Luke Fowler

30.08.2008-02.11.2008
Luke Fowler
German
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

In conjunction with its Derek Jarman show, Kunsthalle Zürich is staging an exhibition of the work of British artist Luke Fowler (born in 1978, lives and works in Glasgow). Luke Fowler was the first winner of the inaugural Jarman Award in 2008, which is given to young film­makers who stand out for their delight in experimentation, innovative approach and excep­tional vision, and whose work challenges traditional boundaries and conventional definitions.

Luke Fowler is seen as a key figure on the Glasgow scene where he works as an artist film­maker and musician. He participates actively in the experimental music scene through his bands Rude Pravo and Lied Music, both of which use a combination of traditional and adapted or invented instruments. Fowler also runs the SHADAZZ multimedia platform whose activities include, inter alia, the production of LPs in collaboration with other musicians and artists.

Fowler challenges the classical conventions of documentary film in his film works. He sub­verts the structural syntax and collages found, apparently forgotten and own footage with photographs, diagrams and scripts to create a new kind of filmic mesh. In doing this some critics have suggested he aligns himself with the British Free Cinema movement, a documentary film movement that emerged in England in the 1950s, whose hallmark was the rejection of traditional narrative structure in film.

Past and forgotten histories, radical and experimental ideas, ideologies and their protago­nists are central to Fowler’s films. What You See Is Where You’re At (2001) focuses on the “Kingsley Hall Experiment” carried out by Scottish psychoanalyst and author R.D. Laing. The collaborative film, The Way Out (2003, with Kosten Koper), portrays Xentos “Fray” Bentos, a founding member of the band The Homosexuals, and explores Xentos’s multifac­eted character through formal play with contradictions and fragments. Bogman Palmjaguar (2007) tells the story of a man who turned his back on his fellow human beings and with­drew to nature following his diagnosis as a paranoid schizophrenic. Fowler succeeds in reflecting the content of his films in their formal structure. The recipient is inspired to re-examine his/her own relationship with the story. The works bear radical and energetic witness to the fact that film has the capacity to go beyond its boundaries both as an art form and as documentation.

The exhibition at the Kunsthalle Zürich unites for the first time a large selection of Luke Fowler’s filmic oeuvre in a single show. Along with a film made specially for the exhibition, i.e. An Abbeyview Film (2008), a poetic survey of life in a deprived housing estate in Dumfermine, Scotland, and a selection of still photographs, the films Bogman Palmjaguar, The Way Out and What You See Is Where You’re At will also be shown on alternate weeks over the course of the exhibition.

Kunsthalle Zürich thanks: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung

Luke Fowler

30.08.2008-02.11.2008
Luke Fowler
Deutsch
Week

Parallel zur Ausstellung von Derek Jarman eröffnet die Kunsthalle Zürich die Ausstellung des britischen Künstlers Luke Fowler (geb. 1978, lebt und arbeitet in Glasgow). Im April 2008 erhielt Luke Fowler den zum ersten Mal verliehenen Jarman Award, der an junge Film­schaffende vergeben wird, die sich durch ihre Experimentierfreudigkeit, Innovation und aussergewöhnlichen Visionen auszeichnen und deren Werk sich über Grenzen und konven­tionelle Definitionen hinwegsetzt.

Luke Fowler gilt als Schlüsselfigur der Glasgower Szene: Er arbeitet hier als Künstler-Filmemacher und Musiker. Mit seinen Bands Rude Pravo und Lied Music – beide benutzen eine Kombination von traditionellen und umgebauten oder selbst erfundenen Instrumenten – bewegt sich Fowler aktiv in der experimentellen Musikszene. Darüber hinaus führt der Künstler die Multimediaplattform SHADAZZ, die unter anderem auch LPs in Kollaboration mit anderen Musikern und Künstlern veröffentlicht.

Mit seinen Filmen hinterfragt Fowler die klassischen Konventionen des Dokumentarfilms: Er untergräbt die strukturelle Syntax, collagiert gefundenes, scheinbar vergessenes wie auch selbst gedrehtes Filmmaterial mit Fotografien, Interviews, Diagrammen und Schriften zu einem neuartigen Geflecht. Einige Kritiker ordnen seine Arbeit daher der britischen Free Cinema Bewegung zu – eine Bewegung des Dokumentarfilms in England in den 1950er Jahren, derren Kennzeichen es war, dass sie sich den herkömmlichen Erzählstrukturen zu widersetzen.

Vergessen gegangene Geschichten, radikale und experimentelle Ideen und Ideologien sowie ihre Protagonisten stehen im Zentrum von Fowlers Filmen. What You See Is Where You’re At (2001) kreist um das „Kingsley Hall Experiment“ des schottischen Psychiaters, Psychoanaly­tikers und Autors R.D. Laing. Die Gemeinschaftsarbeit The Way Out (2003, mit Kosten Koper) porträtiert Xentos „Fray“ Bentos, Gründungsmitglied der Band The Homosexuals, und reflektiert anhand des formalen Spiels mit Widersprüchen und Fragmenten den facettenrei­chen Charakter Xentos. Bogman Palmjaguar (2007) erzählt die Geschichte eines Mannes, der sich infolge seiner Diagnostizierung als „paranoider Schizophreniker“ von den Mitmenschen abkehrt und sich in die Natur zurückzieht. In seinen Filmen gelingt es Fowler, die jeweili­gen Inhalte in ihrer formalen Struktur widerzuspiegeln. Der Rezipient wird angeregt, die eigene Beziehung zur Geschichte neu zu überdenken. Auf drastische und energische Weise legen die Arbeiten Zeugnis davon ab, dass Film die Fähigkeit besitzt, sowohl als Kunstform als auch als Dokumentation seine Grenzen zu überschreiten.

Die Kunsthalle Zürich vereint in ihrer Präsentation erstmals eine grössere Auswahl des fil­mischen Oeuvres von Luke Fowler in einer institutionellen Einzelausstellung. Neben dem eigens für die Ausstellung fertig gestellten Film An Abbeyview Film (2008), einer poetischen Bestandesaufnahme vom Leben in einer sozial benachteiligten Wohnsiedlung im schottischen Dumfermine, und einer Auswahl von Stillfotografien werden die Filme Bogman Palmjaguar, The Way Out sowie What You See Is Where You’re At im wöchentlichen Wechsel gezeigt.

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung