Mario Garcia Torres

12.04.2008-18.05.2008
Mario Garcia Torres
Some Stories That Went Missing, Others That I Belong To, And A Few Studio Works
German
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

In two parallel solo shows, Tris Vonna-Michell (born 1982, lives and works in London and Berlin) and Mario Garcia Torres (born 1975, lives and works in Los Angeles) present art works that all circle in their specific idiosyncratic manner around issues like story-telling, narratives and history including also the interface between fiction and reality.

Both artists' works thus consider avenues how histories are transmitted, what facts and artefacts serve the validity of specific narratives and above all what role the individual – with emotions and intellect – takes up in the reproduction and absorption of history.

Tris Vonna-Michell's speech performances and his heterogeneous visual materials are accelerations of an ongoing process of historiography; probably it is precisely their obsessive absurdities that point to how hidden secrets can be elicited from history. By contrast Mario Garcia Torres, by means of deliberate repetition, tests the essence of the production of reality and historical facts in art. His work originates in so-called subjective artistic positing; by means of poetic figures, it debates the relation between objectivity and subjectivity as well as social productivity and factual non-productivity in the creation of a collective history.

Mario Garcia Torres' works are imbued by history and the histories of art, which he takes as factual raw material for new narrations, giving famous art works other potential twists. In so doing, he deploys art's 'classic' distinctive stylistic markers: conceptual strategies that connect word and image, painting, photography, film, video, performance and installation.

The piece Transparencies of the Non-Act (2007) revolves around the conceptual artist Oscar Neuestern, whose work strives towards inaction, the absence of the artefact and the absolute, which, however, fails in its poetic and radical forms, as historiography cannot refrain from retrieving facts and the evidence of its artistic existence and significance. Like Neuestern, Mario Garcia Torres provides "facts" of artistic activity and verifiable production: In an ongoing sequence of letters written to a collector in hotel rooms, he promised to attend to his work "well" (I promise, from 2004 onwards). Like Bruce Nauman inscribing his name on the moon in neon, he has his signature engraved in outer space by a flying saucer in a video work; reminiscent of the umpteen concept lists of artists' trivial activities, he ranges notes by Mexican ceramicists on tiles amongst the historiography of conceptual art (Ceramico Suro, from 2008 onwards). He notices the absence and the retrieval of some of Ed Ruscha's works (This Painting is Missing / This Painting Has Been Found, from 2006 onwards) and carries a picture slide in his pocket in order to arbitrarily produce images (A Pocket Scratching Piece, 2008), or alternately relates film and art history in the superimposition of titles and performative acts (Shot of Grace [With Alighiero Boetti Hair Style], 2004).

Mario Gracia Torres' works hence reassess history and channel our attention towards the mostly "covert" elements of historiography. Mostly surrounded by myths of artists over the past decades, remembrance is revised on the one hand, on the other entombed lore is transferred into a poetics of the marginal and the vanished.

In this sense, Mario Garcia Torres pinpoints the fragility of social production of both knowledge and reality. He inserts the modules and models of the productive in order to investigate the vanished or the no-longer-to-be-found, the absence and presence of the subject in the interplay of fact and fiction. In performative scenarios he asks questions of how factual history is made real and what fictions are indistinguishable from it. What is true? What is missing? What is present? What is promised? What is chronicled?

Kunsthalle Zürich thanks: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung

Mario Garcia Torres

12.04.2008-18.05.2008
Mario Garcia Torres
Some Stories That Went Missing, Others That I Belong To, And A Few Studio Works
Deutsch
Week

In zwei parallelen Einzelausstellungen stellen Tris Vonna-Michell (geb. 1982, lebt und arbeitet in London und Berlin) und Mario Garcia Torres (geb. 1975, lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles) Arbeiten vor, die in ihrer jeweiligen Art und Weise um Erzählungen, Geschichte und Geschichten und das Verhältnis von Fiktion und Realität kreisen. Die Werke beider Künstler reflektieren die Möglichkeiten, wie Geschichte überliefert wird, welche Fakten und Artefakte dem Wahrheitsgehalt von Geschichte dienen und welche Rolle das Individuum mit seinen Emotionen und seinem Intellekt in der Produktion und Rezeption von Geschichte einnimmt.

