CHRISTODOULOS PANAYIOTOU

13.02.2010-25.04.2010
CHRISTODOULOS PANAYIOTOU
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

The work of Christodoulos Panayiotou (born 1978 in Limassol, Cyprus, lives and works in Berlin) is characterised by the performative – whether he is creating spaces for others to act in or exploring artistic and societal ‘performances’ in his works. Everyday and folkloric traditions and practices, popular festivals, and other rituals rooted in society and popular culture play just as much a role in his works as the associated romantic myths and subtextual desires. Hence Panayioutou’s video works, installations, photographs and performances circle around the individual and collective representation of sentimentality, longing and the associated idea of melancholy and absence. The viewers often find themselves in situations that propel them back to their own social rootedness, cultural memory and personal desires.

Kunsthalle Zürich presents the first institutional solo exhibition by Christodoulos Panayiotou that brings together works which are characterised by a strong conceptual approach and explore questions surrounding the notion of archive and the relationship between sound and image, story and history, and theory.

In his work Wonder Land (2008), the artist explores the topic of the annual carnival in Limassol. Through intensive research on the aesthetic appearance of the carnival parade in the city archive, Panayiotou documents a transformation over the years and the fascination of the Limassolians for Disney characters. Hence, Mickey Mouse, Mini Mouse and Donald Duck can now be seen parading the streets – a trend that represents a subversive negotiation of the historic and political narration of the parade.

The two-part video work Guysgocrazy (2007) was produced in cooperation with the pornographic film production company of the same name in Prague, which specialised in films featuring mass orgies. One video shows how the camera scans the venue just ahead of such licentious revelry. The studio is clean and tidy and the beams of light from the spotlights dance on the coloured walls and the sparkling clean floor. The second video explores the same space after the event. The actors have already disappeared leaving their traces behind: paper cups, empty champagne bottles, whipped cream and discarded condom packaging come under the spotlight for seconds and present silent witnesses of the events that have just taken place. By presenting the contrast between the beginning and end of a porn film production, Panayiotou simultaneously compares the expected spectacle with the vestiges of the decadent drama. By isolating the prologue and the epilogue, the artist plays with the viewer’s associations, which reconstruct the missing action and actors. The location is enlivened solely by the sound heard in the background. The babble of voices and laughter suggests what is missing on the visual level, i.e. human presence.

Panayiotou also pursues the theme of absence and its portrayal in the work Le Fauteuil de Sarah Bernhardt (2009). Sarah Bernhardt (1844–1923), one of the most famous actresses of the 19th and early 20th centuries, discovered the island of Belle-Île in Brittany in 1894. She acquired a small disused military fortress there at the coastal location of Pointe des Poulains. Over a thirty year period she regularly fled there, in the company of friends so as to escape the hustle and bustle of Paris. Panayiotou’s two photographs show a seat carved in a rock and the view from it onto the rocky coast of the island of Belle-Île. The structure of the rock also refers to the art-historical background as, in the context of the title of the work, it becomes a reference to transitoriness and absence – the seat apparently carved in the rock for Sarah Bernhardt, who as said, used to sit and recite poetry to the ocean, is empty and becomes the substitute for her self.

Panayiotou deals with another great female film star in the work Judy Garland: A Biography. In this work, he superimposes the first and last recordings of the emblematic ballad Somewhere over the rainbow sung by Judy Garland. The song, which was originally written for the film version of the novel The Wizard of Oz, became one of the best known songs of the 1930s. The superimposition of the two versions demonstrates the change in Garland’s interpretation over the years, becoming almost a metaphor for her life story. It also refers to the multiple social and political revivals the song has undergone to the present day. A screen print in the exhibition room announces the staging of Panayiotou’s sound installation in the Arthouse Alba cinema: the work will be presented before the regular film screenings on Sunday, 21 March 2010.

Another poster shown in the exhibition announces the presentation of the sound installation To be willing to march into hell for a heavenly cause (2007) in the Arthouse Alba cinema. The work was produced and documented in audio in September 2007 during a crossing of the Aegean Sea. It presents performances of seven songs from American musicals by Danish singer Kristian Finne Kristensen. The songs have in common the use of meteorological metaphors to formulate utopian projections of a better future. This work will also be presented in the Arthouse Alba cinema on Saturday, 20 February 2010 from 1 to 2.45 pm.

 

Kunsthalle Zürich would like to thank the Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich and the LUMA Foundation for their support.

CHRISTODOULOS PANAYIOTOU

13.02.2010-25.04.2010
CHRISTODOULOS PANAYIOTOU
Deutsch
Week

Das Werk von Christodoulos Panayiotou (geboren 1978 in Limassol, Zypern, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) ist geprägt durch das Performative. Sei es, dass er Räume für andere schafft, in denen diese agieren können, oder sei es, dass er künstlerische und gesellschaftliche ‚Performances‘ in seinen Arbeiten aufgreift. Alltägliche und folkloristische Brauchtümer und Praktiken, Volksfeste oder andere, in der Gesellschaft verankerte Rituale, sowie die Populärkultur spielen ebenso eine Rolle wie die damit im Zusammenhang stehenden, romantischen Mythen und subtextuellen Begehren. So kreisen Panayiotous Videoarbeiten, Installationen, Fotografien und Performances um die individuelle und kollektive Darstellung von Sentimentalität, Sehnsüchten und der damit verbundenen Idee von Melancholie und Absenz. Der Betrachter findet sich dabei oftmals in Situationen wieder, die ihn auf seine eigene soziale Verwurzelung, sein kulturelles Gedächtnis und persönlichen Wünsche zurückwerfen. Die Kunsthalle Zürich präsentiert die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung von Christodoulos Panayiotou und vereint Arbeiten, die sich durch einen stark konzeptuellen Ansatz auszeichnen und sich mit den Fragen des Archivs und dem Verhältnis von Bild und Ton, Erzählung und Historie sowie der Theorie auseinandersetzen.

