Wade Guyton, Seth Price, Josh Smith, Kelley Walker

08.04.2006-28.05.2006
Wade Guyton, Seth Price, Josh Smith, Kelley Walker
German
Week

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

They squeeze canvases through ink-jet printers, paint over digitally altered images from the media with chocolate, scan freshly chopped fruits and vegetables, gold plate recycling emblems which are transformed into sculptures. In a variety of ways they intervene in digitally recorded material from art history, the media and advertising, overtax the concept of authorship by making exaggerated use of their own name for paintings, collages, drawings and countless photocopies of them, and cite from art history in the form of reliefs molded into cheap plastic. They sample music, text and image without identifying the respective author, return materials from art history and literature as digital print copies into public circulation, and they torment every conceivable, employable technology of our everyday digital lives such as reproduction technology by combining them with unsuitable materials and equally unsuitable applications.

Wade Guyton (1972, Indiana), Seth Price (1973, Jerusalem), Josh Smith (1976, Tennessee) and Kelley Walker (1969, Georgia) live in New York. Referring to their works collectively by using the word “they” is deliberately misleading since the works by the four artists not only differ visually but also vary visibly in their individual approaches.

The four artists do not form an artists’ group, even though Wade Guyton and Kelley Walker have often organised joint exhibitions and all four artists realise joint projects in ever varying constellations – often complemented by other creative persons and theoreticians. Take for instance “Continuous Project”, an ongoing New York collective who re-start discussing historic material such as pioneering art history magazines but also the writings by dubious historical figures; or the Web site “Distributed History” that Seth Price operates, which makes accessible his own selected projects as those of other people in a kind of cooperative meta level.

As such, the joint exhibition by the four artists at Kunsthalle Zürich is neither a group exhibition with an underlying theme nor a collaboration initiated by a curator but focuses on the respective identity of the four artists: each presents himself with a comprehensive collection of new works, while the details of the presentation in Kunsthalle Zürich are worked out on site, taking up and experimenting with the classic concept of the installation.

Wade Guyton’s works are based on a penetration of the everyday by appropriating from art history, especially the aesthetic and ideological approaches of Constructivism and Concrete Art, which holds a very evident tradition in Switzerland. He prints over materials from art history books, “paints” by having printing machines print out digitally altered material on canvas or translates popular everyday design into sculptures.

Seth Price presses art history into packaging materials, repeats and samples materials from art, music, literature and film to eccentric new shapes both in regard to their material and their medial implementation. In addition to videos, which are created without a camera, he arranges digital material in every conceivable form, in order to address topics of distribution and identification.

Kelley Walker also uses existing material from art, the media and advertising: brand aestheticism, media images, everyday branding are contaminated with reality and degraded in his works, for instance when he re-works digitally altered heterogeneous material by painting it over with chocolate.

What all of them have in common is a Post-Pop attitude that is arguably capable of lending all the ‘things’ of the world an individual and autonomous status of the real. A re-issuing of Pop using other means, namely those of tracing the materialised (but also perverted) influence of artistic strategies through advertising, the media and the everyday. 

Josh Smith, whose works deal obsessively with his own (universal) name, which he features as the sole iconography of his paintings, drawings and collages, and which he replicates into infinity with his equally obsessive practice of photocopying, operates in this artistic field like the proverbial reverse of the coin, yet still addresses the same topic: All four artists address a reality, which is just as much formed by the sublimation strategies of art and its marketing as by the images which are spread through the Internet and digital copying. This might possibly result in a different form of cooperation, which is based precisely on the overlapping and shifting terms of authorship and copyright, a so called collective creativity, which rests on the appropriation of available reality free of ideology and hierarchy.

 

Kunsthalle Zürich thanks:

Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung, Kanton Zürich

Wade Guyton, Seth Price, Josh Smith, Kelley Walker

08.04.2006-28.05.2006
Wade Guyton, Seth Price, Josh Smith, Kelley Walker
Deutsch
Week

Sie quetschen Leinwände durch Ink-Jet-Drucker, übermalen digital bearbeitetes Bildmaterial aus den Medien mit Schokolade, scannen frisch geschnittenes Gemüse und Obst, vergolden in Skulpturen verwandelte Recyclingzeichen. Sie mischen sich auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise in digital erfasstes Material aus der Kunstgeschichte, den Medien und der Werbung, strapazieren den Begriff der Autorenschaft mit exzessivem Gebrauch des eigenen Namens für Gemälde, Collagen, Zeichnungen und unendlichen Fotokopien davon und pressen kunstgeschichtliche Zitate reliefartig aus billigem Plastik. Sie sampeln Musik, Text und Bild ohne Identifikation der jeweiligen Autoren, bringen Materialien aus der Kunstgeschichte und der Literatur als digitale Druckkopien wieder in öffentlichen Umlauf, und sie quälen jegliche nur denkbare und verwendbare Technologie des digitalen Alltags wie der Reproduktionstechnologie mit unangemessenen Materialien und ebenso unangemessenem Gebrauch.

Wade Guyton (1972, Indiana), Seth Price (1973, Jerusalem), Josh Smith (1976, Tennessee) und Kelley Walker (1969, Georgia) leben in New York. Die Aufzählung ihrer Arbeiten mit einem ‚sie‘ zu vereinnahmen ist absichtsvoll irreführend, denn die Arbeiten der vier Künstler unterscheiden sich sowohl visuell als auch von ihrer individuellen Vorgehensweise auffallend.

Die vier Künstler bilden keine Künstlergruppe, dies obwohl Wade Guyton und Kelley Walker schon öfters Ausstellungen gemeinsam realisiert haben und alle vier Künstler in immer wieder unterschiedlichen Konstellationen – oftmals ergänzt durch weitere Kunstschaffende und Theoretiker - gemeinsame Projekte realisieren. So zum Beispiel mit „Continuous Project“, einem New Yorker Kollektiv, mit dem sie historisches Material wie kunstgeschichtlich bahnbrechende Magazine aber auch Schriften von zweifelhaften Geschichtsfiguren wieder in Diskussion bringen; oder aber mit der von Seth Price betriebenen Webseite „Distributed History“, die in einer Art kooperativer Metaebene ausgewählte eigene wie fremde Projekte zugänglich macht.

Die gemeinsame Ausstellung der vier Künstler in der Kunsthalle Zürich ist folgerichtig weder eine thematisch hinterlegte Gruppenausstellung noch eine kuratorisch initiierte Kollaboration, sondern setzt die jeweilige Identität der vier Künstler zentral: ein Jeder von Ihnen stellt sich mit einer umfassenden Gruppe neuer Arbeiten vor – gemeinsam wird die Präsentation in der Kunsthalle Zürich vor Ort erarbeitet, den klassischen Begriff der Installation aufgreifend und austestend.

Wade Guytons Arbeiten basieren auf einer Durchdrungenheit des Alltags von Aneignungen aus der Kunstgeschichte, insbesondere den ästhetischen und ideologischen Ansätzen des Konstruktivismus und der in der Schweiz sehr präsenten Tradition der konkreten Kunst. Er überdruckt Materialien aus Kunstgeschichtsbüchern, ‚malt’, in dem er digital bearbeitetes Material von Druckmaschinen auf Leinwand ausdrucken lässt oder übersetzt populäres Alltagsdesign in Skulpturen.

Seth Price presst Kunstgeschichte in Verpackungsmaterialien, wiederholt und sampelt Materialien aus Kunst, Musik, Literatur und Film zu exzentrischen neuen Gebilden, sowohl was ihre materielle als auch ihre mediale Umsetzung betrifft. Neben Videos, die ohne Kamera entstehen, organisiert er digitales Material in allen erdenklichen Formen, um Themen der Distribution und Identifikation zu behandeln.

Auch Kelley Walker bearbeitet existierendes Material aus der Kunst, aus den Medien und der Werbung: Markenästhetik, Medienbilder, Alltagsbranding werden in seinen Arbeiten mit Realität kontaminiert und enthierarchisiert, wenn er zum Beispiel digital bearbeitetes heterogenes Material mit Schokolade malerisch überarbeitet.

Allen gemeinsam ist eine Post-Pop-Attitüde, die vielleicht dem ganzen ‚Zeugs’ der Welt wieder einen eigenständigen und autonomen Status des Realen zu geben vermag. Eine Wiederauflage des Pop mit anderen Mitteln, nämlich denen der Aufspürung der realisierten (aber auch pervertierten) Einflussnahme künstlerischer Strategien durch die Werbung, durch die Medien und den Alltag.

Josh Smith, dessen Arbeiten obsessiv mit dem eigenen (Allerwelts-)Namen operieren, den er zur alleinigen Ikonographie seiner Gemälde, Zeichnungen und Collagen macht, und den er mit seiner ebenso obsessiven Fotokopierpraxis ins Unendliche multipliziert, agiert in diesem künstlerischen Feld wie die sprichwörtliche Rückseite der Medaille und thematisiert dennoch das Gleiche: Alle vier Künstler behandeln eine Realität, die von den Überhöhungsstrategien der Kunst und deren Vermarktung ebenso geprägt ist wie von den durch das Internet und die digitale Kopie verbreiteten Bildern. Dies könnte vielleicht zu einer anderen Form der Kooperation führen, die gerade auf der Überlagerung und Verlagerung der Begriffe von Autorenschaft und Copyright basiert, einer sozusagen kollektiven Kreativität, die auf der enthierarchisierten und entideologisierten Aneignung von verfügbarer Realität beruht.

 

Die Kunsthalle Zürich dankt:

Präsidialdepartement der Stadt Zürich, Luma Stiftung, Kanton Zürich