Christian Holstad

12.06.2004-15.08.2004
Christian Holstad
Gaiety; Discovering the Lost Art (in Absentia)
German
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

The show by American artist Christian Holstad (born 1972) in the other rooms of the Kunsthalle Zürich will run parallel to the exhibition on Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster’s  «Mulitverse». This simultaneity gives rise to a stark visual contrast. Although one could argue that both artists create individual universes using room-size installations, there is a profound difference: Unlike Gonzalez-Foerster’s works, which employ reduced images to evoke memories and experiences, Christian Holstad offers an overflowing universe of images and materials.

Collage runs through his work at all levels. Christian Holstad is engaged in various “occupations”: he is a performer (alongside Delia Gonzales and Gavin Russom he is the third member of «Black Leotard Front» a group that melds disco, drag and art performance), works as a window dresser and material designer, is, of course, an artist and likely his artistic activities do not end there. Holstad’s other means of artistic expression are drawings, collages, objects, sculptures, costumes and installations. What these myriad art forms share both in formal terms and content are the principle of intersection and overlap, of contrasting and confronting heterogeneous realities and potential states.
While Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster’s work can be read as involving the subjective reactivation of modern manifestations, central to Christian Holstad’s work is the affinity to post-modern diversity and the parallel nature of phenomena. His works are characterized by a culture, and the contents and forms of a reality that erodes the distinctions between “high” and “low”, mainstream and counter-culture. He adopts the guise of the once highly effective phenomena of counter-cultures to scrutinize the foundations of the reality they created: gay culture, glamour, camp aestheticism, Gothic are vehicles he uses as he casts about to identify ways of reactivating them by altering their context. His work can perhaps best be seen in the tradition of filmmaker and performer Jack Smith, who represents one of the most influential figures of the camp, gay and underground culture prevalent in the 1960s and 1970s.

Christian Holstad draws over newspaper pictures such that they seem somehow menacing and ghoulish, he dresses stuffed animals to look like exotic disco creatures, transforms masks and mannequins into monsters, has make-up artists work on the public in his rooms. For his images Holstad sometimes add ornaments to drawn figures, which are then inserted into another photograph creating a hybrid assemblage. This wild, rampant assemblage is added to the room itself in which we also become part of the same collage, are additional ornaments and decoration.

Categories of pictures are constantly mixed and undermined. Real objects and real persons are transformed in Holstad’s installations into reflections and formations reminiscent of Rorschach tests that flow into mental imagery; horror scenarios mute into spirituality, pathos is transmuted into decoration – a theater setting that constantly calls into question the meaning of the images and reality, seeks to redefine and creates new definitions.

«From the moment of birth, when the Stone Age baby confronts the twentieth-century mother, the baby is subjected to these forces of violence, called love, as its mother and father, and their parents and their parents before them, have been. These forces are mainly concerned with destroying most of its potentialities, and on the whole this enterprise is successful. By the time the new human being is fifteen or so, we are left with a being like ourselves, a half-crazed creature more or less adjusted to a mad world. This is normality in our present age.»

R. D. Laing. Quoted from the back of the album cover «YEAR ONE» by «Culturcide».

«For a certain time period, people would scratch text into the inner ring (dead space) of records before they were shipped out. This was scratched into my copy of “A Sucked Orange” by “Nurse With Wound”: «Never knowingly undersell the excitement of mental stimulation man.»

Christian Holstad

The Kunsthalle Zürich thanks: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Maja Hoffmann

Christian Holstad

12.06.2004-15.08.2004
Christian Holstad
Gaiety; Discovering the Lost Art (in Absentia)
Deutsch
Week

Im zusätzlichen Raum der Kunsthalle Zürich eröffnen wir mit der Ausstellung des amerikanischen Künstlers Christian Holstad (geboren 1972) eine parallele Ausstellung zu Dominique Gonzalez-Foersters «Mulitverse», die in ihrer visuellen Erscheinung unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnte: Beide Künstler kreieren wohl individuelle Universen mit Raumenvironments, aber Christian Holstads Räume sind im Unterschied zu Gonzalez-Foersters Arbeiten, die mit reduzierten Bildern Erinnerungen und Erfahrungen evozieren, ein überbordendes Universum aus Bildern und Materialien.

Die Collage durchzieht das Werk des Künstlers auf allen Ebenen: Als Person ist Christian Holstad in unterschiedlichen „Berufen“ tätig, er ist Performer (zusammen mit Delia Gonzales und Gavin Russom tritt er in der Gruppe «Black Leotard Front» auf, die Disco-, Drag- und Kunst-Performance verbindet), er arbeitet als Schaufensterdekorateur und Stoffgestalter, ist selbstverständlich Künstler und wahrscheinlich noch einiges andere mehr. Seine Ausdrucksmedien umfassen neben diesen Tätigkeiten Zeichnungen, Collagen, Objekte, Skulpturen, Kostüme und Installationen – alles durchzogen vom Prinzip des Ineinanderschneidens, des Überlagerns, Kontrastierens und Konfrontierens von heterogenen Wirklichkeiten und Zustandsmöglichkeiten, und dies sowohl formal als auch inhaltlich.

