Film: Loretta Fahrenholz: Two A.M.

12.01.2017, 19:00-20:00
Film: Loretta Fahrenholz: Two A.M.
Screening
Freier Eintritt
English
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

In conjunction with the exhibition 3 Frauen (29.08.-08.11.2015) by Loretta Fahrenholz, and in collaboration with Fridericianum Kassel, Kunsthalle Zürich commissioned her new film Two A.M.. We’re thrilled to now present it here and within a special party-set by the artists Nicola Brunnhuber, Julia Haller, Friederike Hemedinger, Min Yoon und Catharina Wronn – inspired by their party-set for the film.

Two A.M. (4K, color, 40 min., English, 2016) is based on Irmgard Keun’s novel After Midnight (1937), about the rise of the Nazis. Set in an urban society of control, contortion, and confounding, the fantasy film stages the entangled lives, loves, and temper of protagonist Sanna, her family, and her friends:

“Sanna bridles at her aunt’s traditional ways. Her adopted family are members of the Watchers, powerful information-obsessives whose unusual telepathic abilities and sociopolitical pretensions only manage to get on Sanna’s nerves. But after she abandons the family home and her young lover for the city, her dream of a brilliant urban life quickly falls flat. From her half-sister Algin, in despair over a faded singing career, to Algin’s depressive and love-obsessed partner Lisko, to Hedy, the splenetic, paranoid journalist who’s inadvertently caught Lisko’s eye, everyone in the big city seems to be totally wrapped up in their own serial dramas and star-crossed affairs. She quickly acquires a problem of her own when her lover, Franz, reappears in the city along with her unpredictable, sinister Watcher sisters. Sanna and her friends bounce from bar to bar towards a party that will bring everyone’s minor ennuis and compulsive intimacies together with unforgettable results.” Jeff Nagy (film script co-author)

Sanna: She’s got hooks in you. That’s why the songs go bad!
Algin: The public can tell. But it’s not Betty. It’s the business, no gigs, new styles. It’s silly. I can only be so many versions of me.
Sanna: How much is this one costing you?

With: Theadora Davies, Emile Clarke, Jim Fletcher, Sophie Fives, Annika Glass, Andrew Kerton, Paula Knüpling, Ilya Lipkin, Mira Partecke, Emily Sundblad, Yuko Torihara, Helga Wretman; and: Michael Bornhütter, Klaus Kamptner, Leonie Kossi, Gerda Martin, Liv Moritz, Liana Saito, Julian Wadsworth, Jürgen Wolf, Min Yoon Tate Zirner, et al.
Directed by: Loretta Fahrenholz 
Assistant Director: Angela Stiegler Yulia Lokshina 
Script: Jeff Nagy, Loretta Fahrenholz 
Cinematography: Till Megerle 
Sound: Simon Konrad 
Editing: Steffen Martin 
Sound Design: Steffen Martin 
Costumes: Marianna Serwa 
Costumes Assistant: Joanna Vavra 
Make-up: Marianna Serwa 
Party Set: Nicola Brunnhuber, Catharina Wronn, Min Yoon
Production Management: Yulia Lokshina Angela Stiegler
Casting: Loretta Fahrenholz, Angela Stiegler
Locations: Angela Stiegler, Erika Landström, Loretta Fahrenholz
Color Grading: Ben Brix
Music: Steffen Martin, Ivan Sobolew et al.
Production: Loretta Fahrenholz, Schipschack/Tangen, vitakuben

August

29 Sa

Film: Loretta Fahrenholz: Two A.M.

12.01.2017, 19:00-20:00
Film: Loretta Fahrenholz: Two A.M.
Screening
Freier Eintritt
Englisch
Week

Body: 

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung 3 Frauen (29.08.-08.11.2015) von Loretta Fahrenholz produzierte die Kunsthalle Zürich in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fridericianum Kassel ihren neuen Film Two A.M.. Wir freuen uns, nun den Film in der Kunsthalle zu zeigen, innerhalb eines speziell entworfenen Party-Sets der Künstler/innen Nicola Brunnhuber, Julia Haller, Friederike Hemedinger, Min Yoon und Catharina Wronn, orientiert an ihrem Party-Set für den Film. 

Two A.M. (4K, Farbe, 40 Min., Englisch, 2016) basiert auf Irmgard Keuns Roman Nach Mitternacht (1937) über den Aufstieg der Nationalsozialisten. Der Fantasyfilm inszeniert die verschränkten Lebenssituationen, Leiden und Leidenschaften der Hauptfigur Sanna, ihrer Familie und Freunde in einer urbanen Gesellschaft der Überwachung, Überreizung und Unwegsamkeit:

“Sanna geht das traditionelle Getue ihrer Tante Adelar auf die Nerven. Die Mitglieder ihrer Pflegefamilie gehören zu den „Watchern“, einer einflussreichen Gruppe von Informationssaugern mit ungewöhnlichen telepathischen Fähigkeiten. Ihre obsessive Präsenz und ihre Übergriffigkeiten stoßen Sanna ab. Sie verlässt ihre Familie und ihren Liebhaber Franz, um in die Stadt zu gehen. Aber dort zerbricht ihr Traum von einem schillernden urbanen Leben schnell. Alle Leute, denen sie begegnet, sind tief in ihre eigenen Dramen und vom Unglück überschatteten Affären verstrickt. Ihre Halbschwester Algin leidet darunter, dass sie als Sängerin keinen Erfolg mehr hat. Algins Mann Lisko ist depressiv und von Liebeskummer befallen. Das Objekt seiner Begierde, der arbeitslose Journalist Hedy, wird zunehmend resignierter und paranoider. Dabei hat Sanna genug eigene Probleme: Franz taucht überraschend mit seinen unberechenbaren Watcher-Schwestern in der Stadt auf. Sanna und ihre Freunde ziehen von einer Bar zur nächsten, unterwegs zu einer Party, auf der alle persönlichen Animositäten und sexuellen Spannungen aufeinanderprallen werden.” Jeff Nagy (Co-Autor des Filmskripts)

Sanna: She’s got hooks in you. That’s why the songs go bad!
Algin: The public can tell. But it’s not Betty. It’s the business, no gigs, new styles. It’s silly. I can only be so many versions of me.
Sanna: How much is this one costing you?

Mit: Theadora Davies, Emile Clarke, Jim Fletcher, Sophie Fives, Annika Glass, Andrew Kerton, Paula Knüpling, Ilya Lipkin, Mira Partecke, Emily Sundblad, Yuko Torihara, Helga Wretman; und: Michael Bornhütter, Klaus Kamptner, Leonie Kossi, Gerda Martin, Liv Moritz, Liana Saito, Julian Wadsworth, Jürgen Wolf, Min Yoon Tate Zirner, et al. Regie: Loretta Fahrenholz
Regieassistenz: Angela Stiegler, Yulia Lokshina
Script: Jeff Nagy, Loretta Fahrenholz
Cinematographie: Till Megerle
Ton: Simon Konrad
Schnitt: Steffen Martin
Sound Design: Steffen Martin
Kostüme: Marianna Serwa
Kostümassistenz: Joanna Vavra
Make-up: Marianna Serwa
Party Set: Nicola Brunnhuber, Catharina Wronn, Min Yoon
Produktionsmanagement: Yulia Lokshina Angela Stiegler
Casting: Loretta Fahrenholz, Angela Stiegler
Locations: Angela Stiegler, Erika Landström, Loretta Fahrenholz
Color Grading: Ben Brix
Musik: Steffen Martin, Ivan Sobolew et al.
Produktion: Loretta Fahrenholz, Schipschack/Tangen, vitakuben

August

29 Sa