Trajal Harrell

01.04.2020-10.05.2020
Trajal Harrell
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

Kunsthalle Zürich presents three performances by Trajal Harrell, in collaboration with Schauspielhaus Zürich:

The Shop (2019), Dancer of the Year (2018) and The Deathbed of Katherine Dunham (2020), which has its world premiere on 1 April 2020, Kunsthalle Zürich

All three performances will be shown at Kunsthalle Zürich. The Shop will be accessible during our normal opening hours. For details of dates and to purchase tickets for Dancer of the Year and The Deathbed of Katherine Dunham please go to the Schauspielhaus website: https://neu.schauspielhaus.ch/en/

“What would have happened in 1963 if someone from the voguing ballroom scene in Harlem had come downtown to perform alongside the early postmoderns at Judson Church?” (Trajal Harrell)

Trajal Harrell came to prominence with the Twenty Looks or Paris is Burning at The Judson Church series of works which theoretically juxtaposed the voguing dance tradition with that of early postmodern dance. Throughout his oeuvre, Harrell plays with the question what if…?, which allows him to rethink and understand the history and tradition of dance anew. He is now considered one of the most important choreographers of his generation.

Dancer of the Year

The point of departure for Dancer of the Year is Harrell’s nomination as ‘Dancer of the Year’ by German Tanz magazine in 2018. The project consists of a dance solo in which Harrell focuses attention on (self-)representation. He confronts his singularity and aesthetic with the eponymous honorary title and reflects on what he means to dance and what dance means to him. Dancer of the Year will be part of The Shop. Performances take place in the evening, tickets, dates, and hours are here: https://neu.schauspielhaus.ch/en/

The Shop

In The Shop Harrell puts his own personal items and objects from his family up for sale. He thus brings to light questions regarding origins, souvenirs and heritage; value, commerce and art; dance, theatre and exhibition. The Shop is part of Harrell's exhibition at Kunsthalle Zürich and can be visited daily during opening hours. It is activated by Trajal Harrell or an actor from the Schauspielhaus Zürich Tuesdays to Fridays from 12 noon to 6pm, and Saturdays and Sundays from 12 noon to 5pm.

The Deathbed of Katherine Dunham: world premiere on 1 April 2020 at Kunsthalle Zürich

Trajal Harrell's epic trilogy Porca Miseria unites three women from literature and history who were dismissed and attacked and who responded to these brutal assaults with a determined mix of pride and combativeness. Medea, who was sent into exile and murdered her own children, the unapproachable and explosive Maggie from Tennessee Williams’ Cat on a Hot Tin Roof and the Afro-American choreographer Katherine Dunham, not only teacher to Eartha Kitt, James Dean and Marlon Brando, but also a civil rights activist who went on hunger strike to defend refugee rights. Trajal Harrell visited Katherine Dunham on her deathbed in 2006 in New York. Based on this first and last encounter, and on the questions that Harrell failed to ask her on this occasion, he has developed a dance-performance-installation for the Kunsthalle Zürich. The Deathbed of Katherine Dunham will be the final part of Porca Miseria and will, following its world premiere in Zurich, travel around the world together with O Medea, which was premiered at the Onassis Cultural Center in Athens, and with Maggie the Cat, first shown at the Manchester International Festival.

Trajal Harrell’s work has been presented in many American and international venues including The Kitchen (NYC), Walker Arts Center (Minneapolis), Festival d’Automne (Paris), Festival d’Avignon and Panorama Festival (Rio de Janeiro) among others. He has also shown performance work in visual art contexts such as MoMA, MoMA PS1, Performa Biennial, Fondation Cartier (Paris), The New Museum (New York), The Margulies Art Warehouse (Miami), Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam), Serralves Museum (Porto), The Barbican Centre (London), Centre Pompidou-Paris and Metz and ICA Boston.

Trajal Harrell

20.04.2020-10.05.2020
Trajal Harrell
(VERSCHOBEN)
Deutsch
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich plant in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schauspielhaus Zürich drei Projekte von Trajal Harrell: Dancer of the Year (2018), The Deathbed of Katherine Dunham (2020) und Dancer of The Year Shop #3 (2020)

Die Aufführungsdaten wurden aufgrund der gegenwärtigen Situation verschoben. Neue Termine werden zu gegebener Zeit hier kommuniziert.

 

«Was wäre passiert, wenn 1963 jemand von der Voguing Ballroom Szene in Harlem nach downtown gefahren wäre, um dort zusammen mit den frühen postmodernen Tänzerinnen und Tänzer der Judson Church zu performen?» (Trajal Harrell)

Trajal Harrell wurde mit Twenty Looks or Paris is Burning at The Judson Church bekannt. In dieser Serie von Performances stellte er die Tradition des Voguings neben den stilbildenden postmodernen Tanz, wie ihn das Judson Dance Theater zur gleichen Zeit im Greenwich Village entwickelt hatte. In seinen Aufführungen spekuliert Harrell immer wieder mit der Frage von «Was wäre, wenn…?». Dies erlaubt ihm, Geschichte und Tradition des Tanzes neu zu denken und umzudeuten. Er gehört heute zu den einflussreichsten Tänzer*innen und Choreograph*innen seiner Generation.

Dancer of the Year (2018)

Ausgangspunkt von Dancer of the Year ist Harrells Auszeichnung zum «Tänzer des Jahres» 2018 durch die deutsche Zeitschrift Tanz. Die Performance besteht aus einem Tanzsolo, in welchem Harrell Repräsentation, Ehrung und Selbstdarstellung hinterfragt. In welchem Verhältnis stehen diese zum Tanz allgemein und im Speziellen zu ihm persönlich? Dancer of the Year ist eine Selbstbefragung und öffnet gleichzeitig einen Raum für eine alternative Tanzgeschichte.

Dancer of The Year Shop #3 (2020)

In Dancer of The Year Shop #3 verkauft Harrell Gegenstände aus seinem persönlichen Besitz und dem seiner Familie. Mit diesen Objekten stellt er die Frage nach Herkunft, Erinnerung und Erbe in den Raum, nach Wert, Verkäuflichkeit und Kunst, aber auch – als performative Schau – nach Tanz, Theater und Ausstellung. Dancer of The Year Shop #3 ist Teil von Harrells Ausstellung in der Kunsthalle Zürich und ist zu den gewohnten Öffnungszeiten zugänglich.

The Deathbed of Katherine Dunham (2020)

Seine gross angelegte Trilogie Porca Miseria bringt drei Frauen der Literatur- und Zeitgeschichte zusammen, die alle verachtet und angegriffen wurden, jedoch in einer eigenwilligen Mischung aus Stolz und Kampfgeist den heftigen Angriffen Paroli boten. Es sind dies Medea, die Ausgestossene und Mörderin der eigenen Kinder, Maggie, die unnahbare und explosive Protagonistin aus Tennessee Williams’ Katze auf dem heissen Blechdach, sowie die bahnbrechende Choreografin Katherine Dunham. Letztere war nicht nur die Lehrerin von Eartha Kitt, James Dean und Marlon Brando, sondern auch eine Bürgerrechtsaktivistin, die für die Rechte von Flüchtlingen in den Hungerstreik trat. Trajal Harrell besuchte Katherine Dunham 2006 in New York an ihrem Sterbebett. Aus dieser ersten und einzigen Begegnung sowie aus den Fragen, die Harrell bei dieser Gelegenheit versäumt hatte zu stellen, wird er nun eine Tanz-Performance-Installation für die Kunsthalle Zürich entwickeln. The Deathbed of Katherine Dunham entsteht als letzter Teil von Porca Miseria und wird nach der Weltpremiere in Zürich zusammen mit O Medea, das am Onassis Cultural Center in Athen seine Premiere feierte, und mit Maggie the Cat, das am Manchester International Festival uraufgeführt wird, um die Welt reisen.

Trajal Harrells Arbeit wurde an zahlreichen Theatern und Festivals gezeigt, u.a. in The Kitchen (New York), Walker Arts Center (Minneapolis), Festival d’Automne (Paris), Festival d’Avignon und am Panorama Festival (Rio de Janeiro). Seine Performances wurden auch im Kontext der bildenden Kunst aufgeführt, so u.a. im MoMA und MoMA PS1 (New York), an der Perfoma Biennial, in der Fondation Cartier (Paris), im The New Museum (New York), im Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam), im Serralves Museum (Porto), im The Barbican Centre (London), im Centre Pompidou Metz (Paris) und im ICA Boston.