Slavs and Tatars: "Lektor" / Georgiy Danelia: Mimino (1977)

09.05.2014, 19:30
Slavs and Tatars: "Lektor" / Georgiy Danelia: Mimino (1977)
Free entry
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

A Georgian bush pilot pursues his dream of flying large international aircrafts in Moscow where he first gets lost with an Armenian truck driver and later feels lost while roaming the world in jet liners. Georgiy Danelia’s “sad comedy” Mimino (1977, 91 min) is the second film screening with a live translation to German, that Kunsthalle Zurich presents as part of the «Lektor» programme by the artist group Slavs and Tatars.

In advance of their fall exhibition, Slavs and Tatars developed a new version of the audio work «Lektor» for the future public library space of Kunsthalle Zurich. The work consists of an Uighur voice reading excerpts from the medieval epic poem Kutadgu Bilig (Wisdom of Royal Glory), and a voice-over of the German translation. The Gavrilov technique, often used in Eastern Europe for live single-voice-over-translations in cinematic screenings while elsewhere for news reports mainly, served as a model for this piece. This skillful translation practise can now be live experienced in the film screenings at the exhibition spaces of Kunsthalle Zurich. It demonstrates the gap between the original language of each film and the local language of the audience, that the real “lector” occupies.

Danelia’s absurdist movie has itself been shaped by the pitfalls of culture, geography and governance that are the focus of Slavs and Tatars: Unable to shoot in America as planned, Daniela relocated the production of one of his most popular films to the West Berlin’s Tegel Airport, where the crew had to cross borders daily from their East Berlin base.

Slavs and Tatars: "Lektor" / Georgiy Danelia: Mimino (1977)

09.05.2014, 19:30
Slavs and Tatars: "Lektor" / Georgiy Danelia: Mimino (1977)
Free entry
Deutsch
Week

Body: 

Ein georgischer Buschpilot will seinen Traum, einmal grosse internationale Flugzeuge zu fliegen, in Moskau verwirklichen; zuerst gemeinsam mit einem armenischen LKW-Fahrer, dann einsam, die Welt in Düsenflugzeugen umrundend. Mit Georgiy Danelias „trauriger Komödie“ Mimino (1977, 91 Min.) präsentiert die Kunsthalle Zürich die zweite Filmvorführung mit einer performativen Live-Übersetzung ins Deutsche, konzipiert von der Künstlergruppe Slavs and Tatars für die Programmreihe «Lektor».

Im Vorgriff auf ihre Herbstausstellung zeigen Slavs and Tatars in den zukünftigen Bibliotheksräumen der Kunsthalle Zürich eine neue Version des Hörstücks «Lektor». Es besteht aus in uigurischer Sprache vorgetragenen Auszügen aus dem mittelalterlichen epischen Gedicht Kutadgu Bilig (Die Weisheit der königlichen Glorie) und dem Voice-over der deutschen Übersetzung dieser Textstellen. Vorbild für dieses Verfahren war die Gavrilovtechnik, eine Live-Übersetzung durch eine einzelne Stimme, die in Osteuropa häufig für Filmvorführungen, andernorts auch für Nachrichtensendungen verwendet wird. Sie kommt nun auch bei den Filmvorführungen in den Ausstellungsräumen der Kunsthalle Zürich zum Einsatz und veranschaulicht so den Raum zwischen der ursprünglichen Sprache des Films und der jeweiligen Sprache des Publikums, den der vortragende „Lektor“ besetzt.

Danelias absurd-komischer Film ist von diesen geografischen, kulturellen und ideologischen Raumfragen, wie sie Slavs and Tatars verhandeln, wesentlich geprägt. Die Produktion der erfolgreichen Komödie musste Daniela vom geplanten Drehort in den USA in den Berliner Flughafen Tegel verlegen, wofür die Filmcrew täglich selber mit der Überschreitung der damaligen Block-Grenzen konfrontiert war.

April
Juni

12 Do