Scalable Skeletal Escalator

24.09.2020-08.11.2020
Scalable Skeletal Escalator
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

Sponsors

Dancers are present in the exhibition every day from 12 noon to 6 pm, Thursdays 1–8 pm. 

Scalable Skeletal Escalator is an experimental live art work conceived by Isabel Lewis in the form of a holobiont, a multi-organismic assemblage, like the human body itself, shuddering and shaking into being. This mode of exhibition-making draws inspiration from evolutionary biologist Dr. Lynn Margulis’ emphasis on cooperative and symbiotic relationships between species as the driving force of evolution. The themes of the work are continuous with its form reflecting on potential human futures. Continuing in the vein of Isabel Lewis’ practice of questioning the disembodied thought systems of the West which deny the body of “livingness” in the deadlock of idealism/materialism, this work invites collaborators and visitors on a participatory epistemological quest to re(dis)cover the body by rehabilitating our human sensorium in order that we might enhance living rather than alienate ourselves from life.

Scalable Skeletal Escalator is made possible through the collaborative efforts of Dirk Bell / Mo Stern, Lara Dâmaso, The Field (Mirjam Jamuna Zweifel, Pierre Piton, Lucia Gugerli and Declan Whitaker, in cooperation with Tanzhaus Zürich), LABOUR (Colin Hacklander and Farahnaz Hatam), Matthew Lutz-Kinoy, Rafał Pierzyński, Mathias Ringgenberg, Sissel Tolaas, Juliette Uzor, Marcelo Alcaide and Yolanda Zobel. It is a live art work that moves through four levels of Löwenbräukunst, where Kunsthalle Zürich is located. The work is created with the support of Tanzhaus Zürich; thanks also to Callie's Berlin and Schauspielhaus Zürich.

Visitors can enter twice with a single ticket; we encourage you to return in order to experience the exhibition evolving.

Isabel Lewis (b.1981, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) is a Berlin-based artist whose career began in the context of contemporary dance. An erstwhile resident of New York, her dance works have been shown at The Kitchen, Dance Theater Workshop, New Museum Movement Research at Judson Church, Dancespace Project at St. Mark’s Church, PS 122 and Dia Foundation among others. In recent years her works have broken with the limitations of a single mode of presentation and are hybrid forms involving lecture, movement, music, food, smell and more. These have been experienced at venues and events including the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève, Liverpool Biennial, the Institute of Contemporary Arts London (ICA), Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo Turin, Tanz im August, Berlin, Göteborg International Biennial for Contemporary Art, Palais de Tokyo, Tate Modern London, Ming Contemporary Art Museum Shanghai, Gropius Bau, Berlin, Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt, and Philadelphia Art Alliance. Lewis’ practice includes long-standing collaborations with smell researcher and artist Sissel Tolaas, Berlin-based musical entity LABOUR, painter and ceramicist Matthew Lutz-Kinoy, visual artist Dirk Bell, theorist and classics scholar Brooke Holmes and Juan Chacón of the architecture collective Zuloark.

September

12 Sa

24 Th

29 Tu

October
November

03 Tu

05 Th

Scalable Skeletal Escalator

24.09.2020-08.11.2020
Scalable Skeletal Escalator
Deutsch
Week

Body: 

Förderer

Eröffnung am Mittwoch, 23. September um 18 Uhr! 

Scalable Skeletal Escalator, konzipiert von Isabel Lewis, ist eine experimentelle künstlerische Arbeit in Form eines Holobionts, einer vielfachen organischen Assemblage, wie sie auch der menschliche Körper darstellt, schüttelnd fröstelnd ins Leben gerufen. Dieser Modus des Ausstellungsmachens lässt sich inspirieren von der Evolutionsbiologin Dr. Lynn Margulis, die kooperative und symbiotische Beziehungen zwischen den Spezies als treibende Kraft der Evolution benennt. Die Themen des Werkkomplexes fliessen über in die Form, potentielle menschliche Zukünfte reflektierend. In Fortführung der Praxis von Isabel Lewis, die körperlosen Denksysteme des Westens zu hinterfragen, in der körperliche «Lebendigkeit» im Deadlock von Idealismus/Materialismus verneint wird, lädt dieses Werk Kollaborateure und Besucher*innen zu einer partizipativen, epistemologischen Suche ein, um den Körper zu bergen indem unser menschliches Sensorium instandgesetzt wird, damit wir Leben erweitern anstatt uns vom Leben zu entfernen.

Scalable Skeletal Escalator wird möglich gemacht durch die Zusammenarbeit von Dirk Bell, Lara Dâmaso, The Field (eine Kooperation mit dem Tanzhaus Zürich), LABOUR, Matthew Lutz-Kinoy, Rafał Pierzyński, Mathias Ringgenberg, Sissel Tolaas, Juliette Uzor, Marcelo Alcaide und Yolanda Zobel. Es ist eine performative künstlerische Arbeit, die sich über vier Stockwerke im Löwenbräukunst-Areal ausbreitet, in dem sich die Kunsthalle Zürich befindet. 

Die Realisierung der Arbeit wird unterstützt von Callie’s Berlin und Tanzhaus Zürich.

Isabel Lewis (*1981, Santo Domingo, Dominikanische Republik) ist eine in Berlin lebende Künstlerin, deren Karriere im Kontext des zeitgenössischen Tanzes begann. Zuvor lebte sie mehrere Jahre in New York, wo sie bei verschiedenen Institutionen Tanzstücke aufführte, unter anderem in The Kitchen, dem Dance Theatre Workshop, dem New Museum Movement Research at Judson Church, dem Dancespace Project at St. Mark’s Church, bei PS 122 und der Dia Foundation. In den letzten Jahren hat sie die Grenzen eindeutiger Präsentationsmodi zunehmend aufgebrochen. So sind Mischformen aus Lecture Performance, Tanzstück, Musik, Essen, Geruch und mehr entstanden. Diese Arbeiten konnten an Festivals und in diversen Institutionen wie dem Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève, der Liverpool Biennale, dem Institute of Contemporary Arts London (ICA), der Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo Turin, Tanz im August, Berlin, der Göteborg International Biennial for Contemporary Art, dem Palais de Tokyo, der Tate Modern London, dem Ming Contemporary Art Museum Shanghai, dem Gropius Bau, Berlin, der Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt und der Philadelphia Art Alliance erlebt werden. Die Praxis von Lewis basiert auf langjärige Kooperationen mit der Geruchsforscherin und Künstlerin Sissel Tolaas, der in Berlin ansässigen musikalischen Entität LABOUR, dem Maler und Keramiker Matthew Lutz-Kinoy, dem bildenden Künstler Dirk Bell, der Theoretikerin und Klassikerforscherin Brooke Holmes und Juan Chacón vom Architekturkollektiv Zuloark.