Pati Hill

12.12.2020-02.05.2021
Pati Hill
Something other than either
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

Sponsors

Once in a while bodies of work emerge out of nowhere, artistic works that astound us thanks to their idiosyncrasy and brilliance. They seem brand new and everyone asks themselves why they had been unknown. This is the case for the oeuvre of Pati Hill (1921-2014). Kunsthalle Zürich follows in the footsteps of the Kunstverein Munich, showing the most comprehensive exhibition of the artist's works to date – an artist who was equally an author, columnist, model, antiques dealer and gallerist. Pati Hill's oeuvre includes four novels, short stories and artist's publications as well as a collection of instruction manuals and the invention of a new Symbol Language (1977-78), as well as thousands of photocopies from 1974 onwards. The latter make up her central practice and are divided into different work groups such as the Common Objects (c. 1977–79) and Photocopying Versailles (c. 1980–2005). Photocopying Versailles, for example, arose from the idea that Hill would photocopy the entire Chateau of Versailles 1:1, an undertaking that was as feasible as it was unrealistic. 

As Maurin Dietrich, Director of the Kunstverein Munich, writes in a detailed article, Pati Hill's oeuvre is not easy to classify. This may be a reason why Hill's work is only now being seen by a broader public, for she stood apart from the canon and the avant-garde as well as being distinct from emancipatory movements like feminism. Hill's artistic approach can neither be classified in conceptual art nor in Pop art or photography. She used her photocopier to capture the world, to fetishize it and to delegate the creation of art to a machine. Marshall McLuhan's foresighted dictum «the medium is the message» from 1964 is applied literally in this work. Machines know no morality but can generate unexpected poetry as is the case here, where mundane objects are used like words and write stories. How significant this now appears in the contemporary context of memes and social media!

The third edition of Letters to Jill from 1979 is published on the occasion of this exhibition, a book in which Hill explains to her New York gallery Jill Kornblee how her work can be read. Letters to Jill is as instructive as it filled with a humour that should not be underestimated. The exhibition is co-curated by Maurin Dietrich, Director of the Kunstverein Munich; it takes on and expands the artist's first posthumous solo exhibition in Europe, which was shown from 7 March–16 August in Munich. The exhibition will now be on display on the 3rd floor of Kunsthalle Zürich and runs until 2 May 2021. 

Kunsthalle Zürich is very grateful to Richard Torchia, Director of Arcadia Exhibitions and The Pati Hill Collection at Arcadia University, Glenside (Pennsylvania) for the work loans and generous support. 

December

11 Fr

12 Sa

March

15 Mo

April

03 Sa

Pati Hill

11.12.2020-02.05.2021
Pati Hill
Something other than either
Deutsch
Week

Body: 

Förderer

Aufgrund der aktuellen Covid-Sicherheitsmassnahmen bleibt die Kunsthalle Zürich bis Ende Februar 2021 geschlossen.

Ab und an tauchen wie aus dem Nichts ganze Werke auf, die in ihrer inhaltlichen und formalen Eigenständigkeit und Brillanz uns überraschen. Sie glänzen wie neu und alle wundern sich, warum sie unerkannt blieben. Das trifft auf die Kunst von Pati Hill (1921-2014) zu. Die Kunsthalle Zürich zeigt nach dem Kunstverein München die bisher umfassendste Ausstellung dieser Künstlerin, die auch Schriftstellerin, Kolumnistin, Model, Antiquitätenhändlerin und Galeristin war. Das Oeuvre von Pati Hill umfasst neben vier Romanen auch Kurzgeschichten, Kolumnen und Künstlerbücher, zudem eine Sammlung von Gebrauchsanweisungen und die Erfindung einer neuen Sprache mit Symbolen (Symbol Language, 1977-1978) sowie, ab 1974, Tausende von Fotokopien. Letztere bilden das Hauptwerk und sind in verschiedene Werkgruppen wie Alphabet of Common Objects (Alphabet der alltäglichen Objekte, ca. 1977–79) oder Photocopying Versailles (Versailles fotokopieren, ca. 1980–2005) aufgeteilt. Photocopying Versailles entsprang zum Beispiel der Idee, das gesamte Schloss von Versailles im Massstab 1:1 zu fotokopieren, ein Unternehmen, das gleichermassen realistisch wie unrealistisch war.

Pati Hills Oeuvre lässt sich, wie Maurin Dietrich, die Direktorin des Kunstvereins München, in ihrem Artikel schreibt, nicht leicht einordnen. Das mag mit ein Grund sein, dass Hills Kunst erst jetzt in eine breitere Öffentlichkeit gelangt, denn sie verhält sich quer zum Kanon, quer zur Avantgarde, aber auch quer zu emanzipatorischen Strömungen wie des Feminismus. Hills künstlerische Vorgehensweise lässt sich weder der Konzeptkunst zuordnen noch der Pop Art oder der Fotografie. Sie hat den Fotokopierer benutzt, um die Welt abzubilden, um sie zu fetischisieren und die Herstellung von Kunst an eine Maschine zu delegieren. Marshall McLuhans vorausschauendes Diktum «The Medium is the Message» (Das Medium ist die Botschaft, 1964) wird in diesem Werk konsequent umgesetzt. Maschinen kennen keine Moral, können aber unerwartet Poesie produzieren wie hier, wo banale Gegenstände wie Wörter behandelt werden und Geschichten schreiben. Dies ist im heutigen Kontext der Memes und der Social Media bedeutend.

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung erscheint die dritte Auflage von Letters to Jill von 1979, in der Hill ihrer New Yorker Galeristin Jill Kornblee erläutert, wie ihr Werk gelesen werden kann. Letters to Jill ist ebenso instruktiv wie voller Humor, der selbstverständlich nicht unterschätzt werden sollte.

Die Ausstellung wird co-kuratiert von Maurin Dietrich, Direktorin Kunstverein München, und ist eine Übernahme und Erweiterung der im Kunstverein München vom 7. März bis 16. August 2020 gezeigten ersten posthumen institutionellen Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin in Europa.

Die Kunsthalle Zürich möchte sich bei Richard Torchia, Direktor Arcadia Exhibitions und The Pati Hill Collection at Arcadia University, Glenside (Pennsylvania) für die Leihgaben und die grosszügige Unterstützung bedanken.

Dezember

11 Fr

12 Sa