RATZ FATZ ZAUBER WAS – Fairs and Fairy Tales

14.06.2016-19.06.2016
RATZ FATZ ZAUBER WAS – Fairs and Fairy Tales
A project by Luca Beeler, Cédric Eisenring, Carmen Tobler, presented by Kunsthalle Zürich at Liste Art Fair Basel
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

At this year’s LISTE Art Fair Basel, Kunsthalle Zürich will present RATZ FATZ ZAUBER WAS – Fairs and Fairy Tales, a project by Luca Beeler, Cedric Eisenring, and Carmen Tobler:

Children’s books are narratives that parents bring into their children’s rooms. In this intimate setting, accompanied by the voices of loved ones, these stories are passed on. And yet, they extend beyond the protected sphere of the home and enter the social realm. Children’s books carry with them a plethora of expectations and hopes: the romantic idea of the “childishly naive,” education and childrearing, and the discovery of children as a utopian matter. They offer an impressive demonstration of how much these narratives form the basis for the ideals and notions of childhood and society and our conception of the future.

The project RATZ FATZ ZAUBER WAS – Fairs and Fairy Tales presents a collection of children’s books from the post-war era, whose richness and delight in visual experimentation reached a peak in the 1970s. Extra copies removed from overfilled libraries, children’s books that fell out of the ecstatic focus and safekeeping of collectors and enthusiasts, or picture books from children’s rooms that gave way to the uninspired plans of empty nesters all bear the traces of countless children’s hands. Organic material soaked up by the fibers of the paper or excited scribblings on lavishly printed pictures attest to the past confrontation of these virulent stories with a generation that has long since grown up.

At LISTE Art Fair Basel a collection of over 200 children’s books will be exhibited in a group of sculptural beings, from which visitors can take them out to browse as they please. There will also be daily readings from the books with special guests at 3 p.m.

Luca Beeler (*1985) lives in Zurich and works as a curator. From 2012 until 2014 he ran the art space Muda Mura Muri together with Lorenzo Bernet and Yannic Joray. Cédric Eisenring (*1983) is an artist living and working in Zurich. Carmen Tobler (*1985) is a book designer (a.o. Studio Marie Lusa) and works at Galerie Gregor Staiger in Zurich. Together they run the publishing house Bleach.

June

14 Tu

15 We

  • 15:00-16:00
    Mit Oskar Weiss, Diana Campbell Betancourt, Robbie Fitzpatrick, Jacqueline Burckhardt

16 Th

17 Fr

  • 15:00-16:00
    Mit Caroline Busta, Dan DeNorch, Jaqueline Uhlmann, Pierre Leguillon

18 Sa

  • 15:00-16:00
    Mit Gigiotto del Vecchio, Ingo Niermann, De La Fuente Oscar De Franco

19 Su

  • 15:00-16:00
    With Vittorio Brodmann, Dario & Aurelien & Elias Gamboni, Sadie Coles

RATZ FATZ ZAUBER WAS – Fairs and Fairy Tales

14.06.2016-19.06.2016
RATZ FATZ ZAUBER WAS – Fairs and Fairy Tales
Ein Projekt von Luca Beeler, Cédric Eisenring, Carmen Tobler, präsentiert von der Kunsthalle Zürich auf der Liste Art Fair Basel
Deutsch
Week

An der diesjährigen Liste Art Fair Basel präsentiert die Kunsthalle Zürich RATZ FATZ ZAUBER WAS – Fairs and Fairy Tales, ein Projekt von Luca Beeler, Cedric Eisenring und Carmen Tobler:

Kinderbücher sind Narrative, die von Eltern ins Kinderzimmer gebracht werden. In dieser intimen Umgebung und begleitet durch die Stimme der Lieben werden sie vermittelt und überschreiten dennoch die geschützte Sphäre des Privaten in Richtung eines sozialen Raumes. Kinderbücher gehen mit einem ganzen Bündel von Erwartungen und Hoffnungen einher: Mit der romantischen Vorstellung des Ursprünglichen und «kindlich Naiven», mit aufklärerischer Erziehung, oder mit der Entdeckung des Kindes als utopische Masse. Sie demonstrieren eindrücklich, wie sehr diese Narrative den Idealen und Vorstellungen von Kindheit und Gesellschaft und der Idee einer Zukunft unterliegen.

Das Projekt RATZ FATZ ZAUBER WAS – Fairs and Fairy Tales präsentiert eine Sammlung von Kinderbüchern der Nachkriegszeit, deren Fülle und bildnerische und mediale Experimentierfreudigkeit einen Höhepunkt in den 1970er hatte. Aus überfüllten Bibliotheken ausgesonderte Doubletten, Kinderbücher, die aus dem ekstatischen Fokus und der Verwahrung sammelnder Liebhaber gerieten, oder Bilderbücher aus Kinderzimmern, die der uninspirierten Neunutzung zurückgelassener Eltern weichen mussten, ihnen sind die Spuren unzähliger Kinderhände eingeschrieben. Organisches Material, das die Fasern des Papiers eingesogen hat, oder erregte Kritzeleien über aufwändigen Druckverfahren, zeugen von der einstigen Konfrontation dieser virulenten Geschichten mit einer Generation, die längst erwachsen geworden ist.

An der Liste Art Fair Basel findet die Sammlung von über 200 Exemplaren ihre Gestalt in einer Gruppe von skulpturalen Wesen, denen die Bücher nach Belieben aus dem Leib entnommen werden können. Dazu gibt es täglich ab 15 Uhr Lesungen aus den Büchern mit besonderen Gästen.

Bericht von Elin Fredriksson in der Tageswoche

Luca Beeler (*1985) lebt in Zürich und ist als Kurator tätig. 2012 bis 2014 betrieb er zusammen mit Lorenzo Bernet und Yannic Joray den Kunstraum Muda Mura Muri. Cédric Eisenring (*1983) lebt und arbeitet als Künstler in Zürich. Carmen Tobler (*1985) ist Buchgestalterin (u.a. Studio Marie Lusa) und in der Galerie Gregor Staiger in Zürich tätig. Zusammen leiten sie den Verlag Bleach.

Juni

14 Di

15 Mi

  • 15:00-16:00
    Mit Oskar Weiss, Diana Campbell Betancourt, Robbie Fitzpatrick, Jacqueline Burckhardt

16 Do

17 Fr

  • 15:00-16:00
    Mit Caroline Busta, Dan DeNorch, Jaqueline Uhlmann, Pierre Leguillon

18 Sa

  • 15:00-16:00
    Mit Gigiotto del Vecchio, Ingo Niermann, De La Fuente Oscar De Franco

19 So

  • 15:00-16:00
    Mit Vittorio Brodmann, Dario & Aurelien & Elias Gamboni, Sadie Coles