Wang Bing

08.12.2018-03.02.2019
Wang Bing
German
Week

Body: 

Kunsthalle Zürich
Limmatstrasse 270
CH-8005 Zürich

Tel: +41 (0) 44 272 15 15
Fax: +41 (0) 44 272 18 88

info@kunsthallezurich.ch

Opening: December 7, 2018

Artist Talk: December 8, 2018, 12pm

Wang Bing is one of the most important contemporary documentary filmmakers. He is known for his epic films dedicated to the world of work and everyday life including its constraints and opportunities. Produced in China, his films are mainly screened in the West—at festivals such as the Venice Film Festival and the Locarno Film Festival; in galleries like Chantal Crousel, Paris; museums including Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris; and international exhibitions as, for instance, documenta 14 in Kassel.

At Kunsthalle Zürich, Bing will be presenting two films: Mrs. Fang, (Fang Xiz Ying, 86 min. 2017, Golden Leopard 2017) and Man with No Name (Wu Ming Zhe, 97 min., 2009). Both films focus on a single individual and that person’s fragile physicality. Bing follows Mrs. Fang and the man with no name with great immediacy and tenacious respect. Bing’s films are characterized by a careful intimacy, yet they are also committed to a hard realism. Among what has resulted from this approach are these two portraits that educate as well as challenge us. Both films are shown at Kunsthalle Zürich in alternating sequence twice a day:

Man with No Name (Wu ming zhe), 2010, 99 min., without language (Film A)
Mrs. Fang (Fang Xiu Ying), 2017, 102 min., with English and German subtitles (Film B)

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday:

A               11:15–12:54
B               13:00–14:42
A               14:45–16:24
B               16:30–18:12

Additional screening on Thursday:
A               18:15–19:54

Saturday, Sunday:
A               10:15 –11:54
B               12:00–13:42
A               13:45–15:24
B               15:30–17:12

Mrs. Fang follows the last ten days in the life of Chinese farmer Fang Xiuying, a 68-year-old woman with Alzheimer's disease. She returns to her small riverside hometown in southeastern Zhejiang Province in order to die there. She is surrounded by her family, relatives, and friends. Bing shows how people go about their everyday lives: night fishing, as well as caring for the old woman, and discussing her and her life. Death and quotidian life are presented here side by side—and with great affection as well as a relentless candor rarely seen in film or in art; yet it is precisely this particular perspective that makes Mrs. Fang so extraordinary.

Man with no Name shows a man Bing encountered on a stretch of land outside Beijing while preparing for his first feature film. This nameless man literally lives underground, inhabiting a burrow and leading a life of self-sufficiency. Wang accompanies him through four seasons. Nothing and everything happens, every gesture becomes a kind of monument, nobody speaks, yet this is not a silent movie—sounds are everything. The result is an extraordinary portrait that reveals itself fully only through the patient gaze of the viewer.

“I am interested in the everyday life of these normal people and I don’t want to just repeat what the media has already shown. Usually these people aren’t given the right to express themselves—they are mute somehow; they have no voice. With my camera I give them the opportunity to finally speak out.”

Wang Bing was born 1967 and lives and works in Beijing.

December

07 Fr

Wang Bing

08.12.2018-03.02.2019
Wang Bing
Deutsch
Week

Body: 

Eröffnung: 7. Dezember 2018

Wang Bing spricht am Samstag, den 8. Dezember 2018, um 11.30 Uhr über seine Filme.

Wang Bing gehört zu den wichtigsten Dokumentarfilmern der Gegenwart. Er ist bekannt für seine epischen Filme, welche der Arbeitswelt, dem Alltag, den Zwängen und Möglichkeiten der Menschen gewidmet sind. Seine Filme entstehen in China und werden vorwiegend im Westen an Festivals (Venedig Film Festival, Locarno Film Festival u.a.) aufgeführt, aber auch an Biennalen (documenta 14, Kassel), in Galerien (Chantal Crousel, Paris) und Museen (Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris).

In der Kunsthalle Zürich zeigt Bing die zwei Filme Mrs. Fang (Fang Xiu Ying, 86 min., 2017, Goldener Leopard 2017) und Man with No Name (Wu ming zhe, 97 min., 2009). In beiden Filmen steht ein Individuum mit seiner fragilen Körperlichkeit im Zentrum. Bing folgt Mrs. Fang und dem Mann ohne Namen mit hartnäckigem Respekt und aus grosser Nähe. Seine Filme sind von Balanceakten der Intimität geprägt, die einem harten Realismus verpflichtet sind. Daraus sind in diesem Fall zwei Porträts entstanden, die uns ebenso lehren, wie auch herausfordern. Beide Filme werden in Kunsthalle Zürich täglich zwei Mal und je abwechslungsweise gezeigt:

Mrs. Fang (Fang Xiu Ying, 86 min., 2017, mit englischen Untertiteln)

11:10 – 12:40
12:50 – 16:20

Man with No Name (Wu ming zhe, 97 min., 2009,  ohne Sprache)

12:45 – 14:30
16:35 – 18:00

Mrs. Fang verfolgt die letzten zehn Tage im Leben der chinesischen Bäuerin Fang Xiuying, einer 68-jährigen Frau, die an Alzheimer erkrankt ist. Sie kehrt zum Sterben in ihren kleinen Heimatort am Flussufer in der südöstlichen Provinz Zhejiang zurück. Dort liegt sie, umgeben von ihrer Familie, von Verwandten und Freunden. Bing zeigt das Leben der Leute, wie sie in der Nacht mit Stromstangen fischen gehen, den Alltag bewältigen, sich um die alte Frau kümmern und über sie und ihr Leben diskutieren. Wie selten im Film und in der Kunst werden hier Alltag und Tod mit solch grosser Zuneigung und Unerbittlichkeit gezeigt. Gerade das aber macht Mrs. Fang so aussergewöhnlich.

Man with No Name zeigt einen Mann, den Bing während den Vorbereitungen für seinen ersten Spielfilm in einem Landstrich ausserhalb von Peking entdeckt hat. Dieser namenlose Mann lebt buchstäblich im Untergrund, das heisst, er haust in Erdlöchern und führt ein Leben in Autarkie. Wang begleitet ihn durch die vier Jahreszeiten hindurch. Nichts und alles passiert, jede Geste ist eine Art Monument, niemand spricht, aber es ist kein Stummfilm – Geräusche sind alles. Daraus ergibt sich ein aussergewöhnliches Porträt, welches nur über Geduld zu haben ist.

«Mich interessiert das Alltagsleben dieser ganz normalen Menschen und ich möchte einfach nicht das wiederholen, was in den Medien eh schon geschrieben steht. Normalerweise gibt man diesen Menschen nicht das Recht, sich zu äußern – sie sind irgendwie stumm – sie haben keine Stimme. Und mit meiner Kamera gebe ich ihnen die Chance, dass sie sich endlich mal äußern dürfen.» – Wang Bing.

Wang Bing, 1967 geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Bejing.