Christopher Williams

25.08.2007-28.10.2007
Christopher Williams
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

The coming exhibition at Kunsthalle Zurich is dedicated to the U.S. conceptual artist Christopher Williams. In an expansion of the exhibition space, Williams presents his works not only in the Kunsthalle itself, where 28 photographs of the artist from the series For Example: Dix-Huit Leçons Sur La Société Industrielle (Revision) (2003 to today) are on show. Also the radio programme Radio Danièle – that the artist conceived with the artist and critic John Kelsey, a first version of which was realized in Bologna at the beginning of 2007 – has been expanded for Zurich in collaboration with Radio LoRa and will be broadcast every night from Sunday to Wednesday for the duration of the exhibition. In addition, Christopher Williams is collaborating with Albert Oehlen and John Kelsey on a film programme, which can be seen in one of the Arthouse Cinemas.

Christopher Williams (*1956), who lives and works in Los Angeles, studied in the 1970s at the California Institute of Arts under the first generation of conceptual artists on the west coast – among others under John Baldessari and Douglas Huebler. In contrast to the first generation of conceptual photographers, however, Williams mobilizes perfection and aesthetics to enhance the impact of his works.

Williams’ photographs, videos, installations, sculptures and performances study the conditions of presentation and representation and call into question spoon-fed perception and true-to-reality reproductions: how do our communication mechanisms and aesthetic conventions influence our perception and understanding of reality?

The title of the project begun in 2003 - For Example: Dix-Huit Leçons Sur La Société Industrielle (Revision) – alludes to the lectures "Dix-Huit Leçons Sur La Société Industrielle" held by the French sociologist Raymond Aron and published in 1962. In them Aron had studied the growth factors of Fordist capitalism and Soviet planned economy.

Williams’ photographic procedure relates to industrial society and its short-lived nature and, at the same time, formulates a critique. In this way the artist – who sees himself as a director of his pictures and has his photographs produced by professionals – has the shots printed by a method that is hardly in use today: his black-and-whites are realized as silver gelatine or platinum prints, the colour proofs by a dye-transfer process. His choice has nothing nostalgic about it; he understands it as an attempt to fully comprehend processes that are on the verge of disappearing. This theme is reflected in his repertoire of images that borrow from advertising, fashion and architecture photography. The formal common ground of his works is the isolation of the objects against a mostly neutral background.

The proximity to New Objectivity (neue Sachlichkeit) and William’s admired predecessor, Albert Renger-Patzsch (1897-1966), is striking. Similar to him, Williams tries to constitute the structures and phenomena of the visible world in their "essence" – via photography. However, a closer look reveals that disquieting factors have obviously and consciously been introduced. The pictures are meant to evoke a subtle shift in our perception, not least of all abetted by their titles, which are to be considered a part of the work.

At first glance the series of shower pictures Model # 105M – R59C Kestone Shower Door... (2005) seems to recall advertising photography from the 1960s. But a second glance makes apparent the fact that the model is a bit older than is normally the case in the advertising field. For the most part she smiles as she poses before the camera; on other works she stares out of the picture, lost in thought. Only one half of the image formation is given over to her face; the other half is taken up by the shower stall or colour chart stripes. That small skin blemishes remain visible is owed to the fact that Williams never refinishes the photographs.

His work Kiev 88 (2003) pictures the Russian remake of a Hasselblad, the most successful model of a middle-format camera. Williams remarked that, to him, this remake is like "using NASA technology in order to represent a harpoon." Consequently the professionalism of the "advert" stands in contrast to the simplicity of the model.

Also in the works Velosolex 2200 Nr. 2 (2005) and Tropical House (Prototyp) (2005) – along with the aesthetic concept of the objective portrayal – further references to political and geopolitical questions play a role: Triptychon Velosolex 2200 Nr. 2 shows a bicycle from three different views. In the French colonies of Africa and Asia, this bike was a popular model. Legend has it that the bicycle was imported to France from Vietnam to be then photographed in a studio in Los Angeles. Also Tropical House (Prototyp) tells of an intercontinental journey: in 1949 the French architect Jean Prouvé designed the "Tropical House" as a prototype of an easy-to-erect prefabricated house for cheap living quarters in the French colonies. There they stood proud in Brazzaville till 1999 when they were "rescued" from the civil war in the Congo and sent back to France for restoration. In 2005 one of the houses was shipped to Los Angeles for an exhibition in UCLA’s Hammer Museum, where this photograph was taken during an exhibition.

Although, formally, the aesthetic concept of objectivity is central here, Williams subverts this with the title he formulates for the picture: in an, at first, cryptic list, all possible information that can be linked to the photo was assembled – details of the photographed object, name of the photo studio, date, material and process. Yet one particular is missing – the name of the photographer who took the picture. Thus Williams puts at our disposition the question of what value the information and the authorship can possess, while he simultaneously proves to be a subtle narrator with a weakness for veiled anecdotes.