Tris Vonna-Michells Sprechperformances und heterogene Bildmaterialien sind Beschleunigungen eines andauernden Prozesses von Geschichtsschreibung; sie geben vielleicht gerade in ihrer obsessiven Absurdität einen Anhaltspunkt, wie Geschichte verborgene Geheimnisse entlockt werden können. Mario Garcia Torres strapaziert in bewussten Wiederholungen die Bedeutung der Produktion von Realität und historischen Fakten in der Kunst. Seine Arbeit nimmt ihren Ausgangspunkt in den so genannten subjektiven künstlerischen Setzungen und diskutiert in poetischen Figuren um das geschichtliche Kunstwerk das Verhältnis von Objektivität und Subjektivität und gesellschaftlicher Produktivität und faktischer Nicht-Produktion für eine kollektive Geschichte.

Die Arbeiten Mario Garcia Torres' sind inspiriert von der Geschichte und den Geschichten der Kunst, die er als faktisches Ausgangsmaterial in neue Narrationen und mögliche Wendungen bekannter Werke verwandelt. In diesen verwendet er die „klassischen“ Erkennungszeichen von Kunst: Konzeptstrategien, die Wort und Bild verbinden, Malerei, Fotografie, Film, Video, Performance und Installation.

Die Arbeit Transparencies of the Non-Act (2007) kreist um den Konzeptkünstler Oscar Neuestern, dessen Werk das Nichthandeln, die Abwesenheit des Artefaktes und das Absolute anstrebt, aber in seinen poetischen und radikalen Formen scheitert, da die Geschichtsschreibung das Aufspüren von Fakten und den Beweis seiner künstlerischen Existenz und Bedeutung nicht ruhen lassen kann. Wie Neuestern liefert Mario Garcia Torres „Fakten“ künstlerischer Aktivität und verifizierbarer Produkte: Er verspricht seine Arbeit in einer fortlaufenden Folge von Briefen aus Hotelzimmern an einen Sammler „gut“ zu machen (I promise.., ab 2004). Er schreibt seinen Namen, wie Bruce Nauman den seinen auf dem Mond mit Neon, von einer fliegenden Untertasse in einem Video geschrieben in das Weltall ein; er lässt mexikanische Keramikarbeiter ihre Notizen auf Kacheln wie die unzähligen Konzept-Listen alltäglicher Handlungen von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern in die Geschichte der Konzeptkunst einreihen (Ceramica Suro, ab 2008), konstatiert das Fehlen und Auffinden einiger Werke Ed Ruschas This Painting is Missing / This Painting has been found (ab 2006), trägt ein Diapositiv in seiner Tasche, um unwillkürliche Bilder zu produzieren (A Pocket Scratching Piece, 2008) oder verbindet Filmgeschichte und Kunstgeschichte in der Überlagerung von Titeln und performativen Akten (Shot of Grace [With Alighiero Boetti Hair Style], 2004).

Mario Gracia Torres’ Werke überdenken Geschichte und lenken die Aufmerksamkeit auf meist „unsichtbarere“ Elemente historischer Narrationen. Hauptsächlich umgeben von Künstlermythen der vergangenen Jahrzehnte, wird in seinen Arbeiten sowohl Erinnerung revidiert, als auch verschüttetes Wissen in eine Poetik des Nebensächlichen und Verschwundenen übertragen.

Mario Garcia Torres formuliert die Fragilität gesellschaftlicher Produktion von Wissen wie Realität. Er setzt die Module und Modelle des Produktiven ein, um das Verschwundene oder nicht mehr zu Findende, die An- und Abwesenheit des Subjekts im Zusammenspiel von Fakten und Fiktionen zu erforschen. Seine Arbeiten stellen in performativen Szenarien Fragen danach, wie faktische Geschichte realisiert wird und welche Fiktionen ununterscheidbar von ihnen sind. Was ist wahr? Was fehlt? Was ist da? Was ist versprochen? Was hat sich aufgezeichnet?

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung