Performance-Abend: Portrait of an Eye

07.11.2015, 20:00-22:00
Performance-Abend: Portrait of an Eye
with Emily Roysdon and guests + Werner Hirsch and Pauline Boudry
8 CHF
English
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

The moving image is the key medium of Kunsthalle Zürich’s solo show Portrait of an Eye by Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz. Key to their imagery is the vivacious participation of their contributors, in both form and content. Our program of theory and education seeks to juxtapose those images on screen with living bodies in the gallery space. This evening, conceived together with the artists, presents performances by two main contributors and a close colleague of Pauline Boudry and Renate Lorenz: The New York and Stockholm-based artist Emily Roysdon is a long-term fellow of Boudry and Lorenz. This night, she presents the 6th version of her ongoing performance Uncounted (performance 6) which results from her text of the same title. A version of it has been presented in New York, performed by the artist Sharon Hayes (among others) who also features in Boudry/Lorenz' new film-installation I WANT (2015). Antonia Baehr/Werner Hirsch is the protagonist of various video works, here on show in Opaque (2014). Together with Pauline Boudry on the turntables Werner Hirsch created the solo dance piece DANCING FOR THE REVOLUTION IN TEMPORAL DRAG especially for this evening. The performances will be followed by drinks and music by Inge Moser (modular bridge pop, synths, feminist post-punk).

 

 

Emily Roysdon: Uncounted (performance 6)

Emily Roysdon is engaged in an ongoing, site-specific series of live events that jump out from her text Uncounted. The text consists of elliptical narrative fragments, quotations by figures like the avant-garde poet Gertrude Stein or camp-artist Jack Smith, and philosophical meditations on time and politics. Over the past few months collaborators have included Gregg Bordowitz, Sharon Hayes, Nick Hallett, MPA, Morgan Bassichis, and Frederique Bergholtz. 

Werner Hirsch proudly presents: DANCING FOR THE REVOLUTION IN TEMPORAL DRAG

“You look ridiculous if you dance

You look ridiculous if you don't dance

So you might as well

dance.”

(Gertrude Stein)

make-up-productions.net

Emily Roysdon is a New York and Stockholm-based artist and writer. Her working method is interdisciplinary and recent projects take the form of performance, photographic installations, print making, text, video, curating and collaborating. Roysdon developed the concept "ecstatic resistance" to talk about the impossible and imaginary in politics. The concept debuted with simultaneous shows at Grand Arts in Kansas City, and X Initiative in New York. She is editor and co-founder of the queer feminist journal and artist collective LTTR. Her many collaborations include costume design for choreographers Levi Gonzalez, Vannesa Anspaugh and Faye Driscoll, as well as lyric writing for The Knife, and Brooklyn based JD Samson & MEN. emilyroysdon.com

Werner Hirsch make-up-productions.net

 

 

August

29 Sa

November

01 Su

Performance-Abend: Portrait of an Eye

07.11.2015, 20:00-22:00
Performance-Abend: Portrait of an Eye
mit Emily Roysdon und Gästen + Werner Hirsch und Pauline Boudry
8 CHF
Englisch
Week

Das bewegte Bild ist das zentrale Medium der Einzelausstellung Portrait of an Eye von Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz. Diese Bilder leben von der starken inhaltlichen und visuellen Beteiligung der Mitwirkenden. Das Theorie- und Vermittlungsprogramm dieser Ausstellung möchte die Bewegungen von der Wand zurück in den Raum bringen. An diesem gemeinsam mit den Künstlerinnen konzipierten Performance-Abend präsentieren wir zwei wichtige Mitwirkende und eine enge Kollegin von Pauline Boudry und Renate Lorenz: Die in New York und Stockholm lebende Künstlerin Emily Roysdon steht seit längerer Zeit mit ihnen im regen inhaltlichen Austausch. Ihre hier präsentierte 6. Version der fortlaufenden Performance Uncounted (performance 6) entspringt ihrem gleichnamigen Text. In einer Version dieser Performance in New York trat  die Künstlerin Sharon Hayes auf, die in Boudry/Lorenz' Ausstellung die Performerin in der neu produzierten Filminstallation I WANT (2015) ist. Antonia Baehr/Werner Hirsch ist Protagonist/in einiger Videoarbeiten, hier in der Ausstellung zu sehen in Opaque (2014). Zusammen mit Pauline Boudry am DJ-Pult entwickelte Werner Hirsch speziell für diesen Abend den Solo-Tanz DANCING FOR THE REVOLUTION IN TEMPORAL DRAG.

 

 

Emily Roysdon: Uncounted (performance 6)

Emily Roysdon entwarf eine Series von fortlaufenden, ortsspezifischen Live-Events, die ihrer Textarbeit Uncounted entspringen. Der Text setzt sich aus elliptisch-narrativen Versatzstücken, unterschiedlichen Zitaten - wie zum Beispiel der Avantgarde-Schriftstellerin Gertrude Stein oder dem Camp-Künstler Jack Smith - und philosophischen Meditationen über Zeit und Politik zusammen. In den letzten Monaten wurde Uncounted gemeinsam mit unter anderem Gregg Bordowitz, Sharon Hayes, Nick Hallett, MPA, Morgan Bassichis und Frederique Bergholtz aufgeführt.

Werner Hirsch: DANCING FOR THE REVOLUTION IN TEMPORAL DRAG

«You look ridiculous if you dance
You look ridiculous if you don't dance
So you might as well
dance.»

(Gertrude Stein)

www.make-up-productions.net

Emily Roysdon ist eine in New York und Stockholm lebende Künstlerinund Autorin. Ihre Arbeitsweise ist interdisziplinär und nimmt in aktuellen Projekten die Form von Performances, fotographischen Installationen, Drucksachen, Text, Video, kuratorischen Projekten und Kollaborationen an. Roysdon entwickelte das Konzept des "ekstatischen Widerstands" (ecstatic resistance), um das Unmögliche und Imaginäre der Politik zu thematisieren. Dieses Konzept führte sie in zeitgleichen Ausstellungen bei Grand Arts in Kansas City und X Initiative in New York ein. Roysdon ist Redakteurin und Mitbegründerin des queer-feministischen Journals und Künstlerkollektivs LTTR. Ihre vielfältigen Koproduktionen beinhalten weiterhin Kostümdesigns für die Choreografen Levi Gonzalez, Vannesa Anspaugh und Faye Driscoll, sowie Songtexte für The Knife und JD Samson & MEN. emilyroysdon.com

Werner Hirsch: make-up-productions.net

 

August

29 Sa

November

01 So