In Bologna on January 26th 1976 one of the first free radio stations in Italy went on the air: Radio Alice. In 2007, parallel to an exhibition at Bologna’s Galleria d’Arte Moderna, Christopher Williams together with John Kelsey organized Radio Danièle in memory of Radio Alice and as an homage to the French director Danièle Huillet (1936-2006). The two organizers invited more than 60 artists, among whom were Bernadette Corporation, Dan Graham, Paul McCarthey, Seth Price and Lawrence Weiner, to compose a contribution for the radio. These ranged from readings, music tapes and concerts, all the way to experimental sound recordings. On "Radio LoRa 97,5 – alternative local radio Zurich" this program will be taken up and continued for the duration of the exhibition in an expanded Zurich version.

Within the framework of the Cologne Film Festival 1992, Albert Oehlen and Christopher Williams were invited to design a film programme in which each film shown – like a dialogue – offered an answer to the preceding one: Albert Oehlen began the screening on September 27th with Change by Peter Wirth from 1971; it culminated in Hermann Jauk’s Stille Nacht O Tannenbaum from 1967. This dialogue will be expanded and continued in Zurich’s Arthouse Cinemas.

 

Kunsthalle Zurich thanks: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung and Swiss Re.

Christopher Williams

25.08.2007-28.10.2007
Christopher Williams
Deutsch
Week

Die kommende Ausstellung der Kunsthalle Zürich ist dem US amerikanischen Konzeptkünstler Christopher Williams gewidmet. Im Sinne eines erweiterten Ausstellungsraums präsentiert Williams sich nicht nur in der Kunsthalle, wo 28 Fotografien des Künstlers aus der Serie For Example: Dix-Huit Leçons Sur La Société Industrielle (Revision) (2003 bis heute) gezeigt werden. Das mit dem Künstler und Kritiker John Kelsey konzipierte Radioprogramm Radio Danièle, in einer ersten Version Anfang 2007 in Bologna realisiert, wird für Zürich erweitert und in Zusammenarbeit mit Radio LoRa während der gesamten Dauer der Ausstellung von Sonntag- bis Mittwochnacht gesendet. Mit Albert Oehlen und John Kelsey erarbeitet Christopher Williams überdies ein Filmprogramm, das in einem der Arthouse Kinos zu sehen sein wird.

Christopher Williams (*1956), der in Los Angeles lebt und arbeitet, studierte in den 1970er Jahren am California Institute of Arts bei der ersten Generation der Konzeptkünstler an der Westküste – unter anderem bei John Baldessari und Douglas Huebler. Im Gegensatz zur ersten Generation konzeptueller Fotografen jedoch, setzt Williams in seinen Werken Perfektion und Ästhetik als Wirkungsträger ein.

Williams Fotografien, Videos, Installationen, Skulpturen und Performances erforschen die Bedingungen von Präsentation und Repräsentation und stellen vermittelte Wahrnehmung und wirklichkeitsgetreue Wiedergabe von Realität in Frage: Wie beeinflussen unsere Kommunikationsmechanismen und ästhetischen Konventionen die Wahrnehmung und das Verständnis von Realität?

Der Titel des 2003 begonnenen Projekts – For Example: Dix-Huit Leçons Sur La Société Industrielle (Revision) – bezieht sich auf die 1962 erschienenen Vorlesungen "Dix-Huit Leçons Sur La Société Industrielle" des französischen Soziologen Raymond Aron. In diesen untersucht Aron die Wachstumsfaktoren des fordistischen Kapitalismus und der sowjetischen Planwirtschaft.

Williams fotografische Vorgehensweise steht in Bezug zur industriellen Gesellschaft und ihrer Schnelllebigkeit und formuliert zugleich eine Kritik. So lässt der Künstler, der sich selber als Regisseur seiner Bilder versteht und die Aufnahmen von professionellen Studios und Fotografen produzieren lässt, die Fotografien in Verfahren abziehen, die heute kaum noch verwendet werden: die schwarz-weiss Abzüge realisiert er als Silbergelatine- oder Platin-Prints, die farbigen im Dye-Transfer-Verfahren. Diese Entscheidung hat für ihn nichts Nostalgisches, sondern er versteht sie als "den Versuch, diese Prozesse im Begriff ihres Verschwindens zu begreifen". Im Bildrepertoire spiegelt sich das Thema durch Anleihen an die Werbe-, Mode- und Architekturfotografie. Formale Gemeinsamkeit der Arbeiten ist die Isolation der Objekte vor meist neutralem Hintergrund.

Eine Nähe zur neuen Sachlichkeit und Williams Vorbild Albert Renger-Patzsch (1897-1966) ist augenfällig. Ähnlich wie dieser versucht Williams mittels Fotografie Strukturen und Phänomene der sichtbaren Welt in ihrer "Essenz" zu erfassen. Bei genauem Hinsehen werden jedoch bewusst eingefügte Störmomente offensichtlich. Durch die Bilder soll eine subtile Verschiebung unserer Wahrnehmung evoziert werden – dazu tragen nicht zuletzt die Bildtitel bei, die als Teil der Arbeiten verstanden werden müssen.

