Lorenza Longhi

12.06.2021-12.09.2021
Lorenza Longhi
Minuet of Manners
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

The history of humanity reflects less our thoughts, utopian visions, purported heroes and heroines and grandiose notions of love, family and sunsets than it does our relationship with objects – much as we would like to believe the inverse. It is a history of the envy objects provoke, the capital bound to them, the wars they bring about and wealth they produce. Objects offer an ersatz and conjure empires, from Apple via Alphabet to Alibaba. Lorenza Longhi belongs to a generation that grew up with a glut of objects, she is of a time in which society was and is understood as the product of a commercial world order. In hardly any field has this been as liberally practiced as the art world of the last thirty years, where objects without any material value are traded for millions. 

These are the contradictions that motivate artist Lorenza Longhi, to which she submits her work and which she equally reveals: being part of a system that serves only itself. This could engender various responses, such as cynicism, depression, anger, withdrawal or distanced passion. It seems that Longhi’s work takes the latter path, at least at the moment. It keeps itself, and others, at a distance, in order to retain some remnant of optimism, without which change is impossible. Some might call this romanticism, others critical or others even opportunistic. Longhi’s work depends upon this, its lives from this and confronts us with it. In so doing it allows art to do what art does best: to retrace our perverted (in the best sense of the word) relationship with objects. If you wish, you can draw conclusions from this. 

The Kunsthalle Zürich exhibition presents the most recent paintings and sculptures from the artist who was born in Italy in 1991 and currently lives in Zürich. 

Lorenza Longhi (b. 1991, Lecco, IT, lives in Zürich) studied at Brera Academy of Fine Arts and the Cantonal Art School in Lausanne. She has exhibited widely throughout Europe, including solo shows at Bungalow, Berlin, Fanta MLN, Milan, La Plage, Paris, and Plymouth Rock, Zürich. She participated in the Kunsthalle Zürich 2020 exhibition Summer of Suspense. In Milan, she was a co-founder of Armada (2014-2018), an artist and art workers-run space. In 2020, she won both the Shizuko Yoshikawa Advanced Award for Young Women Artists and the Swiss Emerging Artist Prize from Société Générale. Her work is currently included in the 2020 Art Quadriennale, FUORI, curated by Sarah Cosulich and Stefano Collicelli Cagol, at Palazzo delle Esposizioni, Rome.

June

05 Sa

Lorenza Longhi

12.06.2021-12.09.2021
Lorenza Longhi
Minuet of Manners
Deutsch
Week

Die Geschichte der Menschheit spiegelt sich nicht einfach – und wie oft gewünscht – in ihren Gedanken, Utopieentwürfen, vermeintlichen Helden und grandiosen Vorstellungen von Liebe, Familie und Sonnenuntergang. Stärker als uns lieb ist, spiegelt sie sich in ihrem Verhältnis zum Objekt, im Neid, den es hervorruft, im Kapital, das es bindet, in den Kriegen, die es hervoruft und im Wohlstand, den es hervorbringt. Das Objekt bietet Ersatz und erschafft ganze Imperien, von Apple über Alphabet bis Alibaba. Lorenza Longhi gehört zu einer Generation, welche im Überfluss der Objekte gross geworden ist, in einer Zeit, welche die Gesellschaft als Produkt einer kommerziellen Weltordnung verstand und versteht. Kaum irgendwo wurde dies so enthemmt durchexerziert wie in der Kunstwelt der letzten dreissig Jahre, wo Gegenstände ohne jeglichen Materialwert für Millionen gehandelt werden.

Das sind die Widersprüche, die Lorenza Longhi als Künstlerin angeht, denen sie ihre Arbeit aussetzt und die sie auch offenlegt: Teil eines Systems zu sein, das nur sich selbst dient. Darauf sind verschiedene Reaktionen denkbar, beispielsweise Zynismus, Depression, Wut, Ausstieg oder distanzierte Leidenschaft. Es scheint, dass Longhis Werk letzteren Weg beschreitet, mindestens im Moment. Es hält sich und die anderen auf Distanz, um einen Rest von Optimismus zu bewahren, ohne den es keine Veränderungen gibt. Manche mögen das romantisch bezeichnen, andere kritisch, wieder andere opportunistisch. Davon geht Longhis Werk aus, davon lebt es, damit konfrontiert es uns. Dabei lässt es die Kunst machen, was sie am besten kann: unser, im besten Sinne pervertiertes Verhältnis zum Objekt nachzeichnen. Wer will, kann daraus Konsequenzen ziehen.

Die Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Zürich inszeniert neuste Bilder und Skulpturen der 1991 in Italien geborenen und zur Zeit in Zürich lebenden Künstlerin. 

Lorenza Longhi (*1991, Lecco, IT, wohnt in Zürich) studierte an der Accademia di Belle Arti di Brera in Mailand und an der écal in Lausanne. Sie hat in ganz Europa ausgestellt und hatte Einzelausstellungen bei Bungalow, Berlin, Fanta MLN, Mailand, La Plage, Paris, und Plymouth Rock, Zürich. Sie war eine Teilnehmerin der Ausstellung Sommer des Zögerns in der Kunsthalle Zürich in 2020. In 2020 hat sie sowohl den Shizuko Yoshikawa Advanced Award for Young Women Artists und den Swiss Emerging Artist Prize von Société Générale gewonnen. Sie ist Mitbegründerin der Mailänder Armada (2014-2018), ein von Künstler*innen und Kunstinteressierten betriebener Ausstellungsraum. Ihre Arbeiten sind zur Zeit Teil der Ausstellung FUORI 2020 im Palazzo delle Esposizioni in Rom, kuratiert von Sarah Cosulich und Stefano Collicelli Cagol.

 

Juni

05 Sa