Free and daring! Play(grounds) as a place of identification, community, and disorder in the city

22.04.2016, 09:30-18:00
Free and daring! Play(grounds) as a place of identification, community, and disorder in the city
Symposium
50 CHF / 30 CHF Mitglieder / 15 CHF ermässigt (inkl. Ausstellungseintritt), abschliessende Podiumsdiskussion frei
English
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

This full-day symposium hosted by Kunsthalle Zürich on the occasion of The Playground Project, gathers renown designers and researchers as well as planners and activists to discuss and define the conditions for autonomous, free, and daring play within urban space. What does it require to create places positively challenging the kids? And what must be the contribution of the given community towards it? The symposium presents new insight into different projects and experiences in planning spaces suitable for children in their various environments today. Approaches from different countries such as England, Denmark, India, and others may provide valuable clues. Good play space needs hardware and software. Therefore, this symposium also thinks of itself as a market square which offers information on new play initiatives in public space, and enables exchange among all participants in the big round-table discussion at the end of the day.

With Gabriela Burkhalter (curator of the exhibition), Marion Ebert (Activist, Kinderbaustelle Biel), Tim Gill (activist, author, scholar, London), Axel Fischer (Head of Maintenance Grün Stadt Zürich), Sven Goebel (Pro Juventute, Divisional Manager «Free Space and Participation», Zurich) & Petra Stocker (Pro Juventute, Project Coordinator «Play and Social Space», Zurich), Karl Guyer (Director GZ Wipkingen), Alberto Nanclares da Veiga & Manuel Polanco Pérez-Llantada (Basurama, artist collective, Madrid), Helle Nebelong (landscape architect, Copenhagen), Samuel Roth (Director open children and youth work Wattwil, Project Coordinator Kinderbaustelle Wattwil), Sreejata Roy (artist / pedagogue, Delhi), Xavier de la Salle (Group Ludic, artist collective, France), and an Apero supported by Pro Juventute

Registration: Julia Moritz, 

09:30 Registration, welcome coffee
10:00 Daniel Baumann, director Kunsthalle Zurich, welcome
10:15 Gabriela Burkhalter, introduction: The Playground Project
10:30 Tim Gill, keynote lecture: If playgrounds are the answer, then what is the question? (Engl.)
11:15 Xavier de la Salle, lecture: Group Ludic – What can we learn from it today? (Fr.)
11:45 Axel Fischer, presentation: New requirements and tendencies for playground planning in Zurich (Engl.)
12:15 Excursion/lunch: Playground GZ Wipkingen, with Karl Guyer, introduction (Ger.)
13:30 Helle Nebelong, lecture: Children’s Landscapes – Perspectives from Denmark (Engl.)
14:15 Marion Ebert, presentation: Kinderbaustelle Biel (Ger.)
14:45 Sven Goebel & Petra Stocker, presentation: Pro Juventute (Engl./Ger.)
15:30 Coffee break
15:45 Alberto Nanclares da Veiga & Manuel Polanco Pérez-Llantada, presentation: Basurama (Engl.)
16:15 Sreejata Roy, presentation: Dialogue (Engl.)
16:45 Panel discussion with all speakers and Samuel Roth (youth work & Kinderbaustelle Wattwil, Ger.), moderated by Daniel Baumann & Gabriela Burkhalter
17:45 Apéro, supported by Pro Juventute

Gabriela Burkhalter is a Swiss political scientist and urban planner based in Basel. She has documented the history of playgrounds on www.architekturfuerkinder.ch since 2008. She was a guest curator of The Playground Project at the 2013 Carnegie International, Carnegie Museum of Art, Pittsburgh, and in 2014 for Architectures for Children— Zurich’s playgrounds at gta exhibitions, ETH Zurich. In the same year Group Ludic assigned their archives to her for preservation and research. In 2015 the project Group Ludic’s Visionary Urban Landscapes, 1968-1979 received a grant from the Graham Foundation Chicago. Curated by Gabriela Burkhalter at Kunsthalle Zürich, The Playground Project provides an extensive overview of initiatives, pioneering acts, and adventures, and installs three playgrounds for children to run, hide and climb in our galleries. The exhibition is accompanied by a comprehensive catalog introducing, discussing and illustrating numerous projects. The symposium is Free and daring! Play(grounds) as a place of identification, community, and disorder in the city is co-convened by Burkhalter who will open it with a brief introduction to her work and project and moderate the conversations.