Auf den ersten Blick scheint die Serie der Duschbilder Model # 105M – R59C Kestone Shower Door... (2005) an Werbefotografie der 1960er Jahre zu erinnern. Auf den zweiten wird augenscheinlich, dass das Modell um einiges älter ist als man das gemeinhin aus der Werbebranche kennt. Meist posiert sie lächelnd vor der Kamera, auf anderen Arbeiten schaut sie gedankenverloren aus dem Bild. Dem Gesicht wird im Bildaufbau nur eine Hälfte des Bildes zugestanden, die andere nimmt die Duschkabine bzw. der in das Bild gehaltene Farbstreifen ein. Sichtbare kleine Hautunreinheiten sind der Tatsache geschuldet, dass Williams die Fotografien nicht nachbearbeitet.

Die Arbeit Kiev 88 (2003) zeigt den russischen Nachbau einer Hasselbladt, dem erfolgreichsten Modell einer Mittelformatkamera. Williams bemerkt, dass dieser Nachbau für ihn sei wie "using NASA technology in order to represent a harpoon". Folglich steht die Professionalität der "Werbe"-Aufnahme im Gegensatz zur Einfachheit des Modells.

Auch in den Arbeiten Velosolex 2200 Nr. 2 (2005) und Tropical House (Prototyp) (2005), spielen, neben dem künstlerischen Konzept der objektiven Darstellung, weitere Referenzen zu politischen und geopolitischen Fragen eine Rolle: Das Triptychon Velosolex 2200 Nr. 2 zeigt ein Fahrrad in drei Ansichten. In den französischen Kolonien Afrikas und Asiens war es ein beliebtes Modell. Die Legende des Fotos besagt, dass das Rad aus Vietnam nach Frankreich exportiert und schliesslich in einem Studio in Los Angeles fotografiert wurde. Auch Tropical House (Prototyp) erzählt von einer interkontinentalen Reise: 1949 entwarf der französische Architekt Jean Prouvé das "Tropical House" als Prototyp eines leicht zu errichtenden Fertighauses für billiges Wohnen in den französischen Kolonien. Bis 1999 standen sie in Brazzaville im Kongo, dann wurden sie vor dem Bürgerkrieg "gerettet" und zur Restaurierung zurück nach Frankreich gebracht. 2005 reiste eines der Häuser nach Los Angeles zu einer Ausstellung ins UCLA Hammer Museum, wo die Aufnahme während einer Ausstellung entstand.

Steht formal das künstlerische Konzept der Objektivität im Mittelpunkt, so unterwandert Williams dieses mit der Formulierung seiner Bildtitel: In einer zunächst kryptisch anmutenden Liste werden alle möglichen Informationen, die an das Bild geknüpft werden können, im Titel zusammengetragen: Angaben zum fotografierten Objekt, Name des Fotostudios, Datum, Material und Prozess. Doch eine Angabe fehlt – der Name des ausführenden Fotografen. So stellt Williams die Frage nach dem Wert von Information und der Autorenschaft zur Disposition; gleichzeitig zeigt er sich als subtiler Erzähler mit einem Faible für versteckte Anekdoten.

Am 26. Januar 1976 ging eine der ersten freien Radiostationen Italiens in Bologna auf Sendung: „Radio Alice“. 2007 organisierte Christopher Williams, zusammen mit John Kelsey, parallel zu einer Ausstellung in der Galleria d’Arte Moderna in Bologna Radio Danièle – in Erinnerung an Radio Alice und als Hommage an die französische Regisseurin Danièle Huillet (1936-2006). Die beiden Organisatoren luden mehr als 60 Künstler, darunter Bernadette Corporation, Dan Graham, Paul McCarthey, Seth Price und Lawrence Weiner ein, einen Beitrag fürs Radio zu gestalten. Diese reichten von Lesungen, Musikeinspielungen und Konzerten bis hin zu experimentellen Tonaufnahmen. Auf "Radio LoRa 97,5 – alternatives Lokalradio Zürich" wird dieses Programm über die Dauer der Ausstellung in der erweiterten Zürcher Version fortgeführt.

Im Rahmen des Kölner Film Festivals 1992 wurden Albert Oehlen und Christopher Williams eingeladen, ein Filmprogramm zu gestalten, in dem jeder gezeigte Film – einem Dialog gleich – eine Antwort auf den vorangegangenen gibt: Albert Oehlen startete das Screening am 27. September mit Change von Peter Wirth aus dem Jahr 1971; den Abschluss bildete Stille Nacht O Tannenbaum von Hermann Jauk aus dem Jahr 1967. Der Dialog wird nun in Zürich in einem der Arthouse Kinos erweitert und fortgesetzt.

 

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung und Swiss Re