Slavs and Tatars "Lektor": The Tranny Tease

12.06.2014, 18:30
Slavs and Tatars "Lektor": The Tranny Tease
Q&A – Artist Talks, Questions and Answers
Freier Eintritt
English
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

Most knowledge starts with a question. Most art refuses an answer. The series of talks titled Questions & Answers claims the space in between, activating it for conversations on the peculiar knowledge an exhibition aspires, and destabilizes. 

In relation to Slavs and Tatars’ project «Lektor»,the artist group proposes: “Through the lens of phonetic, semantic, and theological slippage, our lecture-performance explores the potential for transliteration - the conversion of scripts - as a strategy equally of resistance and research in notions of identity politics, colonialism, and liturgical reform. If translation is a form of linguistic hospitality, then transliteration is language in drag.

In the context of the new version of the audio piece «Lektor», that Slavs and Tatars developed in advance of their fall exhibition for the future public library space of Kunsthalle Zurich, this proposal seeks to further mobilize questions of power implicit in language and listening, translation and transformation, recitation and reconciliation.

Slavs and Tatars’ lecture-performance will be followed by a series of questions and answers with Stefan Nowotny. Nowotny is currently a tutor at Goldsmiths, University of London, and has published widely on philosophical and political topics, co-edited several anthologies, translated a number of texts from both French and English into German, and co-authored Übersetzung: Das Versprechen eines Begriffs (2008). He is also part of the eipcp research project Europe as a Translational Space. The Politics of Heterolinguality.

Slavs and Tatars "Lektor": The Tranny Tease

12.06.2014, 18:30
Slavs and Tatars "Lektor": The Tranny Tease
Q&A – Künstlergespräche, Fragen und Antworten
Freier Eintritt
Englisch
Week

Wissen beginnt zumeist mit einer Frage. Die meiste Kunst verweigert sich Antworten. Die Gesprächsreihe Questions & Answers beansprucht den Raum dazwischen, um ihn für den Austausch über das besondere Wissen zu öffnen, das Ausstellungen bieten können – und es in Frage stellen.

Im Zusammenhang mit dem Projekt «Lektor» von Slavs and Tatars kündigt die Künstlergruppe an:„Aus der Perspektive von phonetischen, semantischen und theologischen Ausrutschern untersuchen wir das Potenzial der so genannten Transliteration, der Übertragung von Wörtern aus einer Schriftform in eine andere. Dabei fragen wir, inwiefern diese Praxis als Strategie von Widerstand und Forschung gleichermassen sowie anhand der Konzepte von Identitätspolitik, Kolonialismus und Liturgiereform erörtert werden kann. Wenn Übersetzung eine Form der linguistischen Gastfreundschaft ist, dann ist Transliteration die Travestie von Sprache.“

Im Hinblick auf die neue Version des Hörstücks «Lektor», die Slavs and Tatars im Vorgriff auf ihre Herbstausstellung für die zukünftigen Bibliotheksräume der Kunsthalle Zürich entwickelten, formuliert der Vortrag weiterführende Fragen über die Macht, die beim Sprechen und Zuhören, Übersetzen und Überführen, Zitieren und Zusammenführen im Spiel ist.

Im Anschluss an die Lecture-Performance diskutiert Stefan Nowotny mit Slavs and Tatars weiterführende Antworten. Nowotny lehrt an der Goldsmiths University of London, und ist Autor zahlreicher Aufsätze insbesondere zu philosophischen und politischen Themen, Mitherausgeber mehrerer Sammelbände, Übersetzer aus dem Französischen und Englischen ins Deutsche sowie Ko-Autor von Übersetzung: Das Versprechen eines Begriffs (2008). Er arbeitet an dem eipcp-Forschungsprojekt Europe as a Translational Space. The Politics of Heterolinguality.