Rebecca Warren

03.04.2004-30.05.2004
Rebecca Warren
Dark Passage
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

Large-size figures of unfired clay which grotesquely exaggerate the characteristic traits and trademarks of female sexuality (breasts, calves, buttocks) have made a name for British artist Rebecca Warren (1965). And she is now presenting the first solo museum show of her works, entitled «Dark Passage». On view is a group of her most recent large figurines together with small-format clay scenes on pedestals, and three-dimensional collages in showcases.

«Dark Passage» is a name the artist borrowed from the world of movies: In 1947, Hollywood dream couple Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall starred in the film of the same name. The plot: accused of murdering his wife the protagonist escapes from prison and has a plastic surgeon create a new face for him so he can prove his innocence under a new identity. We hear all this in the course of half an hour seen from Bogart’s point of view as restricted by the gauze and bandaging masking his face.

 

The image Warren selected for the show’s promotional poster stems from the photo archives of the National Library in Canada: we see ground being broken for a new railroad line in the Rocky Mountains – land reclamation, male heroes facing tough «perspectives», conquest and settlement, optimistic views of what is possible, technology and nature – a cosmos of associations and references, which are constant features of the artist’s works, and which combine to form new images and narratives.

Rebecca Warren’s oeuvre frankly references a veritable array of masters from the history of art: Degas, Rodin, Boccioni, Picasso, Fontana, the German Expressionists, and Neo-Expressionists such as Robert Crumb. It also brings to mind the works by Martin Kippenberger, Fischli & Weiss’ clay sculptures, and the hostile and eye-striking aggressiveness but substantive subtlety of Sarah Lucas’ works.

Rebecca Warren’s art likewise unites popular culture and advanced civilization, feministic and psychological debate. All this is not primarily some ironic statement or the offended criticism fired by the traditional male portrayal of the female body. Warren is not actually concerned with these male artists as such, seeking rather to position herself directly as the next in the traditional lineage. Her large «women» seem to confidently and brazenly flaunt the insignia of their desirability. Her work is akin to an exciting narrative on the topics of figurative portrayal, representation and fiction.

In 2003, the artist exhibited a group of six large-sized unfired clay figures entitled «SHE». Once again, Rebecca Warren took the title from the world of the silverscreen, or rather a novel by author H. Rider Haggard, which has since the silent movie era inspired numerous film scripts, and was used for various screen adaptations. Warren references the 1965 film production in which Ursula Andress plays Ayesha. Moving in a post-apocalyptic world in which she depicts the epitome of breathtaking female beauty and strength, she helps two brothers recover their kidnapped sister. The picture for this exhibition showed Sigmund Freud surrounded by his male colleagues. The six gigantic «SHE» figures stand on their own wooden trolleys, a classic means of transport. The sculptures’ surfaces have a coarse, unworked appearance; at times you feel you have before you the original lump of clay. The absence of heads in the figurines is offset by their enormous breasts, undulating, arm-like ornaments, generous calves, and above all the abundance of flesh and clichés from the factory that works bosom wonders. In an adaptation of a working title by Sylvie Fleury you could also name the work group «She devils on wheels».
By contrast, another gigantic unfired clay sculpture melds the fantasies of Robert Crumb and Helmut Newton: «Helmut Crumb» (1998). The female bodies are reduced to their legs. Two pairs of legs together with the lower torso are positioned on a single pedestal like perverted double bridges; the Robert Crumb version is aggressive, the Newton-inspired legs aesthetically sexualized.

Alongside these enormous women in clay, Warren has also created smaller-sized clay works in her studio, some of which she paints with colored glaze. All stand on pedestals, which in many instances are painted in a saccharine hue that advances the idea underlying the work. This group includes, for example, the «Totems» made in 2002, unfired clay figures, smaller versions of the «SHE» works and groups of figurines, from whose undefined mass of clay erotic scenes, figures and landscapes evolve.

In the artist’s three-dimensional collages featuring pieces of wood, wire, cotton wool balls, neon lights and paraphernalia of diverse origins, the same mindset unravels as in the clay figures infused by «female» perception and interpretation. In the three-dimensional collages, the pedestal is again an integral part of the work, as is the case in «Bitch Magic: The Musical» (2001-2003), in which an enormous Perspex hood is placed over a collage of objects – pedestal included - and is thus transformed into a new «pedestal» for a gold-painted plaster form.

