General Idea: Found Formats

11.11.2006-07.01.2007
General Idea: Found Formats
Mit der Wanderausstellung GENERAL IDEA EDITIONS 1967-1995 kuratiert von Barbara Fischer
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

“We entered history, seized hold of images, emptied them of meaning, and reduced them to shells. Then we filled the shells with glamour, the creamy puff-pastry innocence of vacuity, the awful silence of shark fins cutting through oily water.” (General Idea)

Kunsthalle Zurich presents the oeuvre of Canadian artists group General Idea (AA Bronson, Felix Partz†, Jorge Zontal†) for the first time since their 1992 show Fin de Siecle in Stuttgart’s Kunstverein and their last exhibition in Switzerland, in 1984 at Kunsthalle Basel in the biggest comprehensive overview of their work to be assembled and seen in Europe to date.

In addition to key installations and central pieces by the artists group General Idea: Found Formats covers the travelling exhibition GENERAL IDEA EDITIONS 1967-1995 as compiled by Barbara Fischer and AA Bronson and bringing together over 300 works from the fields of editions and multiples. Following its successful tour of ten venues in Canada, the United States and Germany, the retrospective on the editions now forms the chronological backbone of the show at Kunsthalle Zurich, which is being organised in close cooperation with AA Bronson.

General Idea was founded in Toronto in 1969 by AA Bronson, Felix Partz and Jorge Zontal. According to AA Bronson, General Idea arose “in the aftermath of the Paris student unrest, from the remainders of the hippie communes, the underground newspapers, radical teaching, happenings, love-ins, Marshall McLuhan and the Situationist International. We believed in a free economy, in the abolition of copyright and in horizontal grass-roots structures that pre-empted the architecture of the Internet.” Felix Partz and Jorge Zontal both died of AIDS in 1994.

With its theoretically precise interventions and humorous and formally accurate use of found formats from the context of art as well as the media and consumer society as of the early 1970s, the group attracted international attention.

General Idea’s oeuvre features a broad range of media, including installations, sculptures, performances, photographs, pieces on canvas, videos and drawings as well as – from the very outset and in keeping with the conceptual art-political thrust of their work - integrally and of equal stance the design and production of magazines, unlimited editions, mail art, multiples, editions, postcards, posters, and even wallpaper, T-shirts, balloons, coats of arms and tableware.

The group’s subversive appropriations of works and formats from high and popular culture and their radical treatment of the idea of the collective, with autonomous distribution forms that ran against the customary modes of dissemination and marketing for their own work and that of other artists were truly trailblazing. They pre-empted in exemplary fashion issues from art production in the 1980s, 1990s and of the current generation of artists. In 1974, the collective founded the Art Metropole store in Toronto, which to this day produces and distributes editions and books by artists.

General Idea’s critical enquiry into the relationship of art and the media, art and the market, and art and AIDS are pioneering for aesthetic debate today and are highly topical precisely for the latest generation of artists. This relates to their formulations as regards questions of identity and copyright, their praxis of collective and autonomous modes of working and living, and the conceptual foundations for their works, the strategies of “viral infections” and parasitical appropriations of media and formats from art history and popular culture – themes that have shaped precisely the very young generation, whose perception and experience of reality and of tackling issues of identity and original, of approaching and using “images”has been decisively influenced by the Internet.

General Idea’s artistic interventions in the 1980s and 1990s, which amounted to a social debate on AIDS in numerous works, media and actions in public space, were exemplary for a form of political activism that succeeds in formal and artistic terms.

General Idea: Found Formats extends the works of editions of multiples found in all areas of the group’s oeuvre from 1967 through 1995 to include central pieces and installations from their 30 years of creative output. The FILE Megazine launched in 1972 which was for a while forbidden owing to its intelligent transformation of the style and content of LIFE-Magazine will be on view in its entirety; the renowned AIDS-Wallpaper (a transformation of Gary Indiana’s piece LOVE) will also be on view as will be the Triniton wallpaper, reminiscent of a TV test image, as the background for paintings and sculptures that the artists “found” in the formats of art and media history: for example the complete set of self-portraits by the artists group – which ever since 1982 have appeared in constantly new versions in the form of poodles, babies, doctors and in the Fin de Siecle installation (1992) as their final doubles as seals in an icy setting. Borrowing from Warhol’s Silver Clouds the installation with balloons Magic Bullet (1991) and Magic Carpet (1992), the latter featuring fluorescent lamps and reformulating Dan Flavin as a carpet of light are equally on view. Likewise showcased are the Miss General Idea Pavillon, the Placebo pieces from the 1990s that highlight AIDS medication, the Yen Boutique (1991) and the 10-part series of images on Mondo Cane Kama Sutra (1984).

Supplemented by a selection of films by General Idea the exhibition at Kunsthalle Zurich thus offers an insight into the creative oeuvre and the crucial enquiry into the status of art, the original, glamour, politics and art marketing systems.

Kunsthalle Zürich would like to thank: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung

 

Integrated into the GENERAL IDEA: FOUND FORMATS exhibition is the show GENERAL IDEA EDITIONS 1967-1995, curated by Barbara Fischer, Blackwood Gallery, University of Toronto at Mississauga, in cooperation with AA Bronson.

GENERAL IDEA EDITIONS has been strongly supported by the Canada Council, the Ontario Arts Council, the Andy Warhol Foundation, Foreign Affairs Canada and the Canadian Embassy, Berlin.

General Idea: Found Formats

11.11.2006-07.01.2007
General Idea: Found Formats
Mit der Wanderausstellung GENERAL IDEA EDITIONS 1967-1995 kuratiert von Barbara Fischer
Deutsch
Week

"Wir zogen in die Geschichte ein, besetzten Bilder, entleerten sie ihrer Bedeutung und reduzierten sie zu Hülsen. Dann füllten wir diese Hülsen mit Glamour, der sahnigen Windbeutelunschuld von Hohlköpfen, der schlimmen Stille von Haifischflossen, die ölige Gewässer durchschneiden.“ (General Idea)

Die Kunsthalle Zürich stellt das Werk der kanadischen Künstlergruppe General Idea (AA Bronson, Felix Partz†, Jorge Zontal†) nach der Ausstellung Fin de Siecle im Stuttgarter Kunstverein 1992 und ihrer letzten Ausstellung in der Schweiz 1984 in der Kunsthalle Basel zum ersten Mal wieder in einer umfassenden, in Europa bis anhin einmaligen Übersichtsaus-stellung vor.

General Idea: Found Formats umfasst neben wichtigen Installationen und zentralen Werken der Künstlergruppe die von Barbara Fischer und AA Bronson zusammengestellte Wanderausstellung GENERAL IDEA EDITIONS 1967-1995 mit über 300 Arbeiten im Bereich von Editionen und Multiples. Nach erfolgreicher Tournee über zehn Stationen in Kanada, den USA und Deutschland bildet die Retrospektive der Editionen das chronologische Rückgrat der Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Zürich, die in enger Zusammenarbeit mit AA Bronson entsteht.

General Idea wurde 1969 von AA Bronson, Felix Partz und Jorge Zontal in Toronto gegründet. Nach AA Bronson entstand General Idea „in den Nachwehen der Pariser Studentenunruhen, aus den Überbleibseln von Hippiekommunen, Untergrundzeitungen, radikaler Pädagogik, Happenings, Love-Ins, Marshall McLuhan und der Situationistischen Internationale. Wir glaubten an eine freie Ökonomie, an die Abschaffung des Urheberrechts und an horizontale, basisdemokratische Strukturen, die die Architektur des Internets vorwegnahmen.“ Felix Partz und Jorge Zontal starben 1994 an den Folgen von AIDS.

Die Gruppe erregte mit theoretisch präzisen Interventionen und ihrem humorvollen wie formal präzisen Umgang mit gefundenen Formaten aus dem Kunstkontext und der Medien- und Konsumlandschaft seit den frühen 1970er Jahren internationale Aufmerksamkeit. Ihr medial breit angelegtes Werk umfasst Installationen, Objekte, Performances, Fotografien, Leinwandarbeiten, Videos und Zeichnungen sowie integral und gleichwertig die Gestaltung und Herstellung von Magazinen, unlimitierte Auflagenobjekte, Mail Art, Multiples, Editionen, Postkarten, Poster, aber auch Tapeten, T-Shirts, Luftballons, Wappen und Essgeschirr.

General Ideas subversive Aneignungen von Werken und Formaten der Hoch- und Populärkultur und ihr radikaler Umgang mit der Idee des Kollektivs, mit autonomen und den gängigen Verbreitungs- und Vermarktungsweisen entgegenlaufenden Vertriebsformen ihrer eigenen wie der Arbeit anderer Künstlerinnen und Künstler hat Pioniercharakter und nimmt Themen der Kunstproduktion der 1980er, 1990er und einer aktuellen Künstlergeneration exemplarisch vorweg. 1974 gründete das Kollektiv den Laden Art Metropole in Toronto, der bis heute Editionen und Bücher von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern produziert und vertreibt.

Ihre Auseinandersetzung mit dem Verhältnis von Kunst und Medien, Kunst und Markt oder Kunst und AIDS sind wegweisend für die ästhetische Diskussion der Gegenwart und gerade heute für eine jüngste Künstlergeneration aktuell. Dies betrifft ihre Formulierungen in Bezug auf Fragen der Identität und Urheberschaft, ihre Praxis der kollektiven und autonomen Arbeits- und Lebensformen wie auch die konzeptuellen Grundlagen ihrer Arbeiten, die Strategien der „viralen Infektionen“ und parasitären Aneignungen von kunstgeschichtlichen wie populärkulturellen Medien und Formaten umfassen – Themen, mit denen sich gerade eine ganz junge Generation, deren Wahrnehmung und Erfahrung von Realität und der Umgang mit Identität und Original entscheidend vom Internet geprägt ist, auseinandersetzt.

General Ideas künstlerische Interventionen in den 1980er und 1990er Jahren, die sich einer gesellschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung mit AIDS in zahlreichen Werken, den Medien und Aktionen im öffentlichen Raum annahmen, haben Modellcharakter für einen politischen Aktivismus, der formal und künstlerisch nicht scheitert.

General Idea: Found Formats erweitert die in alle Werkstränge führenden Arbeiten der Editionen und Multiples von 1967 bis 1995 um zentrale Werke und Installationen aus dreissig Jahren ihres Schaffens. Das 1972 lancierte FILE Megazine, das kurzfristig aufgrund seiner intelligenten Umwandlung des Stils und der Inhalte des LIFE-Magazines verboten war, wird vollständig einsehbar sein; die AIDS-Tapete (eine Umwandlung von Gary Indianas LOVE-Arbeit) wird ebenso wie die am Fernsehtestbild orientierte Triniton-Tapete den Hintergrund für Gemälde und Objekte bilden, die die Künstler in den Formaten der Kunst- und Mediengeschichte „gefunden“ haben: so zum Beispiel das vollständige Set der Selbstporträts der Künstlergruppe, die sich seit 1982 als Pudel, Babies, Doktoren in immer wieder neuen Versionen darstellen und in der Installation Fin de Siecle (1990) als Robben in einer Eislandschaft ihre letzten Doubles finden. Die an Warhols Silver Clouds angelehnte Installation mit Luftballonen Magic Bullet (1991) und Magic Carpet (1992), eine Neonleuchteninstallation, die Dan Flavin in einen Lichtteppich umformulierte, sind neben dem Miss General Idea Pavillon, den die AIDS-Medikamentation thematisierenden Placebo-Arbeiten der 1990er Jahre, der Yen-Boutique (1991) und der 10-teiligen Bildserie Mondo Cane Kama Sutra (1984) zu sehen. Ergänzt durch eine Auswahl der Filme von General Idea gibt die  Ausstellung Einblick in ein Schaffen, das zentrale Fragestellungen nach dem Status der Kunst, dem Original, dem Glamour, der Politik und den Vertriebssystemen der Kunst eröffnet hat.

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung

Die in der Ausstellung GENERAL IDEA: FOUND FORMATS integrierte Ausstellung GENERAL IDEA EDITIONS 1967-1995 wurde von Barbara Fischer, Blackwood Gallery, University of Toronto at Mississauga, in Zusammenarbeit mit AA Bronson kuratiert.

GENERAL IDEA EDITIONS wurde wesentlich unterstützt durch Canada Council, Ontario Arts Council, die Andy Warhol Foundation, Foreign Affairs Canada und die Botschaft von Kanada, Berlin.