Slavs and Tatars: "Lektor" / Juliusz Machulski: Seksmisja (1984)

14.08.2014, 18:00
Slavs and Tatars: "Lektor" / Juliusz Machulski: Seksmisja (1984)
Free entry
German
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

What is the relationship between totalitarianism and sex? This is the question of this satire science-fiction action movie. Set in an oppressive feminist society of post-nuclear 2044, two time-travelling protagonists strive for male liberation when threatened with sex-change. Partly censored upon release, this film parallels more than its happy ending, more or less obviously.

The screening of Seksmisja in its original Polish language will be accompanied by a special performative live translation to German. The experience of the gap between the source language of the film and the local language of the audience, demonstrates the practice of a “lector” as they appear in Eastern Europe for live single-voice-over-translations in cinematic screenings (while elsewhere for news reports mainly). This skillful translation practise, called Gavrilov technique, served as a main inspiration for Slavs and Tatars new version of the audio work «Lektor» currently presented at the future public library space of Kunsthalle Zurich, until the opening of their solo exhibition on August 29. The work stages the translation gap between a Turkish voice reading excerpts from the medieval epic poem Kutadgu Bilig (Wisdom of Royal Glory), and a voice-over of the German translation.

Slavs and Tatars upcoming exhibition «Mirrors for Princes» will expand the inquiry into the homonymous genre of poetic advice literature (for which the Wisdom of Royal Glory provides an important example) by raising questions of gender and ritualistic practice. As the last screening- performance of the «Lektor», Seksmisja signals a comical as much as cogent moment of transition between the two presentations of Slavs and Tatars.

April
June

12 Th

August

30 Sa

Slavs and Tatars: "Lektor" / Juliusz Machulski: Seksmisja (1984)

14.08.2014, 18:00
Slavs and Tatars: "Lektor" / Juliusz Machulski: Seksmisja (1984)
Free entry
Deutsch
Week

Was ist das Verhältnis von Totalitarismus und Sex? Das ist die Frage dieses satirischen Science-Fiction Actionfilms: Zwei zeitreisende Protagonisten landen in der unterdrückerischen feministischen Gesellschaft des post- nuklearen 2044, wo sie - angesichts drohender Geschlechtsumwandlung - den Kampf für die Befreiung der letzten Männer antreten. Die vielfachen mehr oder weniger offensichtlichen Parallelen dieses Films, inklusive Happy End, mit der Realität Polens in den 80er Jahren führten zu seiner teilweisen Zensur.

Die Vorführung von Seksmisja in polnischer Originalsprache wird von einer performativen Live-Übersetzung ins Deutsche begleitet. Die resultierende Erfahrung einer Lücke zwischen der Ursprungssprache des Films und der lokalen Sprache der Zuschauer/innen ist typisch für die Praxis eines “Lectors”, wie er vor allem in Osteuropa für Einzelstimmen-Übersetzungen in Kinovorführungen zum Einsatz kommt (während andernorts vor allem für Nachrichtensendungen). Diese versierte Übersetzungstechnik, auch als Gavrilov-Technik bekannt, war eine Hauptinspiration für die neue Version des Hörstücks «Lektor», die Slavs and Tatars aktuell und noch bis zur Eröffnung ihrer Soloschau am 29. August in der Kunsthalle Zürich zeigen. Die Arbeit inszeniert die Übersetzungslücke zwischen einer türkischen Stimme, die Auszüge aus dem mittelalterlichen epischen Gedicht Kutadgu Bilig (Weisheit der königlichen Glorie) rezitiert, und einem deutschen Voice-over-Übersetzer.

Slavs and Tatars umfassende Ausstellung «Mirrors for Princes» wird die Untersuchung des gleichnamigen Genres poetischer Ratgeberliteratur (für das Weisheit der königlichen Glorie ein zentrales Beispiel ist) vertiefen, indem sie Fragen zu Geschlecht und rituellen Handlungen einbezieht. Als letzte Screening-Performance der Reihe «Lektor», ist Seksmisja daher ein witziger sowie wichtiger Moment des Übergangs zwischen den beiden Präsentationen von Slavs and Tatars.

April
Juni

12 Do

August

30 Sa