Marion Ebert is the initiator and director of Kinderbaustelle Biel (Kids’ Construction Site Biel), a patch of waste land at the fringes of a large construction site at the center of Biel’s settlement area. Since 2015 and between the spring and fall holidays the site is explored and cultivated according to the imagination and desires of the kids alone. Fantasy, design, technological skills, team work, self-determination, exercise, the experience of nature, and sociability are fostered by this free and participatory vacation and leisure facility. The project’s second season is about to commence this year in Biel. Marion Ebert graduated in art pedagogy, and is trained as a carpenter. She initiated and directed Kinderbaustelle Aarau (2008), a model to the Biel project. Ebert realized numerous carpenter works and designs such as Bibliothek im Zirkuswagen (Circus Cabin Library), Aarau 2008) and many other stage and play designs and constructions. For this symposium she prepared a presentation of Kinderbaustelle Biel including broader questions of city scape revival by way od mobile playgrounds. www.kinderbaustelle.ch

Axel Fischer is the Head of Maintenance at Grün Stadt Zürich (Green City Zurich), the department of the City of Zurich (section public works and sanitation) which fosters, designs, and manages all grassland within the city. Together with about 250 employees Fischer takes care of 750 hectare parkland, 22’000 street trees, creeks and water’s edges, 20 cemeteries with 59'000 grave sites, some 30 sports grounds with 100 sports fields, public baths – and 150 public playgrounds plus 350 more playgrounds in schools, kindergartens, and municipal nurseries. A near-natural and environmental friendly cultivation of those sites is the key aspect of this work that is largely aligned with the principle of sustainability and the nurturing of biodiversity. Axel Fischer is a trained landscape gardener, horticultural engineer, and graduated business manager. Before his employment at Grün Stadt Zürich he was the Head of Maintenance at Friedhof Hörnli in Basel (until 2000), and the Head of Sanitation of Basel City (until 2008). Fischer will present his rich work experience and opinion on the current situation of playgrounds in Zurich to this symposium. www.stadt-zuerich.ch/gsz

Tim Gill is one of the UK’s leading thinkers on childhood, and an effective advocate for positive change in children’s everyday lives. For over 20 years his writing, research, consultancy projects and other work has focused on the changing nature of childhood, children’s play and free time, and their evolving relationships with the people and places around them. He is the author of No Fear: Growing up in a risk averse society (2007), co-author of an authoritative UK guide to managing risk in play, and a Built Environment Expert for the Design Council. Gill is in demand worldwide as a public speaker, and appears regularly on TV and radio. He was Director of the Children’s Play Council (now Play England) from 1997 to 2004. In his keynote lecture for this symposium, Gill will explore the history and evolution of playgrounds, and their links with notions of childhood and children's place in – and claims on – the communities where they live. www.rethinkingchildhood.com

Sven Goebel is the Divisional Manager of the department «Free Space and Participation» that was founded at Pro Juventute in 2015, and that contains the campaign „Free Space for Children“, a traditional concern of the foundation since their engagement with adventure playgrounds and playground advise in the 1950s in Switzerland. For many years Goebel is privately and professionally involved in matters of health and mobility. Petra Stocker is the Project Coordinator of the segment «Play and Social Space» at Pro Juventute where she realizes play space and play culture projects. For eight years she is active in the open children’s work, with a focus on the creation and design of play space. The foundation Pro Juventute was founded in 1912 to support kids, teens, and families in their daily lives, and to provide swift and useful help in times of strain. Pro Juventute is also active in the implementation of childrens’ rights in Switzerland, and seeks to improve the general conditions for families in this country. The foundation is politically, ideologically, and confessionally independent, and is funded mainly by donations from the population and from businesses. For this symposium, Sven Goebel and Petra Stocker will take the audience on a journey into personal past-times of play, and so create entryways into today’s situation of free space for children in Switzerland, as well as the meaning of child’s play for a healthy development of children. www.projuventute.ch

Karl Guyer is part of the management of the “Gemeinschaftszentrum” (short: GZ, English: community center) in the Zurich neighborhood Wipkingen where he leads the educational and cultural activities. One of the first of 17 organizations run by the Zurich Community Center Foundation, GZ Wipkingen is a social-cultural facility for local Zurich residents. Like all GZs it is commissioned by the City of Zurich to invest in culture and education in order to create space for residential exchange and encounter. It seeks to foster social participation, equal opportunities and the integration of all groups of the neighborhood’s population. It also initiates developmental projects in the neighborhood and provides infrastructure for self-determined use. Karl Guyer is trained as an elementary school teacher, parental and adult educator and lecturer at the ZHAW school for social work. Engaged in socio-cultural work for over 25 years he acquired substantial knowledge of playgrounds as places of leisure, recreation, encounter, integration and cultural activities. This symposium offers a brief lunch excursion to GZ Wipkingen where Karl Guyer will introduce the history and significance of “the world’s first Robinson playground”, an adaption of earlier adventure playgrounds that served as the foundation for the community center some 60 years ago. Ever since the playgrounds in the area have been an integral part of the GZ’s identity, and also its contemporary robe-playground „Märliwald“ is attended by an impressive 80'000 people per year. www.gz-zh.ch/wipkingen

Alberto Nanclares da Veiga and Manuel Polanco Pérez-Llantada​ are members of the Madrid based artist collective Basurama (with offices in Brazil and Bilbao) which is dedicated to research, cultural and environmental creation and production. Their practice revolves around the reflection of trash, waste and reuse in all its formats and possible meanings. The collective was born in the Madrid School of Architecture (ETSAM) in the year 2001 and, since then, it has evolved and acquired new shapes. Their aim is to study those phenomena inherent in the massive production of real and virtual trash in the consumer society, providing different points of view on the subject that might generate new thoughts and attitudes. Besides the visual arts in all its formats Basurama compiles all kind of workshops, talks, concerts, projections and publications - more than 100 projects in the four continents. www.basurama.org

Helle Nebelong is a Danish Landscape Architect and Master of Public Management with a special focus on spaces for children and how to adapt and improve the city for everyday life; spaces where people’s well-being and creativity develop through a spontaneous perception of nature, culture and architecture. A key pioneer of the natural playground movement, which advocates for using local materials and materials found on site, Nebelong is internationally recognized for her special philosophy, such as presented in numerous keynote lectures and publications, and play space designs, such as The Garden of Senses and the Nature Playground in Copenhagen. For more than ten years Nebelong was employed by the City of Copenhagen (1994-2006), leading the Technical and Environmental Administration’s strategy "City for All - Improving the accessibility of the Urban Spaces in Copenhagen”. Between 2004-14 she was president of the Danish Playground Association. Since 2007 she is a member of the Nature Action Collaborative for Children Leadership Team representing Europe in the design and planning field. www.hellenebelong.com

Since 2010 Samuel Roth is the Director of open children and youth work in the community of Wattwil, and holds a BA in social work in St. Gallen (2011). Together with a group of fellows engaged in issues of child-care and leisure activity he initiated “Offene Kinderbaustelle Wattwil” (open kids’ construction site Wattwil) as a pilot project in 2012. Due to the success of its pilot phase the Wattwil youth commission decided to sustainably continue the project as a segment of the community’s open children and youth work. Right at the town’s center and each year between May and September, the Offene Kinderbaustelle Wattwil provides space for children to build freely and in all kinds of directions according to their own ideas and wishes, their knowledge and capacities. In so doing, they learn to express themselves in several crafts and creative fields outdoors; alone or in groups they integrate their given environments into their activities, and thereby improve their tactile, social, and physical skills. The project is designed to serve the highest level of participation for parents and kids and is thus free of charge. Samuel Roth is further involved in the association TEO – Netzwerk Jugendarbeit (youth work network) which seeks to foster the Toggenburg youth’s proactive use of leisure time by offering sustainable programs catered to them. www.kinderbaustelle-wattwil.blogspot.ch, www.netzwerk-jugendarbeit.ch

Sreejata Roy’s present practice involves working with young people for the past several years (since 2007) through different forms of art practices connecting various ideas of public spaces in the low-income colonies in New Delhi. Roy has graduated from the Coventry School of Art and Design. She has been awarded with the Public Art grant from FICA and completed reshaping a community park in one of those low-income colonies. The Park Project from India has been selected among the finals for the International Public Art Award 2015. Roy has also worked exploring community and public spaces in other parts of India and the UK. Presently, she is working on a year-long project in Khirkee, an urban village exploring the idea of women in public space that is supported the by Khoj International Artist Association, New Delhi. She is simultaneously engaging with homeless women exploring the idea of women in public space at the shelter in Jama Masjid, a project supported by Art Reach, New Delhi. Roy is also awarded with other prestigious scholarships in India and abroad and has participated in many national and international exhibitions, residencies, and workshops.

From 1954–1958 Xavier de la Salle served as cabin boy and sailor in the mercantile navy. He served in the French marines for an additional three years. He began his studies in political science and economics at the University of Bordeaux in 1961. At the same time, the first exhibitions of his drawings and watercolor works took place. In 1964 he moved to Paris and worked as press assistant for the European Community (EC), assisted artists such as the Baschet brothers and Joël Stein alongside his artistic practice as a painter and sculptor. Together with David Roditi and Simon Koszel he founded Group Ludic in 1967. Between 1975 and 1979 he continued Group Ludic on his own. During that time he wrote his thesis on the design of urban public space at the University Paris-8 Vincennes. From 1973 to 2001 he was professor of design, environment, and urbanism at the École d’Architecture de Paris-La Défense. Between 1979 and 1985 he carried out interventions in problematic areas in the Parisian suburbs. He published Espace de jeux, espace de vie (Bordas, Paris) in 1982. He then executed mandates in spatial planning and regional economy until 2000 in parallel with his artistic practice. In 2000 he moved to the southeast of France where he mainly works as a painter and sculptor and has been active as a community politician.

February
May

15 Su

Free and daring! Play(grounds) as a place of identification, community, and disorder in the city

22.04.2016, 09:30-18:00
Free and daring! Play(grounds) as a place of identification, community, and disorder in the city
Frei und frech! Spiel(platz) als Ort der Identifikation, Gemeinschaft und Störung in der Stadt
50 CHF / 30 CHF Mitglieder / 15 CHF ermässigt (inkl. Ausstellungseintritt), abschliessende Podiumsdiskussion frei
Englisch
Week

Das ganztägige Symposium, welches wir anlässlich unserer aktuellen Ausstellung The Playground Project, veranstalten, vereint renommierte Gestalter/innen und Forscher/innen sowie Planer/innen und Aktivist/innen um die Bedingungen für ein autonomes, freies und wildes Spiel in der Stadt zu diskutieren und zu definieren. Was braucht es, dass wir Orte schaffen können, die Kinder herausfordern? Und welchen Beitrag muss die Gemeinschaft, die Politik, die Behörden leisten?
Das Symposium präsentiert neue Einsichten, Projekte und Erfahrungen für die Planung von kindergerechten Räumen im heutigen Umfeld. Erfahrungen aus verschiedenen Ländern wie England, Dänemark, Indien u.a. können uns dabei wertvolle Hinweise geben. Gute Spielräume brauchen Hardware und Software. Deshalb versteht sich das Symposium auch als Marktplatz, der über neue Spielinitiativen im öffentlichen Raum informiert und Kontakte zwischen Akteuren mit einem grossen Schluss-Podium ermöglicht.

Mit Gabriela Burkhalter (Ausstellungskuratorin, Basel), Marion Ebert (Aktivistin, Kinderbaustelle Biel, Biel-Bienne), Tim Gill (Aktivist, Autor, Wissenschaftler, London), Axel Fischer (Leiter Geschäftsbereich Unterhalt Grün Stadt Zürich), Sven Goebel (Bereichsleiter Freiraum und Partizipation, Pro Juventute, Zürich) & Petra Stocker (Projektkoordinatorin Spiel- und Sozialraum, Pro Juventute, Zürich), Karl Guyer (Leiter GZ Wipkingen, Zürich), Alberto Nanclares da Veiga & Manuel Polanco Pérez-Llantada (basurama, Künstlerkollektiv, Madrid), Helle Nebelong (Landschaftsarchitektin, Kopenhagen), Samuel Roth (Leiter Offene Jugenarbeit Wattwil und Projektleiter Kinderbaustelle Wattwil), Sreejata Roy (Künstlerin / Pädagogin, Delhi), Xavier de la Salle (Group Ludic, Künstlerkollektiv, Frankreich) und abschliessendem Apero unterstützt von Pro Juventute

Anmeldung: Julia Moritz, 

Programm   

09:30 Einlass, Willkommenskaffee
10:00 Daniel Baumann, Direktor Kunsthalle Zürich, Begrüssung
10:15 Gabriela Burkhalter, Einführung: The Playground Project
10:30 Tim Gill, Eröffnungsvortrag: If playgrounds are the answer, then what is the question? (Engl.)
11:15 Xavier de la Salle, Vortrag: Group Ludic – Was können wir heute davon lernen? (Frz.)
11:45 Axel Fischer, Präsentation: Neue Bedürfnisse und Tendenzen in der Spielplatzplanung in Zürich (Dt.)
12:15 Exkursion/Zmittag: Spielplatz GZ Wipkingen, mit Karl Guyer, Einführung (Dt.)
13:30 Helle Nebelong, Vortrag: Children’s Landscapes – Perspectives from Denmark (Engl.)
14:15 Marion Ebert, Präsentation: Kinderbaustelle Biel (Dt.)
14:45 Sven Goebel & Petra Stocker, Präsentation: Pro Juventute (Dt.)
15:30 Kaffeepause
15:45 Alberto Nanclares da Veiga & Manuel Polanco Pérez-Llantada, Präsentation: Basurama (Engl.)
16:15 Sreejata Roy, Präsentation: Dialogue (Engl.)
16:45 Podiumsdiskussion aller Beteiligten sowie mit Samuel Roth (Projektleiter der Kinderbaustelle Wattwil), moderiert von Daniel Baumann & Gabriela Burkhalter
17:45 Apéro, gesponsert von Pro Juventute

Gabriela Burkhalter ist Politologin und Raumplanerin, sie lebt in Basel. Seit 2008 baut sie ein umfassendes Online-Archiv zur Geschichte des Spielatzes auf: www.architekturfuerkinder.ch. Sie kuratierte The Playground Project im Rahmen der 2013 Carnegie International, Carnegie Museum of Art, Pittsburgh und 2014 die Ausstellung Architektur für Kinder – Zürichs Spielplätze für gta exhibitions, ETH Zürich. 2014 übertrug ihr Group Ludic ihr Archiv zur Bewahrung und Aufarbeitung. 2015 erhielt das Projekt Group Ludic’s Visionary Urban Landscapes, 1968-1979 ein Stipendium der Graham Foundation Chicago. Die von Burkhalter kuratierte umfassende Präsentation des Playground Project in der Kunsthalle Zürich zeigt eine Vielzahl von Initiativen, Pionierprojekten und Abenteuern so wie drei Spielplätze zum toben, verstecken und klettern in den Ausstellungsräumen. Burkhalter ist auch Herausgeberin des umfassenden Katalogs zur Ausstellung. Das Symposium Frei und frech! Spiel(platz) als Ort der Identifikation, Gemeinschaft und Störung in der Stadt wird von ihr ko-konzipiert und -moderiert und mit einer Einführung eröffnet.

Marion Ebert ist Initiantin und Projektleiterin der Kinderbaustelle Biel. Von den Frühlingsferien bis zu den Herbstferien wird ein Stück Brachland am Rande einer Grossbaustelle im Herzen des Siedlungsraumes der Stadt Biel von Kindern frei nach ihren Vorstellungen und Wünschen erforscht und bebaut. Fantasie, Gestaltung, Technikverständnis, Teamarbeit, Selbstbestimmung, Bewegung, Naturerlebenis und Elternaustausch werden in diesem kostenlosen, partizipativen Ferien- und Freizeitangebot gezielt gefördert. Das Projekt geht dieses Jahr in Biel in die zweite Saison. Marion Ebert ist diplomierte Kunstpädagogin und ausgebildete Schreinerin. Sie initiierte und leitete bereits die Kinderbaustelle Aarau (2008), die Modell für das Bieler Projekt steht. Ebert verwirklichte ausserdem zahlreiche Gestaltungs- und Schreinerarbeiten (z.B. Bibliothek im Zirkuswagen, Aarau 2008) sowie Bühnenbauprojekte und Spielgerätebau. Für dieses Symposium bereitet sie eine Präsentation der Kinderbaustelle Biel vor, die auch breiteren Fragen nach Stadtbelebung durch mobile Spielplätze nachgeht. www.kinderbaustelle.ch

Axel Fischer ist Leiter des Geschäftsbereichs Unterhalt von Grün Stadt Zürich, der Abteilung der Stadt Zürich (Departement Tiefbau und Entsorgung), die den öffentlichen Grünraum der Stadt pflegt, gestaltet und bewirtschaftet. Mit rund 250 Mitarbeitenden betreut Fischer 750 Hektar Parks und Anlagen, 22’000 Strassenbäume, Bachläufe und -ufer, 20 Friedhöfe mit 59'000 Gräbern, rund 30 Sportanlagen mit über 100 Sportfeldern, Badeanlagen – und 150 öffentliche Spielplätze sowie 350 Spielplätze in Schulen, Kindergärten und städtischen Horten. Die naturnahe und umweltschonende Bewirtschaftung ist ein wichtiger Aspekt dieser Arbeit, die sich nach dem Prinzip der Nachhaltigkeit und dem Erhalt und die Förderung der Artenvielfalt richtet. Axel Fischer ist ausgebildeter Landschaftsgärtner, Gartenbautechniker und diplomierter Betriebswirtschafter. Vor seiner Tätigkeit für Grün Stadt Zürich war er bis 2000 Leiter des Unterhalt für den Friedhof Hörnli in Basel und bis 2008 Leiter der Abfallentsorgung der Stadt Basel. Die abschliessende Podiumsdiskussion dieser Konferenz wird er mit seiner umfassenden Arbeitserfahrung und Einschätzung der aktuellen Situation des Spielplatzes in Zürich bereichern. www.stadt-zuerich.ch/gsz

Tim Gill ist einer der führenden Fachleute für Kindheitsfragen in Grossbritannien und einflussreicher Verfechter für den positiven Wandel im Alltag von Kindern. Seit über 20 Jahren konzentrieren sich seine Forschung, seine Texte, seine Beratertätigkeit und seine weitere Arbeit auf die Veränderungen in den Vorstellungen von Kindheit, Kinderspiel und Freizeit sowie die sich entwickelnden Beziehungen dessen zu den umgebenden Menschen und Orten. Gill verfasste No Fear: Growing up in a risk averse society (2007) und ist Ko-Autor eines wichtigen britischen Ratgebers zum Umgang mit Risiko im Spiel. Er ist weiterhin im Expertenkomitee für gebaute Umwelt des britischen Design Council und hielt weltweit zahlreiche Vorträge sowie TV- und Radioansprachen zum Thema. Zwischen 1997 und 2004 war er Direktor des Children’s Play Council (heute: Play England). Dieses Symposium wird er mit einem Einführungsvortrag zur Geschichte und Entwicklung von Spielplätzen eröffnen und das Verhältnis von Kindheitsvorstellungen zu den Orten für Kinder (und den Ansprüchen an diese) in den Gemeinschaften, in denen sie leben, darstellen. www.rethinkingchildhood.com

Sven Goebel leitet bei Pro Juventute den 2015 geschaffenen Bereich „Freiraum & Partizipation“, innerhalb dessen die Stiftung mit der aktuellen Mobilisierungs- und Sensibilisierungskampagne „Freiräume für Kinder“ an eine langjährige Tradition anknüpft, die in den 1950er Jahren mit den Robinson-Spielplätzen und der Spielplatzberatung in der Schweiz begann. Goebel beschäftigt sich seit vielen Jahren privat und beruflich intensiv mit den Themen Gesundheit und Bewegung. Petra Stocker koordiniert im Bereich „Freiraum & Partizipation“ Spielraum- und Spielkulturprojekte. Sie ist seit acht Jahren in der offenen Arbeit mit Kindern tätig – ihre Schwerpunkte liegen auf Projekten in den Themenbereichen Räume bespielen und Spielräume gestalten. Die 1912 gegründete Stiftung Pro Juventute setzt sich dafür ein, dass Kinder, Jugendliche und ihre Familien in ihrem Alltag unterstützt und gefördert werden und in der Not rasch kompetente Unterstützung erhalten. Auch macht sich Pro Juventute für die Umsetzung der Kinderrechte in der Schweiz stark und engagiert sich für verbesserte Rahmenbedingungen für Familien in unserem Land. Die Stiftung ist politisch, ideologisch und konfessionell unabhängig und finanziert sich massgeblich durch Spendengelder aus der Bevölkerung und Zuwendungen aus der Wirtschaft. Im Rahmen dieses Symposiums werden sich Sven Goebel und Petra Stocker gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmer/innen auf eine Reise in die persönliche Spielvergangenheit begeben um eine Brücke zu schlagen zur heutigen Situation der Freiräume für Kinder in der Schweiz und anschliessend die Bedeutung des kindlichen Spiels für eine gesunde Entwicklung von Kindern zu erörtern. www.projuventute.ch

Karl Guyer ist in der Betriebsleitung des Gemeinschaftszentrums (GZ) Wipkingen zuständig für dessen Bildungs- und Kulturbereich. Das GZ Wipkingen ist, als einer der 17 Betriebe der Stiftung Zürcher Gemeinschaftszentren, eine soziokulturelle Einrichtung für die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner von Zürich. Die GZ investieren im Auftrag der Stadt in Kultur und Bildung und schaffen Freiräume für Austausch und Begegnung. Sie fördern die gesellschaftliche Teilhabe, Chancengleichheit und Integration aller Bevölkerungsgruppen, initiieren Entwicklungsprojekte in den Quartieren und stellen Infrastruktur zur selbstständigen Nutzung zur Verfügung. Karl Guyer ist ausgebildeter Primarlehrer, Eltern- und Erwachsenenbildner sowie Aussendozent an der ZHAW Soziale Arbeit. Seit 25 Jahren in der Soziokultur tätig, kennt er die Bedeutung der Spielplätze als Orte für Musse, Erholung, Begegnung, Vernetzung und für soziokulturelle Aktivitäten. Anlässlich dieses Symposiums wird Guyer im Rahmen einer kleinen Mittagsexkursion mit Picknick in die Bedeutung des „ersten Robinsonspielplatz der Welt“ einführen, aus dem das GZ Wipkingen einst hervorgegangen war: Die Spielplätze auf dem Areal haben in seiner gut sechzigjährigen Geschichte immer eine grosse Rolle gespielt und auch der gegenwärtige Seilspielplatz „Märliwald“ wird jährlich von rund 80'000 Personen besucht. www.gz-zh.ch/wipkingen

Alberto Nanclares da Veiga und Manuel Polanco Pérez-Llantada sind Mitglieder der Künstlergruppe Basurama, die ihren Hauptsitz in Madrid und Nebenbüros in Brasilien und Bilbao hat. Ihre Arbeit umfasst künstlerische Forschung sowie kulturelle umweltpolitische Produktion. Dabei konzentriert sich die Praxis von Basurama auf Überlegungen zu Abfall, Verschwendung und Wiederverwertung in all ihren Formen und möglichen Bedeutungen. Das Kollektiv gründete sich im Jahr 2001 an der Madrider Architekturhochschule (ETSAM) und hat sich seitdem in neuen Formationen weiterentwickelt. Ihr Anliegen ist es, die Phänomene der massiven Produktion von realem und virtuellem Müll in Konsumgesellschaften zu untersuchen, um unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf diejenigen Subjekte zu bieten, die neue Ideen und Einstellungen entwickeln können. Neben den bildenden Künsten in allen Formaten entwickelt Basurama vielfältige Workshops, Gesprächsrunden, Konzerte, Screenings und Publikationen – in bereits über 100 Projekten auf vier Kontinenten. www.basurama.org

Helle Nebelong ist eine Dänische Landschaftsarchitektin und hat einen Master in öffentlicher Verwaltung mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Räumen für Kinder und wie städtischer Raum dem täglichen Leben besser angepasst werden kann – Orte, an denen das Wohlbefinden und die Kreativität von Menschen durch die spontane Begegnung von Natur, Kultur und Architektur zu Stande kommt. Nebelong zählt zu den Pionierinnen der Naturspielplatzbewegung, die sich für die Verwendung von lokalen Materialien vor Ort einsetzt. Sie ist international bekannt für ihre spezielle Philosophie, wie sie sie in zahlreichen Vorträgen, Publikationen und Spielraumentwürfen (z.B. The Garden of Senses und Nature Playground in Kopenhagen) vertritt. Für über 10 Jahre war Nebelong Leiterin der technischen und administrativen Initiative City for All – Improving the Accessibility of the Urban Spaces in Copenhagen der Stadt Kopenhagen (1994-2006). Zwischen 2004 und 2014 war sie Präsidentin der Dänischen Spielplatz Vereinigung. Seit 2007 ist sie Mitglied des Nature Action Collaborative for Children Leadership Team, welches Europa in Fragen des Designs und der der Planung vertritt. Im Rahmen dieses Symposiums wird sie über die Bewältigung von Herausforderungen und über Potenziale im Bereich natürlicher städtischer Spielräume für Kinder und Familien sprechen und nachhaltige Lösungsmöglichkeiten diskutieren. www.hellenebelong.com

Samuel Roth übernahm im Sommer 2010 die Leitung der Offenen Kinder- und Jugendarbeit in Wattwil und schloss 2011 das Bachelorstudium in Sozialer Arbeit an der Fachhochschule St. Gallen ab. Zusammen mit weiteren Engagierten rund um das Thema Kinderbetreuung und Freizeitgestaltung initiierte er im Jahr 2012 die Offene Kinderbaustelle Wattwil als Pilotprojekt. Diese Pilotphase verlief so erfolgreich, dass die Jugendkommission Wattwil beschloss das Projekt unter der Leitung der Offenen Kinder- und Jugendarbeit weiterzuführen und nachhaltig zu gestalten. Die Offene Kinderbaustelle Wattwil schafft im Zentrum von Wattwil, jeweils von Mai bis September einen Platz, auf dem Kinder frei nach ihren Ideen und Wünschen, ihrem Wissen und Können, hoch und tief bauen dürfen. Dabei lernen Kinder sich im Freien handwerklich und kreativ zu betätigen, alleine oder gemeinsam, beziehen ihre Umwelt in ihr Handeln mit ein und fördern dabei ihre taktilen- sozialen- und motorischen Fähigkeiten. Das Angebot soll für Eltern und Kinder möglichst partizipativ und niederschwellig gestaltet sein und ist daher kostenlos. Weiter engagiert sich Samuel Roth im Verein TEO ­– Netzwerk Jugendarbeit, welcher sich für eine aktive Freizeitgestaltung nachhaltige Angebote für Jugendliche im Toggenburg einsetzt. www.kinderbaustelle-wattwil.blogspot.ch, www.netzwerk-jugendarbeit.ch

Sreejata Roys künstlerische Praxis beinhaltet seit etwa 2007 die Arbeit mit jungen Menschen. Dabei bedient sie sich unterschiedlicher künstlerischer Formen um die verschiedenen Vorstellungen von öffentlichem Raum in den einkommensschwachen Siedlungen in Neu Delhi zu verbinden. Roy hat an der Coventry School of Art and Design graduiert. Ihre Arbeit wurde mit dem Public Art Grant des FICA ausgezeichnet; so konnte sie die Umgestaltung eines Nachbarschaftsparks in einer der einkommensschwachen Siedlungen Neu Delhis fertig stellen. Das Parkprojekt wurde ausserdem für die finalen Nominierungen des International Public Art Award 2015 gelistet. Roy realisierte auch national in Indien sowie in den UK Projekte mit Gemeinschaften und öffentlichen Räumen. Zur Zeit arbeitet sie an einem jahrlangen Projekt in Khirkee, einem urbanen Dorf, in dem sie Vorstellungen von Frauen im öffentlichen Raum untersucht. Diese Fragen beschäftigen sie auch in einer Initiative mit obdachlosen Frauen in einer Zufluchtsstelle in Jama Masjid, unterstützt von Art Reach, New Delhi. Roy erhielt weitere renommierte Auszeichnungen und Stipendien in Indien und international und nahm an zahlreichen Ausstellungen, Residencies und Workshops teil.

Xavier de la Salle diente von 1954 bis 1958 als Schiffsjunge und Matrose in der Handelsmarine und drei weitere Jahre im Militärdienst der französischen Marine. Nach dem Baccalauréat begann er das Studium der Politik- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Université de Bordeaux. Er stellte erste Zeichnungen und Aquarelle aus. Nach Abschluss des Studiums zog er 1964 nach Paris; er arbeitete neben seiner Tätigkeit als Maler und Bildhauer als Presseassistent bei der Europäischen Gemeinschaft (EG) und assistierte Künstlern wie den Brüdern Baschet oder Joël Stein. 1967 gründete er zusammen mit David Roditi und Simon Koszel Group Ludic. 1975 bis 1979 führte er Group Ludic alleine weiter. Gleichzeitig schrieb er seine Dissertation zur Planung der städtischen öffentlichen Räume an der Universität Paris 8 Vincennes. Von 1973 bis 2001 war er Professor für Design, Umwelt und Urbanismus an der École d’Architecture de Paris La Défense. Von 1979 bis 1985 führte er Interventionen in Problemquartieren in den Pariser Banlieues durch und veröffentlichte in dieser Zeit Espace de jeux, espace de vie (Bordas, Paris 1982). Bis 2000 bearbeitete er Aufträge in Raumplanung und Regionalwirtschaft und widmete sich seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit. Nach der Übersiedelung in den Südosten Frankreichs ist er hauptsächlich als Maler und Bildhauer tätig und ist als Kommunalpolitiker aktiv.

 

 

Februar
Mai

15 So