In seiner Arbeit Wonder Land (2008) thematisiert der Künstler den jährlich stattfindenden Karneval in Limassol. In einer intensiven Recherche zur ästhetischen Erscheinung des Umzuges im städtischen Archiv dokumentiert Panayiotou einen Wandel: Populäre Sujets verdrängen allmählich die klassischen Themen. So schreiten vermehrt Mickey und Mini Mouse sowie Donald Duck durch die Strassen – ein Trend, der eine subversive Umformulierung der offiziellen Absicht der Parade darstellt.

Die zweiteilige Videoarbeit Guysgocrazy (2007) entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit der gleichnamigen, in Prag ansässigen Pornofilm-Produktionsfirma, die sich auf gross angelegte Massenorgien spezialisiert hat. Ein Video zeigt, wie die Kamera den Spielort eines solch zügellosen Gelages vor den Dreharbeiten abtastet. Das Studio ist fein säuberlich aufgeräumt und die Lichtkegel der Scheinwerfer tanzen auf den farbigen Wänden und dem glitzernden Boden. Das zweite Video erkundet dieselben Räumlichkeiten nach den Geschehnissen: Die Akteure sind bereits verschwunden und haben ihre Spuren hinterlassen; Pappbecher, leere Champagnerflaschen, Schlagsahne und aufgerissene Kondompackungen geraten für Sekunden ins Scheinwerferlicht und sind stumme Zeugen der gerade vergangenen Geschehnisse. Indem Panayiotou die Gegensätzlichkeit von Anfang und Ende einer Pornofilmproduktion einander gegenüberstellt, wird das erwartete Spektakel gleichzeitig mit den Überresten des dekadenten Schauspiels konfrontiert. Mit dieser Isolation des Prologs und des Epilogs spielt der Künstler mit den Assoziationen der Betrachter, die die fehlende Handlung und die Akteure rekonstruieren. Eine Belebung erfährt der Ort lediglich durch den Ton, der im Hintergrund zu hören ist. Stimmengewirr und Gelächter deuten auf das hin, was auf visueller Ebene absent ist: die menschliche Präsenz.

Das Thema der Absenz und ihre Darstellung verfolgt Panayiotou auch in der Arbeit Le Fauteuil de Sarah Bernhardt (2009). Sarah Bernhardt (1844–1923), eine der berühmtesten Schauspielerinnen des 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts, entdeckte 1894 die Insel Belle-Île in der Bretagne und erwarb eine kleine, stillgelegte militärische Festung an der Küste von Pointe des Poulains, wohin sie fortan während dreissig Jahren regelmässig in der Gesellschaft von Freunden zurückkehrte, um dem regem Treiben in Paris zu entfliehen. Die beiden Fotografien Panayiotous zeigen zum einen einen Sessel, der in einen Felsen gemeisselt wurde, zum anderen die Aussicht von dieser Einbuchtung auf die felsige Küste der Insel Belle-Île. Die Struktur des Steins verweist dabei ebenso auf die kunstgeschichtlichen Hintergründe, wie sie im Bezug auf den Werktitel zur Referenz von Vergänglichkeit und Abwesenheit wird – der scheinbar in Stein gemeisselte Sessel für Sarah Bernhardt, von wo aus sie Gedichte mit Blick auf das Meer rezitiert haben soll, ist leer und wird zum Stellvertreter ihrer selbst.

In der Arbeit Judy Garland: A Biography erinnert Panayiotou an eine weitere Filmgrösse. Er legt die erste und letzte Tonaufnahme der von Judy Garland gesungenen, emblematischen Ballade Somewhere over the rainbow übereinander. Der Song, ursprünglich für die Verfilmung des Romans Der Zauberer von Oz geschrieben, wurde zu einem der bekanntesten Lieder der 1930er Jahre. Die Überlagerung der beiden Versionen veranschaulicht den Wandel der Interpretation Garlands über die Jahre hinweg, wird beinahe zu einer Metapher ihrer Lebensgeschichte und verweist ebenfalls auf die vielfache gesellschaftliche und politische Wiederbelebung des Liedes bis heute. Im Ausstellungsraum kündigt ein Siebdruck die Vorführung der Toninstallation Panayiotous im Kino Arthouse Alba an: Am Sonntag, 21. März 2010, wird die Arbeit im Vorfeld des regulären Kinoprogramms präsentiert.

Ein weiteres Poster in der Ausstellung kündigt die Vorführung der Soundarbeit To be willing to march into hell for heavenly cause (2007) im Kino Arthouse Alba an. Die Arbeit entstand im September 2007 während einer Überquerung des Ägäischen Meeres. Der dänische Sänger Kristian Finne Kristensen singt live sieben Songs aus amerikanischen Musicals, denen allen der Gebrauch von meteorologischen Metaphern gemeinsam ist, um utopische Lebensentwürfe zu formulieren. Die Arbeit wird am Samstag, 20. Februar 2010 ab 13.00 Uhr bis 14.45 Uhr ebenfalls im Kino Arthouse Alba gezeigt.

 

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung