Marcus Coates

29.08.2009-15.11.2009
Marcus Coates
German
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

What would animals advise? The artist Marcus Coates, who was born in 1968, explores human and social issues in his performances and the resulting video works. He experiments with forms of meaning and consciousness from the animal kingdom as parallel ways of experience and carries out almost shamanistic acts in an attempt to respond to urgent questions. In these performances, for which he dons half or full body costumes, he engages in a dialogue with the mode of being of animals and re-translates their voices into our language. In his first solo show to be staged at a Swiss institution, Coates presents a total of 6 of his video works for two-weekly periods. These ambivalent works oscillate between dark humour, fascination and irritation and are accompanied by notes and costumes used in the performances. Viewers can experience the artist himself in action on three occasions: Saturday, 29 August, 1 pm, as part of the «In Other Words» symposium; Saturday, 5 September, 10.30 pm, as part of the Lange Nacht der Museen programme; and from 20 - 24 October in different daily performances during the opening hours of the Kunsthalle Zürich.

Earlier this year Marcus Coates was invited to create a work by the Center for Digital Arts in Holon (Israel). As is often the case in his work, the artist sought out concrete and urgent societal problems and asked to be allowed to convey to the mayor in a performance the answer provided to one of his questions by the animal kingdom. This “séance” took place with an interpreter in the mayor’s tiny office like a curious kind of meeting situation. The mayor asked the artist for a solution to the problem of violence among the young people in Holon. Coates was dressed in a grotesque costume which combined elements of archaic rituals and civilisation trash with brute pragmatism in an improvisational but also alternative way: he wore a badger as head gear and a track suit whose side stripes reproduced the pattern on the badger’s coat in a kind of mimicry. When the mayor had asked his question, the artist stood up and after a brief period of concentration spontaneously produced a series of incomprehensible, chortling, squeaking and exploding sounds. He then sat down again on his chair and reported to the mayor about his encounters in the animal kingdom, in particular with a plover which steers attackers from its nest by pretending to be injured. Coates interpreted this as a metaphor, as general human behaviour but also deciphered its specific significance in relation to the political conflict in Israel.

The artist has also acted out this kind of knowledge transfer from the non-human to the human consciousness in numerous other performances. In Radio Shaman (2006), for example, he discussed answers from shamanistic performances, which he had staged in problematic locations in the city, on the radio. The questions raised here concerned poverty, prostitution and the increasing spread of HIV which have become matters of urgency for the small community due to the high number of Nigerian immigrants there. In Journey to the Lower World (2003) he presented a performance in the style of a Siberian ritual for the residents of an Liverpool tower block largely populated by elderly people that was under imminent threat of demolition.

Embedded in topics relating to ornithology, zoology, anthropology and philosophy as well as the special relationship between culture and nature, which in England is rooted in the folk tradition (singing in bird voices, for example), Marcus Coates asks questions as to what constitutes and moulds both our individual and cultural consciousness by seeking to experience other forms of consciousness. As part of this his works associate, discuss and hybridise numerous artistic and societal phenomena which anticipate, suspect, fear and intuit extended forms of knowledge by transcending the concept of the subject and reality.

Bruce Nauman stated in a neon work that “The true artist helps the world by revealing mystic truths”; in 1974 Joseph Beuys spent three days with a wild coyote in a room in the René Block gallery in New York which had been transformed into a cage (Coyote, I Like America and America Likes Me, 1974); our fairytale world is full of half-human and half-animal creatures; the esoteric scene dismisses no possibility of the existence of extended forms of experience; sports people adopt numerous mental techniques and dictators and other politicians have repeatedly sought the advice of spiritual counsellors and clairvoyants and consulted mentors with access to other forms of knowledge.
Marcus Coates’s scenarios of the confrontation of being human and animal and his use of shamanistic practices leave the truth content of experience in abeyance in an artful, fascinating and irritating way. They unfold at the interface between imagination, facts and play and challenge the cultural systems of belief and control with ambiguous humour.

Films included in the exhibition: Kamikuchi (2006); Radio Shaman (2006); Rice Ritual (2006); Journey to the Lower World (2004); Human Report (2008); The Plover's Wing, A Meeting with the Mayor of Holon, Israel (2009).

 

Kunsthalle Zürich thanks: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, LUMA Foundation

Marcus Coates

29.08.2009-15.11.2009
Marcus Coates
Deutsch
Week

Was würden Tiere raten? Der 1968 geborene Künstler Marcus Coates untersucht in seinen Performances und den daraus entstehenden Videoarbeiten menschliche und soziale Fragestellungen. Er experimentiert mit Bedeutungs- und Bewusstseinsformen aus dem Tierreich als parallele Erfahrungsweisen; führt quasi schamanistische Akte zur Beantwortung drängender Fragen in Performances durch, in denen er sich in Halb- oder Ganzkörpermaske in einen Dialog mit der Seinsform von Tieren versetzt und deren Stimmen wieder in unsere Sprache übersetzt. In seiner ersten Einzelausstellung in einer Schweizer Institution zeigt der Künstler im zweiwöchigen Wechsel insgesamt 6 seiner ambivalenten, zwischen dunklem Humor, Faszination und Irritation oszillierenden Videoarbeiten zusammen mit Notizen und Kostümen seiner Performances. An drei Anlässen kann das Publikum den Künstler in Aktion erleben: Samstag, 29. August, 13 Uhr, im Rahmen des Symposiums «In Other Words»; Samstag, 5. September, 22.30 Uhr, im Rahmen der Langen Nacht der Museen; und vom 20. – 24. Oktober in täglich wechselnden Performances während der Öffnungszeiten der Kunsthalle Zürich.

