Theater der Überforderung

21.02.2015-17.05.2015
Theater der Überforderung
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

Sponsors

According to plans, Zurich theatre director Barbara Weber will open her four-theme theatrical venue “Theater der Überforderung” at Kunsthalle Zurich on April 14, 2015. This will-o’-the-wisp project shows an interest in the work of the Japanese dramatist, poet, photographer and film-maker Shuji Terayama (1935 – 1983).

Performances: April 17, 24 & 30, May 8 & 13, at 6 pm

Like others in the seventies of last century, Terayama chose paths outside established ideas and demanded that life, art and the theater be thought of as a unity. For example, he claimed that it was possible to learn more from boxing and horse-racing than in school and study, and he underlined this with such films as Throw Away Your Books, Run into the Streets! (書を捨てよ、町へ出よう). In 1967 Terayama founded the Tenjo Sajiki (天井桟敷) theatre troupe, with whom he outspokenly took up such controversial themes as incest and polysexuality.

Going beyond the failure of the social aspirations of the 1968 revolts, Terayama insisted on cross-border critical action. While doing so, he was nonetheless notable for an undogmatic attitude. In his stories, like feverish dreams, he mixed fact and fantasies. In this way he made space for internal conflicts no less than apparently insurmountable oppositions, through collage, coloration and citation, without dissolving them or rendering them harmless. To demonstrate the inconstancy and self-will of people in their interactions, neither his (amateur) ensemble nor he avoided kitsch, camp and porno. In the serial breach of norms and conventions a brilliant body of work was made, reflecting the times and society as if in a broken mirror – sometimes surreally, sometimes unemotionally, sometimes passionately or with laughter.

Terayama’s work is scarcely known in Europe. As a first step, we are introducing it through a film and some texts. And yet we wondered what might be done with it today: can it be taken as a kind of guide? Under the direction of Barbara Weber we decided to make theatre out of this questioning uncertainty, our discussions and contradictions. It will begin at the latest on April 14 and go on until May 17, 2015. There will be rehearsals every day, always in public and during the opening hours from 11 am to 6 pm. Discussions, talks and performances will be announced on our website. Premieres take place on Fridays (April 24; May 8; May 15) as well as on Thursday April 30. The theater, the exhibition, the costumes, the stage set and the bar might exchange roles. Or actors make fun of artists. Or artists turn into actors – always with an uncertain outcome. In the time and place we shall see how things come together from moment to moment – or not. With the participation of Michael Gempart, Denise Hasler, Carl Hegemann, Matthew Lutz-Kinoy, Tobias Madison, Franz-Xaver Mayr, Fabian Müller, Madlaina Peer, Gabrielle Schaad, Elia Schwaller, Jan Vorisek, and Barbara Weber.

March

22 Su

April

24 Fr

  • 18:00
    1 Million Steps of Marvel. Tomato Kecyappu Kotei - Now in Colour. Ein Intermezzo in der Hölle mit dem Kreislauf der Zeit

30 Th

May

08 Fr

17 Su

Theater der Überforderung

21.02.2015-17.05.2015
Theater der Überforderung
Week

Förderer

Voraussichtlich am 14. April 2015 eröffnet die Zürcher Regisseurin Barbara Weber ihr Vierspartenhaus „Theater der Überforderung“ in der Kunsthalle Zürich. Dieses irrlichterne Projekt interessiert sich für das Werk des japanischen Dramatikers, Dichters, Fotografen und Filmemachers Shuji Terayama (1935 – 1983).

Aufführungen: 17., 24. & 30. April, 08. & 13. Mai, jeweils 18:00 Uhr.

Wie andere in den 1970iger Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts entschied sich Terayama für Wege jenseits etablierter Vorstellungen und forderte dazu auf, das Leben, die Kunst und das Theater als Einheit zu denken. So behauptete er beispielsweise, dass man aus Boxkampf und Pferderennen mehr lernen könne als in Schule und Studium, was er mit Filmen wie Werft die Bücher weg und gehen wir auf die Strasse!“ (書を捨てよ、町へ出よう) unterstrich. 1967 gründete Terayama die Theatertruppe Tenjo Sajki (天井桟敷), mit der er kontroverse Themen wie Inzest oder Polysexualität unverblümt aufgriff.

Über das Scheitern der Gesellschaftsvorschläge der 1968er hinweg beharrte Terayama auf grenzüberschreitend-kritischem Handeln. Dabei zeichnete er sich aber durch eine undogmatische Haltung aus. In seinen Fiebertraum ähnlichen Geschichten vermischten sich Fakt und Fantasien. Damit gab er inneren Konflikten ebenso Raum wie scheinbar unüberwindbaren Gegensätzen durch Montage, Färbung und sinnentleertes Zitat, ohne sie aufzulösen oder beliebig zu werden. Um Wandelbarkeit und Eigenwilligkeit wie Beeinflussbarkeit der Menschen in ihrem Zusammenspiel vorzuführen, schreckten das (Laien-)Ensemble und auch er vor Kitsch, Camp und Porno nicht zurück. Im seriellen Bruch von Normen und Konventionen entstand so ein schillerndes Werk, das Zeit und Gesellschaft wie in einem zerbrochenen Spiegel reflektierte, – manchmal surreal, dann teilnahmslos, dann wieder leidenschaftlich oder lachend.

Terayamas Werk ist in Europa kaum bekannt. Wir führen es in einem ersten Schritt über einen Film und Texte ein. Dabei wunderten wir uns, was damit heute anzufangen sei: Lässt es sich als eine Art Anleitung aufgreifen? Unter der Regie von Barbara Weber beschlossen wir, aus diesem fragenden Abtasten, unserem Be- und Widersprechen ein Theater zu machen. Dieses startet spätestens am 14. April und dauert bis zum 17. Mai 2015. Geprobt wird täglich, immer öffentlich und während der Öffnungszeiten von 11 bis 18 Uhr. Diskussionen, Vorträge und Aufführungen kündigen wir über unsere Website an. Premieren finden an Freitagen statt (24. April; 8. Mai; 15. Mai) sowie am Donnerstag den 30. April 2015. Dabei mögen das Theater, die Ausstellung, die Kostüme, das Bühnenbild und die Bar ihre Rollen tauschen. Oder die Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler sich über die Künstlerinnen und Künstler lustig machen. Oder Künstler/innen werden zu Schauspieler/innen – alles mit ungewissem Ausgang. Am Ort kann sich zeigen wie die Dinge von Moment zu Moment zusammen kommen – oder nicht. Unter der Beteiligung von Michael Gempart, Denise Hasler, Carl Hegemann, Matthew Lutz-Kinoy, Tobias Madison, Franz-Xaver Mayr, Fabian Müller, Madlaina Peer, Gabrielle Schaad, Elia Schwaller, Jan Vorisek und Barbara Weber.

März

22 So

April

24 Fr

  • 18:00
    1 Million Steps of Marvel. Tomato Kecyappu Kotei - Now in Colour. Ein Intermezzo in der Hölle mit dem Kreislauf der Zeit

30 Do

Mai

08 Fr

17 So