Rebecca Warren’s collages are accumulations of items which exude an intimate fiction and defy the logic of the composition. Consider «Every Aspect of Bitch Making» dated 1996: it combines a glass containing a dead bee, an elastic hairband, a shell, a green piece of glass, a pair of panties and a safety needle on a pedestal. A wooden frame which was to serve as a model for a Perspex cover was never replaced – instead, a white envelope leans against it and over this another pair of panties has been pulled whose crotch has been lovingly decorated with washing machine fuzz.

Rebecca Warren’s works often recall the atmosphere of the artist’s studio. You sense the presence of the model in the room though these are virtual, fictional models, a concentrated model cosmos, which composes itself for the purpose of generating topics that recreate themselves.

In Rebecca Warren’s works the grotesqueness of the depiction of the physical is always manifested as the experiencing of one’s own female body. When confronting her work with its exaggerated portrayal of characteristic features of female physiognomy as perceived by an outsider, the observer experiences the «cliché», but also reflection on it as a double exaggeration.

Our communications programm is supported by Swiss Re

The Kunsthalle Zürich thanks: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, British Council

Rebecca Warren

03.04.2004-30.05.2004
Rebecca Warren
Dark Passage
Deutsch
Week

Mit grossformatigen Figuren aus ungebranntem Ton, die die Erkennungs- und Markenzeichen weiblicher Sexualität (Busen, Waden, Hintern) ins Monströse überzeichnen, hat sich die britische Künstlerin Rebecca Warren (1965) einen Namen gemacht. Unter dem Titel «Dark Passage» stellt sie sich zum ersten Mal in einer Einzelausstellung in einer Institution vor. Sie zeigt eine Gruppe neuester Gross-Figurinen zusammen mit kleinformatigeren Tonszenen auf Sockeln und dreidimensionalen Collagen in Vitrinen.

Den Titel der Ausstellung «Dark Passage» nimmt die Künstlerin aus der Filmwelt: 1947 agieren das Hollywoodtraumpaar Humphrey Bogart und Lauren Bacall im gleichnamigen Film. Der Plot: ein des Mordes an seiner Frau angeklagter Protagonist flieht aus dem Gefängnis und lässt sich von einem Chirurgen ein neues Gesicht aufsetzen, um unter neuer Identität seine eigene Unschuld beweisen zu können. Dies wird während einer halben Stunde aus der durch Binden und Mull eingeschränkten Sicht Bogarts erzählt.

Das Bild, das die Künstlerin für das Einladungsposter zur Ausstellung wählt, stammt aus dem Fotoarchiv der National Library in Kanada und zeigt den Tunnelstich für eine neue Eisenbahnlinie in den Rocky Mountains – Landgewinnung, männliche Helden angesichts schwieriger «Perspektiven», Landnahme, Machbarkeitsideale, Technologie und Natur – ein Kosmos an Assoziationen und Verweisen, die sich in der Arbeit der Künstlerin immer wieder finden und zu neuen Bildern und Erzählungen zusammensetzen.

Rebecca Warrens Werk evoziert unumwunden eine respektable Ahnenreihe aus der Kunstgeschichte: Degas, Rodin, Boccioni, Picasso, Fontana, die Deutschen Expressionisten und auch Neo-Expressionisten ebenso wie Robert Crumb. Erinnerungen werden auch geweckt an die Arbeiten von Martin Kippenberger, an die Tonskulpturen von Fischli & Weiss, oder an die offensive und plakative Angriffigkeit und zugleich inhaltliche Subtilität der Arbeiten von Sarah Lucas.

In Rebecca Warrens Werk versammelt sich Populärkultur wie Hochkultur, feministischer wie psychologischer Diskurs. Aber weder Ironie noch gekränkte Kritik an der Tradition männlicher Darstellungen des weiblichen Körpers stehen im Vordergrund. Warren schert sich nicht wirklich um die männlichen Vorfahren, sondern setzt sich in deren direkte Linie: Grossformatig und die Insignien der Begehrlichkeit krass und selbstbewusst überzeichnend, kommen ihre «Damen» daher. Ein spannender Krimi über die Themen figürlicher Darstellung, Repräsentation und Fiktion breitet sich in ihrer Arbeit aus.

2003 zeigte die Künstlerin in London eine Gruppe von sechs grossformatigen ungebrannten Tonfiguren mit dem Titel «SHE». Den Titel der Werkgruppe nimmt Rebecca Warren wiederum aus der Filmwelt, respektive von einer Novelle des Autors H. Rider Haggard, die seit der Stummfilmzeit in zahlreichen Versionen als Filmscript umgesetzt wurde und als Vorlage für verschiedene Verfilmungen diente. Warren bezieht sich auf die 1965 realisierte Produktion, in der Ursula Andress in der Rolle der Ayesha in einer postapokalyptischen Welt als Inbegriff von atemberaubender weiblicher Schönheit und Stärke figuriert und zwei Brüdern beisteht, deren entführte Schwester wieder zu finden. Das Bild zu dieser Ausstellung: Sigmund Freud im Kreise seiner männlichen Kollegen. Die sechs gigantischen «SHE»-Figuren stehen auf Holzbrettern mit Rädern, den klassischen Transporthunden.

Die Oberflächen der Plastiken wirken grob und unbearbeitet, zuweilen meint man, die originale Form des Tonklumpens vor sich zu haben. Die Figurinen haben keine Köpfe, dafür riesige Brüste, ondulierte armartige Ornamente, ausgreifende Waden und vor allem: Viel Körper und Klischees der Busenwunderfabrik. In einer Anverwandlung eines Werktitels von Sylvie Fleury könnte man die Werkgruppe auch «She devils on wheels» nennen.

Eine andere grosse ungebrannte Tonskulptur wiederum vermischt die Phantasien von Robert Crumb und Helmut Newton: «Helmut Crumb» (1998). Die weiblichen Körper sind auf die Beine reduziert. Zwei Beinpaare mit Unterleib stehen zusammen auf einem Sockel, wie pervertierte Brückenpaare; die Robert Crumb Version offensiv, die Newtonanleihe ästhetisiert sexuell.
Parallel zu den grossen Tondamen entstehen im Atelier der Künstlerin immer auch kleinformatigere Tonarbeiten, die zum Teil mit farbiger Glasur bemalt sind. Diese stehen alle auf Sockeln, die häufig mit einer zusätzlichen, die Arbeit weiterspinnenden, Bonbonfarbe bemalt sind. Zu dieser Werkgruppe gehören zum Beispiel die «Totems» von 2002, eine Gruppe ungebrannter Tonfiguren, kleinere Versionen der «SHE »-Arbeiten und Figurinen-Gruppen, aus deren undefinierter Tonmasse sich erotische Szenen, Figuren, Landschaften formulieren.

In den dreidimensionalen Collagen der Künstlerin aus Holzstücken, Draht, Wattebäuschen, Neonlichtern und Paraphrenalien unterschiedlichster Herkunft, breitet sich die gleiche mentale Landschaft aus, wie bei den von «weiblicher» Wahrnehmung und Lesart durchdrungenen Tonfigurinen. Auch bei den dreidimensionalen Collagen ist der Sockel integraler Bestandteil des Werkes, wie zum Beispiel in der Arbeit «Bitch Magic: The Musical» (2001-2003), bei der eine riesige Plexiglashaube über eine Collage von Objekten inklusive ihres Sockels gestülpt ist und so neuen «Sockel» für eine goldbemalte Gipsform wird.

Rebecca Warrens Collagen sind Akkumulationen von Gegenständen, die eine intime Fiktion ausbreiten und sich der Logik von Komposition entgegenstellen. «Every Aspect of Bitch Making» von 1996 etwa versammelt ein Glas in dem eine tote Biene liegt, ein Gummihaarband, eine Muschel, ein grünes Glasstück, eine Unterhose und eine Sicherheitsnadel auf einem Sockel. Ein Holzrahmen, der als Vorlage für eine Plexiglashaube dienen sollte wurde nie mehr ausgewechselt – stattdessen lehnt daran nun ein weisser Umschlag, über den nochmals eine Unterhose gezogen wurde, deren Schritt liebevoll mit Waschmaschinenfusseln dekoriert wurde.

Rebecca Warrens Arbeiten evozieren häufig die Atmosphäre des Künstlerstudios. Man meint das Modell noch im Raum anwesend, aber es handelt sich um virtuelle, fiktive Modelle, um einen dichten Modellkosmos, der sich zusammensetzt um dadurch erneuernde Inhalte zu kreieren.

In den Arbeiten Rebecca Warrens manifestiert sich immer auch die Monstrosität der Abbildung von Körperlichkeit als Erfahrung des eigenen weiblichen Körpers. Der Betrachter begegnet angesichts ihres Werkes mit den überzeichnet dargestellten Insignien fremdwahrgenommener weiblicher Physiognomie dem «Klischee», wie der Reflektion in der Form doppelter Überzeichnung.

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt: Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, British Council
Unser Vermittlungsprogramm wird unterstützt von Swiss Re