the beginning of a series of artistic interventions in the future public library of the Kunsthalle Zürich which will explore the use of this space and extend its allocated meaning.

 

 

Alejandro Cesarco’s works are characterised by conceptual strategies. In his text-based works, photographs, videos, artist books and installations, Cesarco combines language with images, constructs narratives and creates thematic references to popular culture, art history and literature. He raises and explores questions about the relationship between reading and looking, the interweaving of memory and history, fact and fiction, authorship and subjectivity, the ways different narrative structures generate meaning and the ways in which meaning is felt.

 

Julie Ault, artist, writer, curator and co-founder of the New York collective Group Material, which existed from 1979 to 1996, is the subject of A Printed Portrait of Julie Ault (2013). The work is a reference to Untitled (Portrait of Julie Ault) (1991) by Felix Gonzalez-Torres, in which a series of names and events followed by years are presented frieze-like along the ceiling and refer to important moments in Ault’s life. In contrast with this “portrait” based on temporal events, Cesarco creates a literary portrait of Ault using excerpts from texts penned by her. In the presentation, which is reminiscent of a family frame, the artist constructs a genealogy and identifies a modern form of autobiography in Ault’s critical writing.

 

The video work Shortly After Breakfast She Received The News (2013) presents a micro-narrative that focuses on the moment shortly after the arrival of some undisclosed news – a moment in which something ends and something else begins. The nature of the news and the associated consequences remain open as is the reaction of the suggested female character: what the camera shows is what is left behind.

 

Cesarco has an ongoing project in which he creates indexes for books he has not yet written and probably never will. The six-part work Index (An Orphan) (2012) is the fourth in the series and refers to the experience of mourning, the loss of childhood, and becoming an orphan as an adult. In it, the artist assembles a wide range of references and topics, for example: “delusions, 19, 55, 63”, “Sadness, 40, 80”, “Paco Rabanne (perfume), 76” and “sail boats, 13, 70, 88”, children’s films like “Wizard of Oz, The (Fleming), 32” and “Rescuers, The (Disney), 10”, which are accompanied by the names of philosophers, artists, actors, directors and psychiatrists.

 

Alejandro Cesarco was awarded the Baloise Art Prize in 2011 for his presentation at the Art Statements sector of Art Basel and he represented Uruguay at the 54th Biennale di Venezia.

Alejandro Cesarco

06.04.2013-26.05.2013
Alejandro Cesarco
A Portrait, A Story, And An Ending
Week

Mit dem Projekt «A Portrait, a Story, and an Ending» des aus Uruguay stammenden Künstlers Alejandro Cesarco (geb. 1975 in Montevideo, lebt und arbeitet in New York) findet in den der öffentlichen Bibliothek der Kunsthalle Zürich zugedachten Räumlichkeiten eine Überlagerung mit einer Ausstellung statt. Cesarco hat für seine Präsentation drei neuste, voneinander unabhängige Arbeiten zusammengebracht, die verschiedene literarische Modi aufgreifen und die räumlich in einer losen Erzählung verbunden zu sein scheinen. Die Ausstellung beginnt eine Serie künstlerischer Eingriffe in die zukünftige öffentliche Bibliothek der Kunsthalle Zürich, die sich mit der Nutzung dieses Raumes auseinandersetzen und dessen Bedeutungszuschreibung erweitern.

 

Alejandro Cesarcos Arbeiten sind geprägt von konzeptuellen Strategien. In seinen Textarbeiten, Fotografien, Videos, Künstlerbüchern und Installationen verbindet er Sprache mit Bildern, konstruiert Narrationen und stellt thematische Bezüge zur Populärkultur, Kunstgeschichte und Literatur her. Es sind Fragen nach der Beziehung von Lesen und Sehen, nach der Verschränkung von Erinnerung und Geschichte, Fiktion und Fakten, Autorschaft und Subjektivität, die Art und Weise wie verschiedene narrative Strukturen Bedeutung hervorbringen können und wie Bedeutung empfunden wird.

 

Julie Ault, Künstlerin, Schriftstellerin, Kuratorin und Mitbegründerin des von 1979 bis 1996 existierenden New Yorker Kollektivs Group Material, ist Gegenstand der Arbeit A Printed Portrait of Julie Ault (2013). Das Werk ist eine Referenz auf Untitled (Portrait of Julie Ault) (1991) von Felix Gonzalez-Torres, in dem sich, einem Fries ähnlich, Namen und Ereignisse, gefolgt von Jahreszahlen, entlang der Raumdecke ziehen und auf wichtige Momente in Aults Leben verweisen. Im Gegensatz zu diesem „Porträt“ anhand zeitlicher Ereignisse, zeichnet Cesarco mit mehreren Auszügen aus Texten Aults ein literarisches Bildnis von ihr. In der Präsentation an einen Familienrahmen erinnernd konstruiert der Künstler eine Genealogie und sieht in den kritischen Schriften Aults eine moderne Form der Autobiographie.

Die Videoarbeit Shortly After Breakfast She Received The News (2013) präsentiert eine Mikro-Erzählung, die den Moment aufgreift, kurz nachdem eine Nachricht eingetroffen ist – ein Moment, an dem etwas endet und gleichzeitig etwas beginnt. Von welcher Natur die Neuigkeiten waren und die daraus resultierenden Folgen bleiben offen, wie auch die Reaktion der angedeuteten, weiblichen Figur: Was die Kamera zeigt, ist das Zurückgelassene.

 

Cesarco arbeitet an einer fortlaufenden Serie von Verzeichnissen für Bücher, die er noch nicht geschrieben hat und wohl auch nie schreiben wird. Als vierter der Serie entstand die sechsteilige Arbeit Index (An Orphan) (2012), ein detailliertes Verzeichnis das sich auf die Erfahrung von Trauer und den Verlust der Kindheit bezieht und darauf, wie es ist, als Erwachsener ein Waise zu werden. Der Künstler verein darin vielfältige Referenzen und Themen, so zum Beispiel: „delusions [Täuschungen, Wahnvorstellungen], 19, 55, 63“, „Sadness [Traurigkeit], 40, 80“, „Paco Rabanne (perfume), 76“ oder „sail boats [Segelschiffe], 13, 70, 88“, Verweise auf Kinderfilme wie „Wizard of Oz, The (Fleming), 32“ oder „Rescuers, The (Disney), 10“, begleitet von Namen von Philosophen, Künstlern, Schauspielern, Regisseuren oder Psychiatern.

 

2011 wurde Alejandro Cesarco für die Präsentation an den Art Basel Statements mit dem Baloise Kunst-Preis ausgezeichnet und vertrat Uruguay 2011 an der 54. Biennale di Venezia.