Wenn Dominique Gonzalez-Foersters Arbeit in einer subjektiven Reaktivierung moderner Manifestationen gesehen werden kann, dann ist bei Christian Holstad der Bezug zur postmodernen Vielfältigkeit und Parallelität von Erscheinungen zentral. Seine Arbeiten sind geprägt von einer Kultur und den Inhalten und Formen einer Realität, die die Grenzen von „High“ und „Low“, von Mainstream und Gegenkultur durchlässig gemacht hat. Im Kleid der einst wirksamen Erscheinungen der Gegenkulturen unterzieht er die Grundlagen der daraus entstandenen Realität einer Revision: Gay-Kultur, Glamour, Camp-Ästhetik, Gothik sind Oberflächen, die er benutzt und auf ihre Mögklichkeiten der Re-Kontextualisierung zur Re-Aktivierung untersucht. Am ehesten kann man seine Arbeit vielleicht in der Tradition der Arbeiten des Filmers und Performers Jack Smith sehen, der eine der einflussreichen Figuren der Camp-, Gay- und Untergrundästhetik der sechziger und siebziger Jahre darstellt.

Christian Holstad überzeichnet Zeitungsbilder, so dass sie wie bedrohliche Geisterbilder erscheinen, er dekoriert ausgestopfte Tiere zu exotischen Discowesen, überarbeitet Masken und Schaufensterpuppen zu einem Gruselkabinett, lässt Make-up Artisten in seinen Räumen das Publikum bearbeiten. Auf Bildebene collagiert Holstad Ornamente in gezeichneten Figuren, die wiederum in andere Fotografien eingefügt, dann nur noch Muster sind. All dies verwebt er zu einem wild wuchernden Collagebild, das zum Raum gefügt wird, in dem wir selbst Teil der Collage, des Ornaments, der Dekoration werden.

Kategorien von Bildern werden permanent gemischt und aufgemischt. Reale Gegenstände und reale Personen verwandeln sich in Holstads Installationen in Spiegelungen und rorschachtest-ähnliche Formationen, die in mentale Bilder leiten; Horrorszenarien mutieren zu Spiritualität, Pathos wandelt sich in Ornamentik – ein Theaterszenario, das die Bedeutung von Bildern und Realität permanent in Frage stellt, neu bestimmen will und lässt.

«From the moment of birth, when the Stone Age baby confronts the Twentieth-century mother, the baby is subjected to these forces of violence, called love, as its mother and father, and their parents and their parents before them, have been. These forces are mainly concerned with destroying most of its potentialities, and on the whole this enterprise is successful.
By the time the new human being is fifteen or so, we are left with a being like ourselves, a half-crazed creature more or less adjusted to a mad world.
This is normality in our present age.»
R. D. Laing. Quoted from the back of the album cover «YEAR ONE» by «Culturcide».

«Vom Moment der Geburt an, wenn das Steinzeitalterbaby auf die Mutter des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts trifft, ist es gewalttätigen Kräften ausgesetzt, die Liebe genannt werden, so wie es vor ihm seiner Mutter und seinem Vater und ihren Eltern und deren Eltern vor ihnen erging. Diesen Kräften geht es vor allem darum, die meisten seiner Möglichkeiten zu zerstören – insgesamt ist dieses Unternehmen durchaus erfolgreich. Wenn wir fünfzehn oder so sind, sind wir einem Wesen überlassen, das eine halb-verrückt-gemachte Kreatur ist, die mehr oder weniger dieser wahnsinnigen Welt angepasst ist. Das ist Normalität heute.»
R. D. Laing. Zitiert vom Cover der Schallplatte «YEAR ONE» der Gruppe «Culturcide».

«For a certain time period, people would scratch text into the inner ring (dead space) of records before they were shipped out. This was scratched into my copy of „A Sucked Orange“ by „Nurse With Wound»: «Never knowingly undersell the excitement of mental stimulation man.»

Eine bestimmte Zeit lang haben die Leute in den inneren Ring von Schallplatten Texte eingeritzt, bevor diese in den Vertrieb gingen. Das war in meine Platte «A Sucked Orange» von «Nurse With Wound» eingeritzt: «Du sollst nie absichtlich die Aufregung geistiger Anregung unterschätzen.»

Christian Holstad

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Maja Hoffmann