Anfang dieses Jahres wurde Coates vom Center for Digital Arts in Holon (Israel) eingeladen, eine Arbeit zu realisieren. Wie häufig in seinem Werk suchte der Künstler nach konkreten und drängenden gesellschaftlichen Problemstellungen und bat darum, in einer Performance auf eine der Fragen des Bürgermeisters die Antwort aus dem Tierreich überbringen zu können. Im Beisein einer Übersetzerin fand diese „Séance“ im winzigen Büro des Bürgermeisters in einer eigentümlichen Sitzungssituation statt. Der Bürgermeister fragte den Künstler nach einer Lösung für das Gewaltproblem der Jugendlichen in Holon. Coates war mit einem grotesken Kostüm bekleidet, das Elemente von archaischen Ritualen und Zivilisationstrash in einer improvisierenden, aber auch alternativen Art Brut-Pragmatik verband: Er trug einen Dachs als Kopfbedeckung und einen Trainingsanzug, dessen Seitenstreifen die Zeichnung des Dachsfelles in einer Art Mimikry nachvollzogen. Nachdem der Bürgermeister seine Frage gestellt hatte, stand der Künstler auf und nach kurzer Konzentration glucksten, prusteten, piepsten, entluden sich eine Reihe unverständlicher Laute aus ihm. Er setzte sich daraufhin wieder auf seinen Stuhl und berichtete dem Bürgermeister von seinen Begegnungen im Tierreich, insbesondere mit einem Regenpfeifer, der Angreifer von seinem Nest ablenkt, indem er eine Verletzung vortäuscht. Coates interpretierte dies als Metapher für allgemein menschliche Verhaltensweisen, aber las daraus auch die spezifische Bedeutung für die politischen Konfliktsituationen in Israel.

In zahlreichen weiteren Performances spielte der Künstler diese Art von Wissenstransfer von nicht-menschlichem zu menschlichem Bewusstsein durch. In Radio Shaman (2006) etwa diskutierte er am Radio Antworten aus seinen schamanistischen Performances, die er zuvor an problematischen Orten der Stadt durchgeführt hatte. Die Antworten bezogen sich auf Armut, Prostitution und die vermehrte Verbreitung von HIV, die für die kleine Gemeinde durch die hohe Zahl nigerianischer Immigranten dringend geworden waren. In Journey to the Lower World (2003) führte er in Anlehnung an ein siberisches Ritual eine Performance für die Bewohner einer vor allem von älteren Menschen bewohnten, vom baldigen Abriss bedrohten Siedlung durch.

Eingebettet in Themen der Ornithologie, Zoologie, Anthropologie und Philosophie, aber auch eine besondere Beziehung zwischen Kultur und Natur, die in England in der Volkstradition verankert ist (das Singen in Vogelstimmen zum Beispiel) stellt Marcus Coates Fragen nach dem, was unser individuelles wie kulturelles Bewusstsein ausmacht und prägt, indem er andere Formen des Bewusstseins zu erfahren sucht. Seine Arbeiten assoziieren, diskutieren und hybridisieren dabei zahlreiche künstlerische wie gesellschaftliche Phänomene, die durch das Überschreiten des Subjekt- und Realitätsbegriffs erweiterte Erkenntnisformen erhoffen, vermuten, befürchten, erahnen...

Bruce Nauman konstatierte in einer Neonarbeit 1967 „The true artist helps the world by revealing mystic truths"; 1974 verbrachte Joseph Beuys in der New Yorker Galerie René Block drei Tage mit einem wilden Kojoten in einem zum Käfig umgewandelten Raum (Coyote, I Like America and America Likes Me, 1974); unsere Fabelwelt ist voll von Kreaturen, die halb Mensch, halb Tier sind; die Esoterikszene lässt keine Möglichkeit der erweiterten Erfahrungsformen aus; Sportler wenden zahlreiche mentale Techniken an, und Diktatoren, aber auch andere Politiker haben sich immer wieder den Rat von spirituellen Ratgebern, Hellsehern und mit anderen Wissensformen Vertrauten geholt.

Marcus Coates Szenarien der Konfrontation von Mensch- und Tiersein und seine Verwendung schamanistischer Praktiken lassen den Wahrheitsgehalt von Erfahrung trickreich, faszinierend und irritierend in der Schwebe, sie finden statt an der Schnittstelle von Imagination, Fakten und Spiel und strapazieren mit uneindeutigem Humor die kulturellen Glaubens- und Kontrollsysteme.

Filme in der Ausstellung: Kamikuchi (2006); Radio Shaman (2006); Rice Ritual (2006); Journey to the Lower World (2004); Human Report (2008); The Plover's Wing, A Meeting with the Mayor of Holon, Israel (2009).

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, LUMA Stiftung