Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty

30.08.2008-02.11.2008
Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty
Kuratiert von Isaac Julien
German
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

The new exhibition in the Kunsthalle Zürich “Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty” is dedicated to the British artist and filmmaker Derek Jarman (1942 – 1994). The exhibition is curated by Isaac Julien who worked with Jarman for many years.

While “Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty” aims to present a representative overview of Jarman’s creative output, it is not conceived as a classical retrospective. Instead, Julien is more concerned with making it possible to experience Jarman’s interdisciplinary approach and with refocusing critical attention on the work itself.

Derek Jarman was one of the outstanding representatives of British Independent Cinema of the period 1970 – 1990. However, although he was known to a large audience mainly as a filmmaker, he saw himself as an artist, in whose interdisciplinary and highly autobiographical oeuvre film, painting, stage design and writing assumed equal prominence. In his tireless struggle for gay rights and AIDS education and awareness, Jarman’s main priority was “to unite Art with Life and vice versa” (Isaac Julien).

The exhibition opens with a selection of paintings from the 1980s and 1990s. The double projection, which was developed for the Kunsthalle Zürich and provides the basic material for Isaac Julien’s documentary film Derek (2008), offers an introduction to the work and life of Derek Jarman. It is based on an interview with Jarman recorded by writer and producer Colin McCabe in 1990. The voiceover is narrated by the actor Tilda Swinton, who appeared in many of Jarman’s films including Caravaggio (1986), The Last of England (1988) and Edward II (1991). Tilda Swinton reads excerpts from a letter she wrote to Jarman after his death. In Derek, the interview, narrative and excerpts from Jarman’s feature films and super 8 films are interwoven with relevant contemporary news footage and media material focusing on the political events of the time to form a coherent and impressive work; in this way the film conveys an overview of Jarman’s biography from the perspective of his imminent death. At the same time, insight is gained into the England of the period 1960 – 1990 through the documentation of socially volatile topics such as the punk movement, the protests by intellectuals against the government of Margaret Thatcher, the struggle for gay rights and the AIDS crisis.

The installation is juxtaposed with a still life image by Isaac Julien which were taken inside Jarman’s house in Dungeness.

The exhibition ends with Jarman’s film Blue (1993), a moving and harrowing work by an artist who was about to go blind. In this his last film, the screen remains blue for the entire duration of the work – an homage to the French painter Yves Klein, whose Blue symbolised serenity and contemplation for Jarman. The soundtrack of the film is a text written and spoken by Jarman, in which he artistically explores and reproduces life and his experience with AIDS.

Between these two central works, Isaac Julien presents a selection of rarely shown films from the super 8 archive of Jarman’s artistic estate, e.g. Imagining October (1984) and In the Shadow of the Sun (1980). Having studied painting and stage design at the Slade School of Art in London, Jarman started working with super 8 as far back as the early 1970s and experimented with this medium up to the early 1980s. Jarman, who saw himself primarily as a painter throughout his life, achieves a painterly feel in the way in which he deals with light, colour, composition, abstraction, alienation and staging.

The work It Happened by Chance Redux (2008) is a ten-screen projection composed of footage which Jarman found on the floor of his editing suite. The installation is a re-working of It Happened by Chance (around 1976). The former was curated jointly by Isaac Julien and James Mackay, the owner of the archive, and incorporates Jarman’s most important super 8 films. The sculptural arrangement of the screens in the space is intended to evoke formally the Petersburg hanging of the Black Paintings, which were exhibited in the Richard Salmon Gallery in London in the late 1980s.

Conceived and curated by Isaac Julien

http://www.isaacjulien.com

Curator Kunsthalle Zürich: Beatrix Ruf

“Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty” is an exhibition of the Serpentine Gallery, London staged in cooperation with Kunsthalle Zürich and Kunsthalle Wien.

Kunsthalle Zürich thanks: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung.

Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty

30.08.2008-02.11.2008
Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty
Kuratiert von Isaac Julien
Deutsch
Week

Die kommende Ausstellung „Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty“ in der Kunsthalle Zürich ist dem britischen Künstler und Filmemacher Derek Jarman (1942-1994) gewidmet. Kuratiert wird sie von Isaac Julien, der über lange Jahre mit Jarman zusammen gearbeitet hat.
„Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty“ will einerseits einen repräsentativen Überblick über das Schaffen Jarmans zeigen und ist doch nicht als klassische Retrospektive angelegt. Vielmehr ist es Juliens Anliegen, den interdisziplinären Ansatz Derek Jarmans erfahrbar zu machen und die kritische Aufmerksamkeit auf das Oeuvre wiederzubeleben.

Derek Jarman war einer der herausragendsten Vertreter des britischen Independent Cinema der 1970er bis 1990er Jahre. Aber obwohl er einer grösseren Öffentlichkeit vor allem als Filmemacher bekannt wurde, verstand er sich selber als Künstler, in dessen genreübergreifenden, stark autobiographisch gefärbten Werk Film, Malerei, Bühnenbild und Schreiben gleichberechtigt nebeneinander stehen. In seinem unermüdlichen Kampf um die Gleichberechtigung Homosexueller und die Aufklärung über AIDS, war sein oberstes Ziel „die Kunst mit dem Leben und das Leben mit der Kunst zu verbinden“ (Isaac Julien).

Den Auftakt der Ausstellung bildet eine Auswahl kleinformatiger Gemälden aus den 1980er und -90er Jahren. Die für die Kunsthalle Zürich entwickelte Doppelprojektion, der als Ausgangsmaterial Isaac Juliens Dokumentarfilm Derek (2008) zu Grunde liegt, gibt eine Einführung in das Werk und Leben Derek Jarmans: Er basiert auf einem Interview, das der Schriftsteller und Produzent Colin MacCabe 1990 mit Jarman geführt hatte. Erzählerin aus dem Off ist die Schauspielerin Tilda Swinton, die in zahlreichen seiner Filme wie Caravaggio (1986), The Last of England (1988) und Edward II (1991) mitspielte. Tilda Swinton liest Auszüge aus einem Brief, den sie Jarman nach dessen Tod geschrieben hat. Derek verwebt Interview, Erzählung, Ausschnitte aus Jarmans Spielfilmen sowie seinen Super-8-Filmen mit einschlägigen Nachrichten der Zeit und Medienmaterial des damalig aktuellen politischen Geschehens zu einem beeindruckenden Ganzen. So vermittelt der Film einen Überblick über Jarmans Biografie aus der Perspektive seines bevorstehenden Todes. Gleichzeitig entsteht ein Einblick in das England der 1960er bis 1990er Jahre, der gesellschaftlich brisante Themen wie die Punkbewegung, die Proteste der Intellektuellen gegen die Regierung von Margaret Thatcher, den Kampf der Homosexuellen für ihre Rechte und die AIDS Krise dokumentiert.

Der Installation werden Leuchtkästen mit Stillleben Isaac Juliens gegenübergestellt, die im Inneren des Hauses von Jarman in Dungeness aufgenommen wurden.

Den Schlusspunkt der Ausstellung bildet Jarmans Film Blue (1993): eine bewegende und erschütternde Arbeit eines Künstlers, der kurz vor dem Erblinden stand. In seinem letzten Film bleibt die Leinwand über die gesamte Dauer der Arbeit unverändert blau – eine Hommage an den französischen Maler Yves Klein, dessen Blau für Jarman Gelassenheit und Versunkenheit symbolisierte. Die Tonspur zum Film bildet ein poetischer von Jarman geschriebener und gesprochener Text, worin er das Leben und seine Erfahrungen mit AIDS künstlerisch verarbeitet und wiedergibt.

Zwischen diesen beiden zentralen Arbeiten präsentiert Isaac Julien eine Auswahl der selten gezeigten Filme aus dem Super-8-Archiv des künstlerischen Nachlasses von Jarman – so Imagining October (1984) und In the Shadow of the Sun (1980). Als Künstler, der an der Slade School of Art in London Malerei und Bühnenbild studierte, begann Jarman bereits in den frühen 1970er Jahren mit Super-8-Film zu arbeiten und experimentierte bis zu Beginn der 1980er Jahre mit diesem Medium. Jarman, der sich zeitlebens primär als Maler begriffen hat, realisiert auch im Film in der Art wie er mit Licht, Farbe, Komposition, Abstrahierung, Verfremdung und Inszenierung umgeht, einen malerischen Anspruch.

Die Arbeit It Happened by Chance Redux (2008) ist eine Zehnfachprojektion, die sich aus Footage zusammensetzt, das Jarman auf dem Boden seines Schneideraumes gefunden hat. Die Installation ist eine Weiterentwicklung der Arbeit It Happened by Chance (ca. 1976). Erstere wurde von Isaac Julien gemeinsam mit James Mackay, dem Inhaber des Archivs, kuratiert und umfasst die wichtigsten Super-8-Filme Jarmans. Formal soll in skulpturaler Anordnung der Projektionsflächen im Raum die Petersburger Hängung der Black Paintings, die in den späten 1980er Jahren in der Richard Salmon Gallery in London ausgestellt waren, nachempfunden werden.

Konzipiert und kuratiert von Isaac Julien

http://www.isaacjulien.com

Kuratorin Kunsthalle Zürich: Beatrix Ruf

“Derek Jarman. Brutal Beauty” ist eine Ausstellung der Serpentine Gallery, London in Kooperation mit der Kunsthalle Zürich und der Kunsthalle Wien.

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung