Keith Tyson

13.04.2002-02.06.2002
Keith Tyson
German
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

These simultaneous exhibitions featuring Keith Tyson (GB, born 1969) and Verne Dawson (USA, born 1961) show material that could not look more different, and yet both artists' work is predicated on the explanatory models and myths underlying our perceptions and thus also our reality.

Keith Tyson's four rooms display a universe of objects, paintings, photographic works and installations that reveal elements of our reality constructions and explanation models in material form, using a wide variety of artistic styles. Philosophy, science, technology, language and description patterns for forms of nature and culture are all ordering structures for reality. Tyson shifts them through a number of transitory formations and an infinite list of possibilities in his laboratory. He realizes works that relate chaos and order, space and time, possibility and actuality to the individual viewer as he or she stands confronted with a landscape showing the simultaneity of micro- and macrocosm.

In Keith Tyson's work we are confronted simultaneously, as an idea and in material form, with the library of Babel: an infinite number of rooms and books that themselves open up rooms and ideas, multi-dimensionally and to infinity, as described by the writer Jorge Luis Borges. This universe contains no two books (or things) that are identical, it is infinite both in its spatial extent and its spatial reduction; it is perhaps only time. But we also find ourselves facing an image of the internet, the nervous system and Marcel Duchamp's conceptual and parascientific strategies, or taking a wild ride along the boundaries of scientific models that are Science Fiction and reality at the same time.

The exhibits in the exhibition are hybrid forms - they generate locations in the form of games, images, machines or mechanisms, from which literature, inventories and phenomena unfold their linguistic, mathematical and physical elements into spatially and temporally infinite spheres. The artist started on the basis of a new group of his works created for his one-man show in the South London Gallery this year, then extended the exhibition to include some very recent and some older works: a "Supercollider", 2001, is based on the idea of the Cern particle accelerator. It brings descriptions and illustrations of existing elements of reality together multi-dimensionally in one place and condenses existing "material" as a network of logical and illogical simultaneities; this appears with the "Think Tank", 2002, a neuronal network of forms and descriptions that interweaves fictions and is expotentiated in its turn by the work "Escape Mechanism", 2002, which uses linguistic lists of events to make time and space collaborate. A wall painting that reveals a view of a cellular structure as a gigantic landscape finds its counterpart in a photograph of banal aluminium foil, simulating the image of the universe existing on the basis of just one element. A closed system ("Tiny Bubble of Complexity", 2001) generates an infinity of colours in reaction to itself; a sculptor equipped with planetary rocks circles lazily around itself. "Night in a Billion", 2001, offers unimaginable masses of possible groupings. The view of stellar constellations consists of twelve individual water-colour sheets that can create sky in more that four hundred million combinations.

"Random Tangler (Recursive Transition Knot)", 2001, also produced endless variations: this work is a game that can be played by any number of players. Like Keith Tyson's "Art Machine" based works, which are already familiar, it delivers a linguistic definition of a work that the players create themselves. In this game, systematics and freedom, chance and intention, authorless definitions and individual interpretation generate all conceivable styles and appearance-forms for works of art simultaneously. His computer-assisted "Art Machine" works related to a potentially infinite information network of internet resources, but the "Random Tanglers" play-box deals with the potentially infinite network of individual subjects and the variations, transformations and varieties that the interplay of "systems" that we would call subjective or objective can create. Two other works in the exhibitions also makes the system called "human being" central when confronted with the landscape of the system called "reality": "Now Capacitor (Mirror)", 2002, and "AMCHII - Angelmaker Part 1 (15 Seconds before the Apocalypse)", 1999, show time and lay it open to experience: the shortest time-span in which the brain can register an image is a hundredth of a second. A digital clock in the mirror of the "Now Capacitor", in which the viewers are reflected as images themselves, counts the average length of a human life of 76.5 years in these units, while the video "Angelmaker" carries the images the individual has imagined to the outside. Thinking thinking and seeing.

Keith Tyson

13.04.2002-02.06.2002
Keith Tyson
Deutsch
Week

Die parallelen Ausstellungen von Keith Tyson (GB, geboren 1969) und Verne Dawson (USA, geboren 1961) zeigen Werke, die unterschiedlicher nicht aussehen könnten, dennoch kreisen die Arbeiten beider Künstler um die Präsenz von Erklärungsmodellen und Mythen, die unserer Wahrnehmung und damit auch unserer Wirklichkeit zugrunde liegen.

Keith Tyson breitet in vier Räumen ein Universum von Objekten, Gemälden, Fotoarbeiten und Installation-en aus, das in einer Vielzahl von künstlerischen Stilen Elemente unserer Wirklichkeitskonstruktionen und Erklärungsmodelle als Materialisierungen aufscheinen lässt. Philosophie, Wissenschaft, Technologie, Sprache, Beschreibungsmuster für Formen der Natur wie der Kultur sind Ordnungsstrukturen für Wirk-lichkeit. Tyson lässt sie in seinem Labor durch transitorische Formationen und unendliche Listen von Möglichkeiten wandern. Er realisiert Arbeiten, die Chaos und Ordnung, Raum und Zeit, Möglichkeit und Tatsächlichkeit in Beziehung setzen zum Individuum, das als Betrachter vor einer Landschaft der Gleich-zeitigkeit von Mikro- und Makrokosmos steht.
Bei den Arbeiten Keith Tysons befindet man sich zugleich vor Idee und Materialisierung der Bibliothek von Babel, der unendlichen Anzahl von Räumen und Büchern, die wiederum mehrdimensional und unend-lich Räume und Ideen ausbreiten, die vom Schriftsteller Jorge Luis Borges beschrieben wurde. Dieses Universum enthält keine zwei identischen Bücher (oder Dinge), es ist unendlich sowohl in seiner räum-lichen Ausbreitung wie in seiner räumlichen Reduktion, also vielleicht nur Zeit. Man befindet sich aber auch vor dem Bild des Internets, des Nervensystems und Marcel Duchamps konzeptuellen und para-wissenschaftlichen Strategien oder aber auf einem wilden Ritt entlang der Grenzen wissenschaftlicher Modelle die Science Fiction und Realität zugleich sind.

Die Exponate der Ausstellung sind hybride Gestalten – sie generieren in Form von Spielen, Bildern, Maschinen oder Mechanismen Orte, von denen sich mit sprachlichen, mathematischen, physikalischen Elementen Literatur, Inventare, Phänomene in räumlich und zeitlich unendliche Sphären ausbreiten. Ausgehend von einer neuen Werkgruppe des Künstlers, die für seine Einzelausstellung in der South London Gallery in diesem Jahr entstanden ist, wurde die Ausstellung erweitert mit neuesten und älteren Arbeiten: Ein “Supercollider”, 2001, der ausgehend von der Idee des Teilchenbeschleunigers des Cern auf einer Bildfläche Beschreibungen und Abbildungen existierender Realitätselemente mehrdimensional überlagert und die existierende “Materie” als Netz logischer und unlogischer Gleichzeitigkeiten verdichtet, tritt auf zusammen mit dem “Think Tank”, 2002, einem neuronalen Netz von Formen und Beschreibungen, das Fiktionales verwebt, der wiederum eine Potenzierung erfährt durch die Arbeit “Escape Mechanism”, 2002, die mit sprachlichen Listen von Ereignissen Zeit und Raum kollabieren lässt. Ein Wandgemälde, das den Blick auf eine zelluläre Struktur als gigantische Landschaft ausbreitet, findet ein Gegenüber in einer Fotografie von banaler Aluminiumfolie, die das Bild des Universums aus nur einem Element existierend simuliert. Ein geschlossenes System (“Tiny Bubble of Complexity”, 2001) generiert in Reaktion auf sich selbst unendlich viele Farben; eine Skulptur, die mit Planetengesteinen bestückt ist, kreist träge um sich selbst. Unvorstellbare Massen von Gruppierungsmöglichkeiten bietet “Night in a Billion”, 2001. Die Ansicht von Sternenkonstellationen besteht aus zwölf individuellen Aquarellblättern, die in mehr als vierhundert Millionen Kombinationen Himmel erzeugen können.

Auch “Random Tangler (Recursive Transition Knot)”, 2001, erzeugt endlose Variationen: Die Arbeit ist ein Spiel, das von beliebig vielen Akteuren gespielt werden kann und das wie die von Keith Tyson bereits bekannten “Art Machine” Arbeiten eine sprachliche Definition für eine Arbeit liefert, die von den Spielern hergestellt werden soll. Systematik und Freiheit, Zufall und Absicht, autorenlose Definition und individu-elle Interpretation generieren mit diesem Spiel die Gleichzeitigkeit von allen denkbaren Stilen und Erscheinungsformen von künstlerischen Werken. Bezogen sich seine computergestützten “Art Machine” Arbeiten auf ein potentiell unendliches Informationsnetz von Internetressourcen, handelt die Spielbox des “Random Tanglers” vom potentiell unendlichen Netz individueller Subjekte und den Variationen, Trans-formationen und Spielarten, die das Zusammenspiel von “Systemen”, die wir subjektiv oder objektiv benennen würden, erzeugen kann. Zwei weitere Arbeiten der Ausstellungen lassen ebenfalls das System “Mensch” vor der Landschaft des Systems “Realität” zentral werden: “Now Capacitor (Mirror)”, 2002, und “AMCHII – Angelmaker Part 1 (15 Seconds before the Apocalypse, 100 Views)” von 1999 zeigen und machen Zeit erfahrbar: Die kürzeste Zeitspanne des Gehirns zur Registrierung eines Bildes ist ein hundertstel einer Sekunde. Eine Digitaluhr im Spiegel des “Now Capacitors”, in dessen Reflexion man selbst zum Bild wird, zählt die durchschnittliche menschliche Lebensdauer von 76.5 Jahren in diesen Sekundenschritten, während das Video “Angelmaker” die imaginierten Bilder des Individuums nach Aussen trägt. Denken denken und sehen.